We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of K's House Kyoto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added K's House Kyoto to your Saves list
K's House Kyoto
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   418 Nayacho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8142, Kyoto Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 168 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have stayed in K's House before, and was, once again, not disappointed. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the train station - it's a bit hidden, but if you follow the directions they provide it's easy enough to find. We had a private room with an ensuite bathroom. Obviously it was not spacious, but for our needs, it was more than sufficient. The room was clean and tidy and included a air conditioning/heating and a TV with basic channels. Wi-fi was available in our room and worked quite well. More than anything, it is the wonderful staff that makes this hostel what it is. Any question we asked, any need we had, the staff went above and beyond to help in any way they could. They are VERY knowledgeable about the sights to see in the area, with advice on buses and trains as well as the attractions themselves. The availability of an easy-to-use laundry facility is also quite helpful, especially if you're staying for a longer period of time. As it is close to the train station and many sights and attractions, I would DEFINITELY recommend K's House for anyone wanting to spend some time sightseeing in Kyoto!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    178
    32
    4
    0
See reviews for
37
140
113
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed at K's House for two nights and I wish I could've stayed longer. It is by far one of the best hostels I have stayed in, and my favourite one during my fortnight-long trip to Japan. Booked a stay in an 8-bed mixed dorm, and the bunk beds were comfortable and warm. The shower facilities are simply excellent and equipped with nice hot water. There is more than one shower cubicle in each shared bathroom so there is no need to camp outside waiting to shower. The lounge area is bright, airy and really comfortable and my companion and I enjoyed sitting there late at night planning our trip. The hostel is run very professionally and the staff were all helpful and efficient. Really enjoyed too, hanging out with an umeshu (plum wine) on the rocks at the hostel bar, which also serves excellent potato wedges (none of that processed stuff, it's sliced fried potato) and chicken karaage. For the lazy traveller who needs some comfort food, breakfast buffet is available for 680 yen per person as well and it seemed very popular although we headed out for breakfast. The hostel is located an easy 15 minute walk from Kyoto station and is situated about 10 minutes from the gorgeous Kamo river, which you absolutely must take a stroll down! Generally a very good hostel and I would definitely stay at K's House hostels in Japan in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in a twin room (bunks). Getting a twin room with bunks usually ends up a better deal as two people can easily fit into their large singles and you end up with more floor and moving space. The room was large there was a couch as well! Rooms are also equipped with a TV.
We were right opposite the bathrooms but there was no noise whatsoever and we never had to wait for the bathroom or a shower - in fact we didn't see anyone in the bathrooms at all other than the cleaners (the toilets are cleaned multiple times per day!)
Staff are wonderful - very knowledgable and friendly and will help you with telephone bookings in you need. There is a lot of information available on the noticeboards downstairs to help plan your stay.
Breakfast for 680yen was OK. My fiance and I couldn't be bothered making our own breakfast, and it can be hard to find a western or Japanese breakfast. The food was the same every day and the salad could have had more ingredients in it.
WIFI was super slow on our floor, could barely load any pages. Common room was spacious and the kitchen well equipped.
We had trouble finding the hostel as we arrived in the dark and didn't realise it wasn't on the main road - it runs parallel on a backstreet.

HOT TIP: Don't hire the bikes from K's House - go across the road to Rent-A-Cycle. We paid the same as K's (700 yen - usually the guy charges 1000 yen) and the bikes were soooooooooo much better - the brakes actually worked, multiple gears and a comfier seat

Also, Kyoto Tower is closed until April, but you can still get views from the train station, or the top of Torii gate walk (kyoto isn't that pretty from the air anyways)

Room Tip: Go the twin bunk rather than a double bed. Close to the toilets is good too (we had 306) - I even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

K's house is by far the biggest, cleanest, brightest hostel I've stayed at in Japan. It's not as intimate as some, but there's an amazing common room and kitchen. The double rooms are a bit gloomy, but the triple we stayed in for one night was nice and bright. Definitely worth the stay - good location and great staff that are happy to help you out. Make sure you grab a bus day pass from the front desk for sight seeing!

Room Tip: See if you can get a room in the main annexe as its loads closer to the common room/kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Ive stayed in this hostel numerous times- with my mother, her friends, my friends, with teenagers and many other companions. the rooms were always clean, the facilities too, the staff was friendly and the common room - clean, friendly, accessible and fun to hang out in. the breakfast in the cafe next door is totally worth it!

Room Tip: Request a room in the new building- the facilities there are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is one of the best hostels I have stayed and absolutely the best of Japan as far as I know. The only disadvantage I found was that their movie theatre, or TV room, is very small. Other than that, this hostel is perfect and highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed at K's Kyoto on my recent trip to Kyoto. After staying at the one in Tokyo, I must say this hostel in huge ! I loved the big lounge area, with the nice balcony. There is also 5 computers you can use for free. There is a restaurant right next door which serve food and drinks ( a little pricy for traveller budget). They also offer buffet breakfast for like 700 yen. My and my friend were staying in a private room with a bunk bed. The room was very clean. The hostel is well located near the Kyoto Station. My only concern about this hostel is that the bathroom are not very clean. But I would definatly go there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to K's House Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K's House Kyoto

Address: 418 Nayacho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8142, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 168 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — K's House Kyoto 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
K's House Kyoto is located only 9 min walk from JR Kyoto station. We offer you a variety of rooms as well as dorm beds and also spacious lounge, fully equipped guest kitchen, internet access and English speaking staff. We wish to offer all you global travelers a comfortable & memorable stay in Kyoto and also an opportunity to be in a cross cultural atmosphere and to meet new friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your K's House Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k`s House Kyoto Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage K's House Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.