We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Kyoto

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Kyoto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   644-2 Sanjusangendo-mawari, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 605-0941 , Japan (Kyoto Station)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% Off
Ranked #12 of 142 hotels in Kyoto
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Shame about the location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stay in room starting with 13 if you get offer this and you don't mind walking take it, very quite area of the hotel, view wasn't so good the side of an adjoining building. The gentlemen at the front of the hotel was always very helpful and would make sure the Taxi driver new were you where wanting to go. Get a day bus pass from concierge heaps easier to get around, the 24 hour laundry just down the road is also an advantage, lots to see around the town would revisit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    641
    340
    85
    24
    13
See reviews for
234
513
86
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Okay, so it's a bit of a walk from downtown - but there is a metro station quite close. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in and the room was wonderfully quiet.
Beautiful styling in the room and bathroom.

We had the Japanese breakfast one morning - which was interesting but offered poor value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

In May this year we spent a whistle stop 24 hours in Kyoto. In hind sight this was always going to be an unrealistic amount of time to spend in this beautiful city, but great fun nonetheless. We travelled on the Shinkansen from Tokyo then took an easy 10 minute cab ride from the station to the Hyatt Regency. This really is a lovely hotel. The staff demonstrated the very efficient, courteous and friendly service we typically experienced from the beautiful Japanese people over our four days in the country. Our standard King room was simply but elegantly decorated in a modern Japanese theme and the bathroom also in a Japanese style was very clean and modern. The hotel foyer and public areas are stylishly modern and the breakfast buffet was beautifully presented and offered plenty of choice catering towards a western palate. We spent a wonderful couple of hours in the cosy downstairs bar complete with dark timbers and interesting decor and experienced the same quietly efficient service. The Hotel is located in an elevated position at the edge of the CBD and although our stay was only overnight, we found the location excellent as everything in Kyoto seems to be just a short cab ride away. Cab's were always available both at the hotel and around town when we needed them and operated by the most professional and noble drivers in the world - amazing! Kyoto really is blessed with its most spectacular historic asset's of which we only scratched the surface. We need to do this city justice with a return visit and our first choice for accommodation would be this wonderfully intimate and value for money hotel. I highly recommend the Hyatt Regency Kyoto.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for five nights during our trip in Japan. The hotel was great, but it's not in a central location. We got a great rate for the room because we booked in advance, but there were additional costs because of all the cabs we had to take while we stayed at the hotel. Also, the breakfast buffet is overpriced and it's not easy to breakfast any where else because it's away from the central area of Kyoto. The staff was incredibly helpful and they went out of their way to make our stay memorable. We ate dinner in their Italian restaurant and that was also lovely, even though it was a bit pricey. If you want to go to Kyoto but not be in the center of town then this hotel will be great for you. Just understand that you will need to take a bus or cab to go anywhere from this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

6 night stay for leisure. Stayed in a standard room, very pleasant, nice bathroom, very comfortable beds. Very clean and a good size. Hotel starting to a look a little warn around the edges in general. Concierge staff are fantastic and the staff in general are just wonderful. Restaurants are disappointing. Had one of the worst Japanese meals of my life at the signature restaurant. Mentioned this on checkout and it was partially refunded without question which was good. Italian was ok and the grill was fine. Room service perversely was excellent. Cabs plentiful and cheap so location was fine but can understand why others say being closer to the centre of Kyoto would be better.

The above may sound negative but overall the Hyatt comes together as a solid and very professional experience. Despite my restaurant comments above, would definitely stay again but would not eat in. Loved the free transfer back and forth to the train station (small thing but very nice). Concierge instructions on how to find the taxi collection point could do with improvement for the non-Japanese speakers. Absence of a pool during summer was a lost opportunity for the leisure visitor.

Room Tip: Asked for a high floor room and ended up a long way from reception but in a very pleasant spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Hyatt is a low rise building conveniently located across the street from the Kyoto National Museum and virtually next door to the fantastic Sanjusangen temple. However, it is not near a subway station, although city busses stop in the street in front of the hotel and it's only several blocks walk to the Keihan private railway station. The lobby is zen-like with a high ceiling and beautiful pale wood finishes. Service is great with the General Manager even greeting guests in the lobby. Rooms are typically small with low, firm beds and a microscopic closet. Turn down service was provided nightly. Bathrooms are nicely done with the usual 4 separate areas for sink, toilet, tub, and shower. There is no pool but there is an up to date workout room buried deep in the basement as well as an expensive spa. The main restaurant serves a buffet breakfast of Japanese and Western food, and there are also a good Italian and a Japanese restaurant for dinner. Rooms only offer tea service with coffee available only outside the hotel in the morning. (I thought it was for the taxi drivers, but is apparently for everyone.) Wi-Fi is available in the rooms, but I could not use my charger in any of the electrical outlets. Rooms have mini-bars and flat screen TVs with very little available in English. The hotel does not have a Regency Club, so Hyatt Gold Passport elite members are offered breakfast in the restaurant. Overall, it's a pleasant property with a high level of service.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very nice hotel. The rooms weren't ready when we got there so we got comped lunch in the Italian restaurant. That was a nice touch and lunch was tasty. Free wifi in the hotel was appreciated. Too bad there wasn't a pool.

The rooms were very nice, a bit spare in decor but that was in keeping with the Japanese theme. Awesome bathroom and shower, very nice. Only 2 English channels on TV: CNN and BBC, and you had to change the remote to English language every time you turned the TV on or switched the channel. Oy...

The best part however was the service, excellent, from the front desk to the concierge, to the general manager Ken. We got custom sightseeing itineraries every day. They arranged an excellent local guide for a private tour. We got a great restaurant recommendation and reservation at a Kyoto Kappo style restaurant that was really excellent. Overall I can't say enough about the service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kyoto

Address: 644-2 Sanjusangendo-mawari, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 605-0941 , Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#10 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#10 Business Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Kyoto 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Priceline, Rakuten, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Kyoto Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.