We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Screen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Screen to your Saves list
The Screen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   640-1 Shimogoryomae-cho, Tera-machi, Maruta-cho, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0995 , Kyoto Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jakarta
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Spacious boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is nicely located in a side street, 10-minute walk from the nearest station and 20-minute walk from the well known Gion, 5-minute from the imperial palace. Too bad wifi is not available in rooms and shower is not in a cubicle. The rest, the hotel offers nice Kyoto neighbourhood and comfort.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    41
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
72
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We had trouble finding a hotel in Kyoto and ended up here, stayed here for three nights in a huge black and white room with the largest bed I have ever seen and a rather uncomfortable white sofa in the seating area. The design of the rooms is pretty good, and they look nice and the bed was very comfortable , but the upkeep leaves something to be desired - the advertised iPod dock didn't work and wasn't fixed when we were there. Our rate included breakfast which was pretty boring with no choice at all - I would definitely not pay for this, suggest you get a rate without breakfast if you can and pick up croissants at one of the two or three great bakeries on the same street. The staff was helpful in making restaurant reservations etc but not all of them speak English so it can be a struggle at times. I liked the location, the sites are quite spread out in Kyoto and this made a good base, though if I went again I would probably choose to stay in the east part of the town closer to Gion and the eastern temples.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed for one night in the room designed by SATORU TANAKA. Everything is black in black. Very nice bathroom in the middle of the suite. This was one of the most special hotel exeriences I ever had. The hotel is located next to the park and only a short walk away from old town. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We will come again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just in front of Imperial Palace Park and a reasonable walk from downtown this new and nice design hotel far from the mess of Gion and the district around, very quiet and nice staff, The room very spacious and and very cool furnished...teh bath so big and what a cool tub.the only little problem if we can say that, is the little spoken english but nevermind the stay it worths.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

On arrival the staff could not have been more helpful. We knew we were onto a winner when we were offered a free welcome drink. We politely declined alcohol in favour of non-alcoholic cocktail which is highly recommended.
The reception area is sparklingly white and spotless. Don't be out off by the dark corridors as these are not only classy but are in stark contrast to the rooms. Each room has been designed by different designers. Ours was roomy, spotlessly clean and equipped with all madden appliances, including Bose sound system that accommodates apple iPhones/pods, large flat screen tv, espresso machine etc. The bed is huge and most comfortable. Bathroom is beautifully furnished with a roll-top bath and wet-room shower. Lavatory was in a separate room. The carpets throughout were deep pile but because they are light they did show a mark or two-cannot criticise this too much though.
To get to The Screen from the station catch one of several busses that go north up Kawaramachi-Dori and alight just before the Imperial Palace. Cost ¥220 each but you can buy an all day pass for ¥500 each (handy for going around town on the bus). Simply get on the bus at the back and buy one off the driver as you get off-put it in the machine which date stamps it then for subsequent journeys just show it to the driver as you get off.

The Screen location was perfect as everything is a short and cheap bus ride away. It is very quiet inside and provided perhaps our best nights sleep in Japan.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This place was a great find and one of the highlights of our honeymoon. Drinks on arrival were a nice touch, the layout and design of the rooms were impressive and the staff were just lovely and very helpful. The area around the hotel is a short stroll to a large shopping precinct and the back alleys are beautiful to wander through and explore on the way back. A cheap cab will take you to restaurants which are so pretty at night. Make sure you check out the rooftop bar and indulge in a traditional Japanese breakfast downstairs. This was a nice change from the crazy intensity of Tokyo - a highly recommended sophisticated hotel that would be pretty hard to fault.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed the hotel and the room! It is very well located, 5 min from bus stops and a subway station. It's in front of the Imperial Palace so we enjoyed an early jog in the gardens, wonderful! Our room was spacious, with jacuzzi and a small living room equipped with tv and sound system with ipod dock, very romantic. For a better price, book on weekdays and through expedia!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Screen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Screen

Address: 640-1 Shimogoryomae-cho, Tera-machi, Maruta-cho, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0995 , Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#20 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Screen 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Screen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Screen Hotel Kyoto
Screen Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Screen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.