We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kinki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kinki to your Saves list
Hotel Kinki
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17-8 Kita-ku Doyama-cho, Osaka 530-0027, Osaka Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
4.0 of 5 stars 156 Reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Cheap. Clean. Polite and helpful staff. Conveniently located.

Hotel Kinki is surrounded by food, food, convenience stores, shopping, Pachinko palours, food. It's a 5-minute walk from Umeda Station which is a train interchange and makes it extremely convenient for travelling around Osaka and Kansai.

It's no frills but has everything you need.

Definitely recommended for the price. Oh, and we got a great discount by booking 90 days ahead on the hotel website. Will definitely go back there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    82
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
49
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed in Hotel Kinki for 5 nights. Overall I was satisfy with location & cleanliness. Wifi is availalbe in lobby but not in the room. Convenient store and 24/7 restaurant are just on hotel's doorstep. It's a bit tricky to get out from Osaka station to hotel. I tried a few paths and found the shortest way after I stayed there for 3 days.
Pillows are a bit hard, I requested for additional pillows and found they are much more softer than the original one.
I will choose Hotel Kinki again for my next stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel is nested in a busy entertainment area, this makes the hotel's location a complicated one but generally still safe for ladies. Due to its location, it may be a great temptation for the men but it's an experience if it doesn't bothers you... :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Kinki Hotel is located in an excellent spot in Osaka: close to Osaka central station and surrounded by many stores and nice places were to eat. Rooms are simple and clean, staff is polite and WiFi connection is available in the rooms. Rooms are equipped with kettle to make coffee and tea. Sleep quality is very good if you don't mind occasional street noise during weekends. Paola, Cambridge (UK).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights and was pleased with its location, cleanliness and overall value. For the price I paid, its very value for money. Save on the accommodation and spend on the food! At first , the hotel is pretty tricky to find. Took us quite a while to locate it, but once you get it right, its a breeze. Its located fairly near the Osaka station which takes you anywhere. Surrounded by 24/7 convenience stores and restaurants. Very accessible.

Room is clean and amenities are basic. They have laundry facilities too. Only downside, tv channels were too limited. Pillows are too hard. Everything else, perfect. Would recommend this place to anyone who wants to channel their budget to other uses such as food or shopping!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Securing an affordable accommodation was key to our stay in Japan last month. And Hotel Kinki fits the requirement nicely. They offer long term stays at seriously rock bottom prices which is rare in Japan. Location wise, it is very near to the major train stations of Osaka (JR, Hankyu & subways). And to add to the travel convenience, you can either choose to walk underground to the train stations or above ground if the weather permits. Just follow the map on their website, trust me you won't be lost.

The staffs can understand simple English. A little bit of Japanese would be a bit of a plus. Just note that check in is really at 3 PM. We arrived on an early flight-6 AM and had to wait until 3 PM before being checked in. It wasn't quite of a problem as we were able to leave our luggages and had lots of time to get our bearings right on Osaka city. We had kind of expected the room to be small, and yes it was seriously SMALL! You had barely room to move in the rooms but we kind of accepted it to be the way in Japan. The hotel management might do some good to non Japanese guest by adding English channels on to the list of TV channels. But, for an additional 1000 yen, guests can also buy English movies at the vending machine located at each floors. WiFi is free throughout the hotel, just get the network key from the front office. Guests could also use the coin laundry machines, microwave and pressing machines at the amenities room.

The name of the hotel kind of speaks of where it is located. It is smacked right on the lane of where you would find girl bars, hostess clubs etc etc etc... No worries though just mind your own business and you would be fine with this hotel :)

Room Tip: Room 401 is at the back of the hotel. It helps to keep the noise down
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Went to Osaka region on a solo independent travel, to visit the Osaka-Kyoto-Kobe region and the location of this small hotel was my first priority.The location is indeed a great one as Osaka station and Umeda station are very close. It allowed me to easily explore Osaka (rather a long walk to the Castle and to Dotonbori, but it can be done) and to easily go to Kyoto, Nara, Uji and Kobe. The second reason was the price. Excellent price when compared to most hotels in Kyoto or further away like Nara.
Single rooms aren't very big, but provide a great quality sleep. Wi-Fi signal is excellent but doesn't support Voip. Staff is very friendly though I think a little more knowledge of a western language would enrich the experience. There's a small refrigerator on the bedroom which can be useful. There are many convenience stores nearby so 24-7 food is available, as well as public phones. To find the hotel the first time can be tricky, but if you arrive by limousine bus from the airport or by train to Osaka, just look for the Hep Navio shopping mall, follow that street to the crosswalk with a bridge over it where you have security helping you to cross the street and then look for the family mart convenience shop. The hotel is on that narrow alley on the left of the convenience store. Even though I asked for a western style room, the electric plugs are american style, so if coming from a different part of the world bring an adapter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kinki

Address: 17-8 Kita-ku Doyama-cho, Osaka 530-0027, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 266 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kinki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located at the central area named Umeda of Osaka. About 7-10 min walk from JR Osaka Station and Umeda Subway Station. We offer free internet access in every room. If you do not bring your PC with you, there is a public computer available in the lobby. The most important thing is we have confidence to supply you a warm place for stay during your nice trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Despegar.com and Rakuten so you can book your Hotel Kinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinki Hotel Osaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.