We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ryokan Shimizu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ryokan Shimizu to your Saves list
Ryokan Shimizu
Ryokan
  |   646 Kagiya-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8317, Kyoto Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Only Direct Booking Offer
Ranked #7 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 488 Reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great service great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

In a quiet lane close to kyoto station restaraunts and main bus depot this traditional ryokan was perfectly situated for exploring kyotos beautiful temples and castle. We hired bicycles from the hotel and road out through the city and along the river to the silver pagoda and philosophers walk. The city is flat and easy to get around and would have done more exploring this way had we had more time. The staff were very helpful with maps and advice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    112
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
69
278
31
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The first thing that stood out to me during my stay was how fantastic the staff were. They all speak fluent English, and were all too happy to help out wherever they could. They even offered to translate for us when my partner was sick, so that she could get the correct medication at the pharmacy.
In terms of the accommodation, it was clean, comfortable, and authentic, and very close to the Kyoto station, and all of its attractions. I also really enjoyed the free activities that the staff provide - my favourite being learning to write a few words in Katakana and Kanji.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Ryokan Shimizu is an easy 5-10 minute walk from the main Kyoto train station. The staff were really friendly, and all spoke good English, which made our arrival in Japan a bit easier. They gave us the run-down on where we should and should not wear shoes and a few other helpful hints. They were also fantastic in providing a map, providing very affordable bike rental onsite, and giving us hints for interesting 'one-off' things to do, like a new year market that was on for one day only. They were also happy to book a taxi for us one night, and explained to the driver where we wanted to go. Overall, the customer service was great. We didn't partake in them, but they also had some craft classes (calligraphy etc) on-site which sounded fun. The rooms had traditional tatami matting floors (shoes off!), with comfortable futon bedding and a very-Japanese, very-compact bathroom with fancy-pants toilets with loads of buttons. All good fun!

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, near reception, but despite the paper walls, it was not too noisy at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Shimizu is a very cozy and friendly ryokan. The staff is so friendly, helpful, always smiling and very accommodating. They have a few benefits which included offering the traditional Japanese breakfast which was good, having the bath which you can reserve ahead of time, and they even bring tea to your room! I would recommend this ryokan, especially because of the staff friendliness and their willingness to always help you out. Wonderful experience in Kyoto!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

It wasnt difficult to find except we arrived late and I was a bit nervous at night it seemed no one was around. If only I looked up to see a big sign lit up that says Rokan Shimizu. I recommend staying here because not only were the people lovely, respectful, helpful, beautiful, great..im running out of adjectives..location is good becuase 5-10 min to Kyoto station which is your hub. You eat there, walk, shop, look around, take photos, teh Kyoto tourism is there, JR Rail offices..cmon it doesnt get better. The buses are easy to navigate with a simple map which looks confusing at first. Take your family here so you can experience sleeping on tatami mats, the little elves magically roll out your beds before you come back, the heater on, the toilet seat heater on.. japanese tea waiting for you, your kimonos & slippers. everytime we come from a tour it's as if they were waiting for us and "how was your day?" In a rather softly spoken, unimposing question even if you are tired but becuase you are excited you keep jabbering away. Until new maps come out to entice you to try Hiroshima or Mijayama...hello.. not enough time but yes i will re-arrange my sked and wake up at 6am so we are on the shinkasen at 7 in time for mijayama. arigato gosaimas...we miss the great staff at Shimizu we will definitely stay with you in Jan 2014. Best wishes to all the staff thank yo for the photos 'WE LOVE JAPAN"!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Ryokan Shimizu was a great opportunity to experience a Ryoken in Kyoto!

The offer of traditional Japanese breakfast, cultural activities, drinking, and especially very friendly hospitality were the highlights of my stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at Ryokan Shimizu and had a great time. The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. Rooms were spacious and had separate areas for showering/bath and a separate toilet. The free cultural nights were great! Got to do some Japanese calligraphy and don on a simple Japanese outfit (male and female) with props and all. They also have a free cocktail every night at 9pm. Free wifi was definitely a big plus!
The ryokan is a 5-10min walk from Kyoto station and its pretty easy to find the place with the map that they provided. They also offer hire of bikes at a reasonable price for a day- we took up the offer and rode around kyoto for a day! Highly recommended so you can see the sights around and get there yourself! We rode to fushimi Inari shrine and all the way to the golden pavilion then across to gion for some geisha spotting and it was probably a full day of light riding (~30km). On check out, they were happy to watch our bags until mid afternoon while we did some final sightseeing.
Just to note, they have a curfew at 12 midnight. Check in is a little late- 4pm and you have a to check out by 10am.
Overall great place. Fantastic value for money. Would stay again if we ever come by kyoto in the future!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryokan Shimizu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Shimizu

Address: 646 Kagiya-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8317, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
#12 Best Value Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ryokan Shimizu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Shimizu Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryokan Shimizu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.