We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms but missing a couple of useful amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan to your Saves list
Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan
Ryokan
  |   395 Mongaku-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8222 , Kyoto Prefecture (Kyoto Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #197 of 334 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 30 Reviews
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms but missing a couple of useful amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

This a lovely ryokan and the separate shower and toilet areas and entry hall are great.
However, the drawbacks are, there is no fridge in your room, no internet service and none nearby and only one person at the front desk who speaks English. She is lovely and helpful but when not there, communication is difficult.
These above draw backs can be a hassle but if not required then for the rooms and location, it's a terrific place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towako, 広報担当マネージャー at Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear guest

We're very sorry for replying so late and I appreciate your kind remarks about our inn.

The satisfaction of our guests has highest priority.
We express regret for the internet access which did not work properly during your stay
We want to apologize for the inconvenience .

So we thank you very much for your helpful and reasonable criticism.
I hope that you will be staying with us again if your travels bring you through Kyoto .

Best regards

Yukiko Sawada
TOWA.Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
7
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

This ryokan is actually in a 4-storey concrete building, but located in a narrow lane amongst more traditional-looking homes and shops. It is a just a stone’s throw from the big Buddhist temple Nishi Hongwanji, but at least 10 minutes walk from Kyoto train station and subway. When I arrived at Kyoto station it was pouring rain and I had to catch a taxi to the ryokan for 600 yen (I had a print-out of the Japanese map from the ryokan's website).

I found the room and the ensuite bathroom to be very clean and sufficiently spacious. My room was <9000 yen a night. The room is furnished in the Japanese-style. The bed is a futon which was tough on my back on the first two night, but I slept fine in the subsequent nights. The air-conditioner was very dismal, especially as it was summer time and humid. I mentioned this to the reception, but there was no improvement. Fortunately the windows could be opened wide for the breeze. I really enjoyed the complimentary Japanese-style breakfast which was served in the dining room in the basement (which is also the level of the bathhouse). I found the lift a bit dark and dingy and preferred to use the stairs. The level of English varied amongst the staff, but the receptionists were always polite and tried their best to help.

There are bus-stops nearby but in the morning it was easier to catch the bus or subway from Kyoto station. By the time the bus reached the bus-stop near the ryokan, it was already packed and did not stop to pick up more passengers. I did catch the bus from Nijo-jo one afternoon and it dropped me off at the bus-stop near the ryokan, which was very convenient. In summary, a good experience in a ryokan with private bathrooms, and within my budget.

  • Liked — Clean, Japanese-style rooms, breakfast
  • Disliked — Air conditioner not strong enough for summer
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towako, 広報担当マネージャー at Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your stay and your feedback through Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here and enjoyed the surroundings.

Then we are so sorry to hear about the air conditioner not strong enough .
We are in the process of reviewing your suggestions

Never the less, thanking you again for your stay and wishing you all the best and of course safe travels.

Kind Regards

Yukiko Sawada
TOWA.Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

My girlfriend and I spent three nights at the Kyoto Towa, since we wanted to taste a traditional Ryokan.
The Ryokan, which is a traditional Japanese Style Hotel, is just six minutes walk from the Kyoto main train station. The area is very quiet, nice, safe, crowded with small houses, few restaurants and bars.

We were given a six tatami large room with futons as beds. The room was very beautiful, very clean, had a toilet and bathroom with hairdryer. One LCD TV was set on a large table in the room, but no refrigerator was available.
Japanese tea, teapot and biscuits, Yukata (Japanese style home vest), aromatic shampoos and hair treatment were available in our room.

Pictures published on the Hotel website depicts exactly how the rooms look like. The Ryokan was recently renovated.

Breakfast was included in room rates and was very good. It is served in the basement of the building, in a large room covered with tatami. There are small tables and guests sits directly on the tatami to eat breakfast. I had small portions of grilled fish, ready made tofu, rice, Nori seaweed, vegetables and fruits. Dinner is available too, it is served directly in the rooms but we didn't try that.

Staff is very very nice and welcoming.

  • Liked — Everything was very good.
  • Disliked — Nothing to report.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towako, 広報担当マネージャー at Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay and we apologize for not replying to you earlier.

We are pleased to see the staff was a highlight of your visit, and you enjoyed your stay overall.
We will continue to improve our service.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Yukiko Sawada
TOWA. Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

We wanted to have the ryokans experience along our trip to Japan. The days we visited Kyoto were very busy and it was hard to find available ryokans at good price. Nevertheless we found Nagomiyado Towa. Its website looked very good and we booked a four nights stay. Price was about 9.000 yens per night and per person for a 6 mat tatami room, breakfast included, which is not very high by Japanese and ryokans standards. The 6 mat tatami room were the smallest (and the cheapest) room available.

This ryokan is completely new, which is a very good thing. It has a good and modern air conditioner (absolutely necessary if you visit Japan in summer). The room and the bathroom were very clean. The Staff was very kind, although we found only few members (young women) that spoke English.

This ryokan is quite near the Kyoto Station, which was very useful. You can walk to the ryokan to and from the Station, even the day of your arrival or departure. It is about a 10 or 15 minutes walk. The map available in their website is very accurate. We found it at the first try. Just go to the Shichijo-dori (street) from the Kyoto Station and then walk to the left. Once you see a restaurant in one corner called Second House, take that street to the right. It is a narrow street and you must walk some minutes. You’ll find Towa at the right side. See the photos I’ve posted to see how the roykan looks like (there’s no sign in English).

For all these reasons this was the ryokan we enjoyed most in our trip to Japan.

What we didn’t like about this ryokan was that there was no internet point available. And find an internet point in Kyoto was very difficult, and expensive. Also only Japanese breakfast was available and we must admit that it is worth to try the experience one day but it is difficult to have breakfast that way for some days in a row. After the second day we gave up and went to have breakfast just beside the Kyoto Station.

To finish let me give a pair of tips for your stay in Kyoto. If you sleep near the Kyoto Station, don’t spend time looking for restaurants. Just go to the Station, go to the upper floors and you’ll find lots of restaurants, even though some western ones if you are a bit tired of Japanese food. About moving around Kyoto the cheapest way to do so is by bus. Outside the Kyoto Station there is also a bus Station, and you can take there all the buses to get to the temples. There are ticket machines (only in Japanese) but you just have to buy a ticket that costs 500 yens, it is a day pass for all buses. You can get a bus lines map inside the Station, at the tourist office. It is a very good bus line guide, just pay attention on the direction of the bus you want to take, because if you take the wrong one you’ll spend a lot of time to get where you are going.

  • Liked — Near the Kyoto Station. Modern ryokan.
  • Disliked — No internet available. Only Japanese breakfast available. No choice to have western breakfast.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towako, 広報担当マネージャー at Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear guest

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at ours,TOWA.
Then we are sorry for not answering your letter sooner.

We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us.(Only Japanese breakfast available. No choice to have western breakfast.)
We value your suggestion highly,also it's being followed up .

We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Best regards,

Yukiko Sawada
TOWA. Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan

Address: 395 Mongaku-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8222 , Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#96 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Odigeo and Rakuten so you can book your Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.