We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value with larger than normal rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chisun Grand Nagano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chisun Grand Nagano to your Saves list
Chisun Grand Nagano
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-17-1 Minami Chitose, Nagano 380-0823, Nagano Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent value with larger than normal rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

10min walk from Nagano station. Quiet rooms. Well appointed. Quite spacious compared to other business hotels. A good bathroom.Air con v. efficient. Close to eateries. We did not have the buffet breakfast (1100 yen) so cannot comment. Bus nr hotel to take you to Zenkoji Temple. Overall a good stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    81
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
33
27
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Went to nagano to see the snow monkeys overnight.
Arrived early and left our bags with the hotel.
Staff were professional and friendly.
One lady had perfect English and gave us written directions for transport to see the monkey park.
When we came back they had upgraded us to a bigger room and put our bags in the room.
One of the best rooms we have had on our 2 week trip.
The other reviews made up our minds to stay here and we were not disappointed
There are plenty of hotels in nagano, prob from the days of the olympic painter games so lots of choice.
For $70 this hotel was a winner!!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, MD
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Very nice clean hotel in Nagano with bigger rooms than you would see in Tokyo or Kyoto. Excellent staff and amenities. Convenient to the Nagano Station, restaurants and most attractions. A good place to stay while visiting our daughter in Myoko.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We chose this hotel because it is close to the train station. We good a good room on one of the higher floors, the sevice was friendly and overall we found it was good value for money. I would go back if you want to stay close to train station.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagamihara, Japan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

VERY large rooms, excellent service, and a perfect location make this a great location for tourists in Nagano. Close to the train and bus station makes it a convenient hub for sightseeing and there a many very good izakayas and other restaurants within a very short walk..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

As above - brekky is on the 12th floor looking across nagano and is japanese style, complete with no shoes. Amazing tastes!

Room is large and well appointed, and spotless. Bed is rock hard, like the rest of japan.

Wifi is great and included - not often a hotel wifi is good enough to stream youtube vids!

5 minute walk to the station and centre of nagano i will stay here again - wholly recommend it!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
370 helpful votes 370 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The Chisun Grand Nagano is a great value-priced hotel, with excellent service, in the center of Nagano. While this hotel might be a bit business-oriented for families, for individuals or couples traveling in Nagano it is an excellent option. Read on for more:

LOCATION:
The hotel is located about a 10-minute walk from Nagano Station. Exit the station by the "Zenkoji Exit", make a right and go down the escalators, and then just continue on that side of the street for about 4 blocks. While easily do-able with a small amount of luggage, if you're heavily loaded or it's raining out, it's just far enough to be slightly difficult. Still, the location is excellent for plenty of other purposes. From the area near the station, you can catch the Nagano Electric Railway to visit the "Snow Monkey Park", or catch a local bus to Zenkoji Temple. In-season, there are also plenty of options for getting to a ski area. The hotel is in a "light commercial" district, so there are plenty of restaurants and small shops in easy walking distance, though it's a rather far walk from any large shopping or department stores. There's a great little Izakaya in a tiny alley just across the street, and an okay Sushi bar near the station.

PROPERTY:
The hotel is still quite new, only about 15 years old, and built for the Nagano Olympics. It's a high-rise style building, and was originally a Holiday Inn; a fact that won't surprise anyone who has stayed in one, when you see this place... The spacious lobby and larger-than-(Japanese)-average rooms, have the feel of a Western hotel. There is a restaurant on the top floor of the hotel, though it closes at 10pm, so if you're used to dining late, you'll be walking the neighborhood for other options. There's not much else to do on-site, but there are plenty of local bars and entertainment in the area.

ROOMS:
The rooms are larger than Japanese standard, though have the typical "extras" you'd expect from a Japanese hotel. This includes, of course, the high-tech toilet and heated anti-fogging mirror in the bathroom. The bed was a bit firm for my tastes, and the pillows unfortunately thin, but is fairly typical for Japan. The in-room Internet service was fast and reliable, but note that it is wired-only, not wireless. The usual in-room amenities and toiletries were all included.

Note on room rates: This hotel seems to have a total fruit-salad of rates available on both their own site and on travel sites. Early booking rates, promotional rates, credit-card loyalty rates, length-of-stay discounts, and both "ladies" and "businessman" rates are all in the mix... Shop around before you book, since the "Best Available Rate" was pretty much anything but, in my experience! Note that their early-booking rates _are_ cancellable, which is an excellent perk for the discount provided.

STAFF:
The staff here were impeccably friendly and helpful. As might be expected, they speak English, however some Japanese language fluency may be helpful when asking for directions or recommendations in the area. The staff's English was perfectly good for any hotel-related purposes, but Japanese served better for other discussions. Everyone really went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating. When I discovered that I had forgotten my power adapter, the front desk dug through the back office to find a spare one I could borrow! In nearly all ways, they were everything that you could hope for in outstanding Japanese customer service.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. But if you're traveling with children, lots of luggage, or if the weather is inclement, do note that the hotel is just far enough away from the train station to be a somewhat unpleasant hike. Otherwise, it was an excellent stay, and I would not hesitate to stay here again, should I return to Nagano.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chisun Grand Nagano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chisun Grand Nagano

Address: 2-17-1 Minami Chitose, Nagano 380-0823, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Nagano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chisun Grand Nagano 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nagano-shi is the capital of Nagano Prefecture and is located in the centre of Japan. We are located nearby the historic town, Matsuhiro, Kawanakajima and also the resort area, Iizunakogen. The Holiday Inn Express Nagano is located just a few minutes from Nagano station. We offer 92 single rooms, 6 one-double rooms, 37 two-single-bed rooms and 3 special rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Chisun Grand Nagano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nagano
Nagano Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chisun Grand Nagano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.