We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monterey Kyoto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monterey Kyoto to your Saves list
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   604 Manjuyacho, Karasumadori 3-jo Kudaru, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8161, Kyoto Prefecture (Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #42 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and it could not be more wonderful. The double room was spacious and elegant. The location is perfect. The staff spoke excellent English and recommended one of the best kushiyaki places we have had in Japan. The spa on the roof top is luxurious and pampering, with a semi-open air section that gives a beautiful view of kyoto. Would definitely stay here again when I'm next in Kyoto!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    681
    137
    22
    12
See reviews for
283
533
255
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in Feb 2014. Hotel is walking distance to the subway, which makes getting around rather easy. Room was clean and a little on the small side. Front desk staff were excellent. They arranged for the Takuhaibin service for our luggage to Hakuba, which the hotel in Tokyo indicated was not being provided to Nagano Prefecture. Hotel is close to many eateries. Did not have breakfast or dinner in the hotel as we sort to experience the culinary delights of Kyoto.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Overall, the hotel is just average. Service at the front desk was a little curt and lacking but it was made up for by the great help from the guest relations personnel on the second morning of our stay. She was helpful and always so genuine in helping and giving us many tips to make our stay and visit a pleasant one.

The bedroom were small but functional. The bathroom/ toilet is compact and quite a luxury despite the small room.

Breakfast buffet was a great - the wide selection from both Japanese and Western choices more than makes for a great start to the day.

Overall, a pleasant hotel and will consider making a comeback stay in the near future. The convenience to many places of interest as well as food and drinks make this a nice short stay away from home.

Room Tip: The wardrobe space is just too small and cramped! Especially during winter when there are bulky jac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

European style hotel with great location in middle of Kyoto. Only few steps to Karasuma station with subways crossing and direct Hankyu line to Osaka . And most important attractions, shopping streets and restaurants are on walking distance. Moderate English speaking very friendly and helpful staff.
Room was clean and many-sided equipped, but little bit tight. Reason was king-side bed, very good to sleep but little bit too big to the room. Therefor there was also few space for clothing locker. But may be Kyoto is city where you will not stay all day in hotel room, only sleep.
Internet access was working well. Hotel have generous breakfast buffet with continental and Japanese menu, little bit expensive but you can pay it also day by day, not for all stay. There is also lot of small cafes around hotel for breakfast. Don´t forget ask shuttle bus to Kansai airport, it is cheap and working very well.
Altogether very recommendable and cost-effective hotel.

Room Tip: King size bed is good but little bit too big to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Loved the city (wished we spent more time here and less in Tokyo). Was easier to navigate, pace seemed a little slower. Fantastic rooms, spacious with all the amenities. Hotel was beautiful. Himeji Castle is under restoration, and won't be unveiled until 2015 (FYI), is under scaffolding and tarps, but you can still look around grounds and go in some buildings. Restaurants close by, would definitely stay here again

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our time at the Hotel Monterey Kyoto was fantastic. To begin with, it's location is great. It's not far from a couple of subway stops and its not a far walk from major shopping and eating areas either. The service was excellent too - they went out of their way to make our stay a great time. They helped us on finding our way around, booking restaurants and taxis for us. Even held umbrellas over us while we got our bags into the taxi, even though they were getting soaking wet themselves.

Our rooms were great - enough space for the two of us and all our bags without feeling crammed in at all, and very clean too. The free in-room wifi was great - much better than many other hotels i've stayed in. We would definitely consider staying with them again (in fact we did, in Sapporo)!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Booked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews. I’m so glad we did as we really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel decor is gorgeous, the concierge is so helpful and the rooms have comfy beds and spacious bathrooms. You can’t really ask for much else, can you? Our room was reasonably sized compared to some hotels I have stayed at in Japan. The location was perfect for us! We loved being able to walk to and from the Nishiki Markets and shopping centres. It was only roughly a 1000 Yen cab ride to the main station too. We would definitely stay here again if we returned to Kyoto!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monterey Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Kyoto

Address: 604 Manjuyacho, Karasumadori 3-jo Kudaru, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8161, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#12 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel that combines the best of Kyoto's stylish culture and Britain's traditional heritage. The design is based on the arts and crafts of Scotland, particularly Edinburgh, its ancient capital. In fact Kyoto and Edinburgh are not only sister cities in name, but they also share many traits such as the lively street atmosphere and traditional culture. This hotel expresses the relationship between the two cities through its traditional architecture and warm atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Fastbooking, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Hotel Monterey Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monterey Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.