We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for beginners Not for snowboarders” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shiga Kogen

Shiga Kogen
1108 Asahimachi, Nagano, Nagano Prefecture
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 58 things to do in Nagano
Activities: Skiing, Snowboarding
Attraction details
Jindabyne, Australia
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Great for beginners Not for snowboarders”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed a week here and skied all runs.
Some have bans on snowboards.
Nil nightlife. And I mean nil nightlife. Hardly even a shop in the area.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Interesting. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Not quite sure where to start. We have been to many other places in japan to ski. Shiga was the quietest in terms of atmosphere, seems all jumbled together and has been run down since the Olympics in 1998.
Shuttles run between ski villages but they are not regular, sometimes being 2 hours between pick ups. Free from about 8-5 pm then it is user pays. Adds up if you want to go outside your little village to eat.
We ate at Villa Ichinose most nights. Cheap and good food. Don't order pork colon thinking it is pork belly , it's what it says.
Best but not big shop is in Villa Ichinose. Only place we found fresh milk.
Went to Starbucks at highest peak. Only way there is by bus. We didn't think it was worth it as you spend 1/2 hr each way on shortest bus trip, really slow double chair then 2 more chairs before you get to the top.
Skiing was really nice, but give yourselves several days to get the feel of the place. So many interconnected villages, go over and under roads, traversing etc. can take a bit to get around but once you work it out it is a great place to ski or board.
Best lunch on mountain was at the top if the really old small yellow gondola. Boards stuck out, they are so small. Go upstairs and the view is spectacular. Viewing platform.
Very few tree runs allowed but they can be found off chair 17 and z few other runs near Prince west hotel. Have to check out what is unroped when going up lifts. Ski patrol were about in force when we were there.
Would I go back? Probably not. We are not big night owls but a but of atmosphere with more than us walking around would be nice. Very deserted, old and empty. Even fairy lights on hotels would make it look appealing. A lot of the hotels looked closed.
I would stay either at Prince West again or in Ichinose if I went back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Play to yr heart's content”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Largest ski resort in Japan. Well interconnected mountains. Lots of pistes and off pistes. Great scenery. Convenient chairs. Fantastic snow. Wonderful people. Best place to go in Japan's main island Honshu for a start.
Needs a trying 6-hour transfer from Narita airport. And accommodation at either Prince West & East Wings are very cramped, dated & uncomfortable.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is our first time skiing in Japan and we loved the experience. The ShigaKogen area is picturesque with beautiful views from so many places. We enjoyed the challenge of travelling from one ski area to the next and travelled for the 8 days we were there. It was fun moving between the different areas, but once mastered some of the flat areas, magic carpets etc that had to be negotiiated to travel the region on skis became tedious. Also, the only areas with an individual ski map were Yakebitai and Ichinose, leaving us with the big map to negotiate the rest of the areas. not a big issue and definitely added to the fun when trying to decipher whether the runs were up or down. The shuttle bus was also very useful and necessary to get to some of the areas. A further comment would be the "steeps" aren't very steep and there is no off piste skiing unless you are happy to risk the fact that if rescuing is required, you will bear the cost of the rescue.
adding to the wonderful experience was eating out at the local towns or ski slopes and trying the local cuisine. Thoroughly enjoyed interacting with the Japanese people and culture, they are very thoughtful, respectful and always happy to assist. Yes we did have language barriers, but their English was much better than our Japanese! Thank goodness for picture menus.
Would happily recommend the area to all skiers. We skiied the 21 areas pretty well in the 8 days we had, so will not go back in the near future, but loved the place and the experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place to Ski”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful place to ski. So many runs never had to wait longer than 2mins for a lift. Plenty of snow even in December. Only problem was no ATM nearby, & most places didn't take cards for transactions either. Nearest ATM is about a half hr trip down the mountain on the shuttle bus which was free. The shuttle bus runs between all the areas which you have access to with the one lift pass. Excellent value!

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shiga Kogen also viewed

Yamanouchi-machi, Shimotakai-gun
Nagano, Nagano Prefecture
 
Nagano, Nagano Prefecture
Yamanouchi-machi, Shimotakai-gun
 

Been to Shiga Kogen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shiga Kogen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.