We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, excellent location, with a high-class atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monterey Kyoto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monterey Kyoto to your Saves list
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   604 Manjuyacho, Karasumadori 3-jo Kudaru, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8161, Kyoto Prefecture (Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #42 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Affordable, excellent location, with a high-class atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in September 2013 for several days of a trip to Kyoto. The hotel was priced reasonably, with a good-sized single room (with double bed) and decent bathroom. The bath was so nice that I took a bath two nights in a row--totally unsual for me in a hotel. The room was clean with ample towels for my comfort. In the rooms, they provide other typical Japanese amenities, including several sizes of pajamas,slippers, razor, comb, toothbrush, and a number of toiletries. There is also a hot water heater to use with the hotel's very good version of green leaf tea or the instant coffee (I did not try the latter).The atmosphere is very high class, which may or may not be a draw back. Most individuals are very well dressed. And the environment may seem reserved to some. The hotel has a nice bar called "The Library" that has a small assortment of snacks (that I did not try) and well-made drink and cocktail options. Even the stock list of cocktails like the Kir Royale are decently made. The hotel staff was extremely helpful, doing everything from confirming my next hotel, advancing my luggage, arranging for mailings, and having a strong concierge service--and without fail. The second day, my air conditioning began to chirp like a bird. Once I informed them, they fixed immediately, making sure that I was out of the room and not disturbed. On top of this, I think the hotel is generally located in a great location. It is walkable to certain sites like Nijo Castle (about 3/4 miles away). It is also close to several metro lines to help you get to all major areas like the food markets, and over the river to the temples if you wish. Finally, most of the major hotspots are walkable within 30 minutes. Any of those options is also the equivalent of a $10--$15 U.S. dollars cab ride away if you'd prefer not to use public transport or your feet. The only significant downsides are that 1) the hotel restaurants are pricey -- so I did not try-- especially with so many other delicious yet more affordable spots and 2) This hotel is far away from most of the nightlife.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    681
    137
    22
    12
See reviews for
283
533
255
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Quite a large room/bathroom compared to others we stayed at in Japan. Always very clean, comfortable and relaxing. Close to subway so easy access around and out of Kyoto (e.g. taking the train out to Nara), and many places are within walking distance anyway. We thought it was great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The location of this hotel is great in terms of the Metro system. I believe many tourists may have similar experiences like this, you suppose the underground should cover the whole city. However, it seems to be not true in Kyoto. Buses are actually the best transport to bring you to most attractions. The hotel is about 10 minutes walking from the underground station. It is handy because there are several shops like Starbucks and other coffee shops near this hotel.

The breakfast costs nearly GBP 20.00, so we did not have any during our journey. We instead had breakfast somewhere else. You can try to get food from the Family Mart just right opposite of the hotel, and grab a cup of coffee while sitting in the outside of Starbucks. That can save you a lot of budget. Another coffee shop "Caffexcelsior" also right the opposite of the road is strongly recommended. It offers very good brunch, and the price is reasonable.

The bedroom is very clean, and the tea bags were fantastic. However, my pillow was too hard to me. I did not ask them to make a change. It could be better if they can provide cotton filling pillows. Overall, this hotel is very good.

地點很棒,旁邊附近的咖啡店跟書店也都很不錯。好處是離地鐵很近,但缺點是早餐太貴、離公車站有一段距離。我們沒有在飯店吃早餐,我們去全家便利商店還有附近的咖啡店吃早餐,價錢是飯店早餐的一半而已,提供給有預算考量的人參考。

用走路的去三条河原町那邊很近,從全家旁邊那條路走過去,一直走到底就到了。晚上那些逛街的地方開很晚,可以逛到9點多吧,再慢慢走路回去飯店。還挺不錯的!

大部份景點搭地鐵都不會到,你還是需要買公車卡。所以地鐵就參考就好,當你要搭公車回去飯店,其實有點困難,沒有想像中簡單。我們都還是搭到河原町或四条那邊,再走回去飯店。

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The room are really spacious but the wardrobe is small and the carpets are dirty. Seems like they didn´t really pay any attention to details. Since it´s not a budget hotel you expect more. Location is great though and the onsen (cost extra of course) on the roof top is good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. I really liked the hotel itself and we did not have anything to complain about it. We had some drinks at the bar in the hotel which is a bit "stuffy". There is not much nightlife around this area. We did find a tapas restaurant, Bellota, which stayed open until 2am. Most other places closed around 11pm. We would travel to the area were the McLoughlin’s Irish and Rub-A-Duck bars are. We kind of wished we would have stayed in that area because it had a great nightlife but it was a long, long walk and we ended up getting cabs there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel was near many tourist attractions, close to downtown Kyoto, minutes from the subway station. Actually walking distance to the Imperial palace and Castle. On our check out day, the hotel kept our luggage for us while we did some last minute touring. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a "safe pick" hotel. They make it real easy for you. It is easy to find and in a central location to access all the main tourist spots. You can either take a bus or walk (a little long) to most of the famous sites. The hotel is pretty good. Most hotels in Japan are fairly equal in cleanliness, so service becomes the selling point. The staff do a good job of trying to help you. One of the disappointing aspects of the hotel was the bath on the top floor. It is nice, but requires an extra fee to use. The other business hotels in the area offer similar baths for free. This hotel has all the little extras that make it nice staying there, but the price is just a little high for what you get. If you want to pay less and don't mind a little extra hassle then there are other hotels that will serve you better. If you are new to Kyoto and get lost easily, then this hotel will be a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monterey Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Kyoto

Address: 604 Manjuyacho, Karasumadori 3-jo Kudaru, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8161, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#12 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel that combines the best of Kyoto's stylish culture and Britain's traditional heritage. The design is based on the arts and crafts of Scotland, particularly Edinburgh, its ancient capital. In fact Kyoto and Edinburgh are not only sister cities in name, but they also share many traits such as the lively street atmosphere and traditional culture. This hotel expresses the relationship between the two cities through its traditional architecture and warm atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Fastbooking, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Hotel Monterey Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monterey Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.