We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ryokan experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryokan Shimizu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kyoto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ryokan Shimizu
646 Kagiya-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8317, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 194 Kyoto B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Ryokan experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at Ryokan Shimizu and had a great time. The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. Rooms were spacious and had separate areas for showering/bath and a separate toilet. The free cultural nights were great! Got to do some Japanese calligraphy and don on a simple Japanese outfit (male and female) with props and all. They also have a free cocktail every night at 9pm. Free wifi was definitely a big plus!
The ryokan is a 5-10min walk from Kyoto station and its pretty easy to find the place with the map that they provided. They also offer hire of bikes at a reasonable price for a day- we took up the offer and rode around kyoto for a day! Highly recommended so you can see the sights around and get there yourself! We rode to fushimi Inari shrine and all the way to the golden pavilion then across to gion for some geisha spotting and it was probably a full day of light riding (~30km). On check out, they were happy to watch our bags until mid afternoon while we did some final sightseeing.
Just to note, they have a curfew at 12 midnight. Check in is a little late- 4pm and you have a to check out by 10am.
Overall great place. Fantastic value for money. Would stay again if we ever come by kyoto in the future!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    332
    104
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
62
262
31
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Right from the time I contacted the Ryokan staff for the booking till we checked out of the place, we were made to feel special and welcome by the wonderful people who run this place.
The place feels like a large family home and is very tidy and comfortable. Our room was pretty large and well heated. The attached bathroom did not have heating, so it got a bit cold, but considering that most ryokans do not even have private baths, there was no reason to complain.
The special mineral public bath facility that can be booked by you for any hour of the day, is something that you shouldn't miss. It can acommodate 2-5 people in the family and is a very relaxing and very Japanese experience.
The location is great - only a few mins walk from the Kyoto train station and you can easily find public transportation to get around town from here. The staff will take utmost care of you and it is their generous and heartfelt service that makes this the most special place to stay at in Kyoto.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampden, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Loved staying here, the staff were very helpful in booking the room and once we arrived in kyoto. the staff greeted us with ginger tea and smiles and helped us find our way back out to the main road.The ryokan was located off the main road so it was very quiet and peaceful and they even had bikes you could rent if you wanted.

It had huge rooms with comfortable mats to sleep on and very large bathroom/shower/tub. it even had a tv and radio and a small table for food and drink. There was a small sink and separate toilet room with toilet shoes provided.

The next morning, we paid extra to have a traditional Japanese breakfast and it was absolutely worth every yen. The food was so delicious, several small dishes accompanied with rice, miso soup and green tea and it was superb.

when we go back to kyoto, we are most definitely staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My friends and I stayed here on January 10th - 12th, 2013. We were supposed to check in at 2PM, but we arrived in Kyoto at 11PM. The Ryokan's website stated that they close check in at 11PM. We were so worried because we're still in the railway station, and still had to find our way to the Ryokan. So we called them, and asked them to prolong the check in time, wait for us to arrive. The map available on their website was so clear, that we only had to ask once in the station, which exit headed toward the Central Post Office. Once we got there, it was easy to get to the Ryokan.

Arriving at the Ryokan, we were welcomed by the staff who helped us settled into our room. We had booked a room for three people with private bathroom inside. In the room there's AC for hot & cold, TV, mini fridge, low table, tea set (green tea, cups, and tea pot), toiletries and 3 sets of yukata. We tried them on excitedly. Our room was in the first floor, right next to the reception desk. It was quite spacious, even with our luggage. In the bed room there's a clear folder containing everything you need to know about the Ryokan. Including the wi-fi and the password. Wi-fi connection from the room is very good, so you can just stay in the room and not go anywhere else :). The bathroom was really small, but there's a dry room right next to it, so I guess we can use it to store our clothes and got dress there after showering. Of course there are cold & hot water, and heater in the toilet. So even though you had to use the restroom in the middle of the night, you still feel warm. The Ryokan also rented a laptop with internet connection in the lobby if you need to use it.

In the morning when we got ready to explore Kyoto, we found our shoes ready to wear (we had to take off the shoes and change to in-house slippers). The morning staff greeted us and asked where we were headed, and when we told her no specific location yet, she provided us a map and pinpoint two or three must-see places. When we got back in the evening, our room was already made up, completed with new towels and yukata. We really enjoyed our stay in Ryokan Shimizu and recommend you stay here if you visit Kyoto.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in December 2012. The hotel was around a 15mins walk from the Kyoto Station. Our first impression was that the hotel looks very traditional. The room itself was very spacious and the minimalist design with the tatami mats and futon bed give us a very peaceful feeling. There were also free yukata sets provided in the room (they gave us a new set every 2 days).

Their breakfast was delicious and consists of many delicate small dishes each with a different flavor and they gave us a lot of white rice to go with it. However, if you decide to skip breakfast at the ryokan, there are many good breakfast options nearby like beef bowls and kitsune udon. The ryokan also provides a free private hot bath on the first floor which is worth checking out.

The service level was excellent and had a personal touch to it. The staffs (mostly young students) knew us by name and they also remembered our itinerary for the day. We highly recommend borrowing a map from the ryokan and renting their bicycles to explore around Kyoto. We bike to most of the attractions including the Gion district where we were lucky to catch sight of two maiko and a geisha along the alleys in the evening.

Overall, we are very satisfied and highly recommend this place to fellow travelers.

Room Tip: Choose the room on the second floor just in front of the staircase for a good view of a yuzu tree.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Best accommodation I had in Japan.
Rooms are quite big and confortables and Tatamis are great. Also very close to Kyoto main train station.
It is very quite and it has a few amenities close to it such as coin laundry and public bath.
Also free wireless internet available and close to public bath.
They offer a bike rental service as well in case you want to explore Kyoto on 2 wheels.
Also the staff is lovely and very helpful and when you come back to the Ryokan after a long day they bring you a green tea to the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

You'll look long and hard to find accommodation with a greater level of care invested into it. This is a beautifully presented ryokan where no attention to detail is overlooked. Scrupulously clean, very helpful staff, comfortable rooms and a delicious breakfast. I highly recommend Ryokan Shimizu to you for location, presentation and value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ryokan Shimizu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Shimizu

Also Known As:
Ryokan Shimizu Hotel
Ryokan Shimizu Hotel Kyoto
Address: 646 Kagiya-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8317, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryokan Shimizu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ryokan Shimizu to your Saves list