We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical hotel in Kyoto, a stone throw from many world heritage sites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Miyako Kyoto to your Saves list
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Awadaguchi Kachocho, Higashiyama-ku | Sanjo Keage, Kyoto 605-0052, Kyoto Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Historical hotel in Kyoto, a stone throw from many world heritage sites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Staying at the Westin Miyako Kyoto was a real surprise especially the fantastic hospitality we received. Having been greatly disappointed at the service at the Grand Westin Berlin a few years ago, to be greeted so warmly by the staffs who accompanied us to our room and gave us courteous bow was certainly unexpected and redeemed the Westin brand somewhat. Well done to the team.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for staying with us while you were in a beautiful city, Kyoto. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay and feeling comfortable at our hotel. We appreciate for your loyalty toward to Starwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    663
    293
    72
    38
See reviews for
449
561
117
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Silicon Valley, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Its a luxury property and a good option for touring the eastern sites. The South Wing Western style room was surprisingly large compared to my previous hotel experience in Japan.

Hotel dining options had disappointingly limited menus, and we chose not to eat there. Good options for eating nearby including casual spots, which is what we chose. The concierge desk was very helpful, including understanding allergies.

Great service, and most of the staff speaks good English. The choice of this hotel really helped us truly enjoy our visit to Kyoto.

Room Tip: South Wing rooms have a view of garden/forest towards the back of property
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for staying with us while you were in a beautiful city, Kyoto coming spring very soon. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We apologize that our restaurant was not what you expected. We make our efforts on it as well as recommending good restaurants in Kyoto. Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is an excellent hotel on the edge of Kyoto with great views out over the hills. Easy to get to and it's possible to walk to may of the major sites in 20 mins- or there's a good shuttle bus. Staff are very attentive and helpful -with good English. The concierge floor is well stocked with drinks and excellent buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: try for the club/concierge floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for staying with us while you were in Kyoto coming spring soon. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for a lot of good comments. We continue to make space where guests could enjoy a relaxed and satisfying experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Didn't expect it to be as luxurious as it turned out to be for the money we spent. Amazing view over a Kyoto sunset from our balcony. Extremely clean and in fact the first hotel ever, I felt the bathroom to be so clean, I could actually sit in the bath tub and take a proper, long soak in. Never had to wrestle with our own suitcases and the shuttle bus service was free, great and effortless. The bird sanctuary was beautiful as well and the staff pleasent. The beds were really comfortable too! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for staying with us while you were in a beautiful city, Kyoto. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. There are Superior City View room and Deluxe City view room type at our hotel. The view from the room is extraordinary but also all our guest are able to access to the terrace on the 9th floor to see the beautiful landscape. Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Fuss free check-in although we would appreciate more if we can check-in earlier if there are available rooms. The hotel did please us with a free upgrade though. Very helpful and attentive staff.

The room was large (as compared to the usual Japan’s standard) with a lovely view of the Higashiyama district. The pillows was however, a little uncomfortable. The bathroom was lovely; especially the huge bathtub. We had 2 nights of good sleep.

The hotel was located at a quieter district so the shuttle bus service was really helpful. And there is a convenience store located at the basement floor which was equally helpful.

We will definitely stay here again if we visit Kyoto again and will recommend it to everyone who is considering. Reasonably priced!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for staying with us while you were in an ancient city, Kyoto. We are pleased to hear that you had a good sleep during your stay. For your comfort and good rest, all our rooms are equipped with the Heavenly Bed. Regarding early check in, if there is an available room of your reservation room type on your arrival, we will check you in . However, if not ready, we would appreciate if you could wait until check in time. We keep your baggage until your room is ready. Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, NJ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

There are a number of comments about the Westin Miyako’s location, so let me start with that. We were in Kyoto as tourists, and it was perfectly located for tourism. One day we walked north for the temples and shrines of northern Higashiyama, and took a taxi back to the hotel from the ranks waiting at Ginkakuji. Another day we took in the temples and shrines of southern Higashiyama ; for this, we took a taxi from the hotel to Kiyozimu, and walked back. In afternoons we took the nearby subway into the downtown area. The hotel is not downtown, but it’s in a fine location for tourists.

The hotel also has a short but terrific trail on the grounds. Hotel trails are usually paved and level, but this loop, about a half-kilometer loop with a bit of a tail, was not paved. There are plenty of steps going up, but not as many coming down (remember, a loop), and it’s not a bad idea to use a walking stick from the collection available at the trailhead. That there were sticks available is impressive enough.

The grounds of the trail are heavily forested, and it’s easier to see than to hear birds. But we worked what we heard – we spent an hour on the walk – and saw Japanese pygmy woodpecker, coal tit, great tit, varied tit, and Japanese white-eye by sight. We heard jungle crow. The trail also has a small shrine and three gates, and a nicely landscaped summit. The trail was one of the reasons I chose this hotel – what does one do in the morning before catching the train to Tokyo? – and it worked well.

The food was not great, and there are no obvious nearby alternatives. The first night we had udon and sake in the casual restaurant, the only restaurant open after we got settled. The udon was a bit salty, but good. Our third night at the hotel, we had the buffet in the same restaurant. It was thoroughly mediocre. The yellowtail sashimi was good, and it was interesting to taste some of the Japanese dishes (the bean paste in pounded rice desserts, for example), but there was nothing outstanding. No one asked us about beverages (water was poured automatically, and tea was part of the buffet), and we didn’t press the issue.

The second night we ate in the fine-dining restaurant, the Grand View (although that view at night is simply darkness), and had its set menu. It began with a salad that featured unsalty but uninspired anchovies. It then went to the best course of the evening, and the best single item of food we had at the hotel, duck liver over baked apple pieces. The liver was great, the apples complemented it, and the sauce brought them together. This was followed by a fish course that was acceptable but not memorable, and then the second best food from the hotel, a beautiful, tender piece of steak tenderloin. We ordered one portion medium, the other rare, but they were cooked identically. Desert was an uninteresting piece of pastry and an unexceptional ball of ice cream. We thought the wine list erred on the side of mass produced wines, and while the prices were right, we went for sake. That worked.

Our room was on an executive floor, and this entitled us to use of the executive lounge. This worked very well for us. It offers a complimentary continental breakfast (plentiful salad ingredients, something akin to but better than scrambled eggs, breads, coffee, and tea) as well as coffee in the afternoon. The lounge serves cocktails in late afternoon, but we didn’t take advantage of that.

In general, this is a fine hotel, and the trail is a real plus. The negative is the food; it’s just not good enough, and at this hotel there are no other restaurants around. Kyoto doesn’t seem to be a dining town, however, and when planning the trip I could find no better option. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the executive floor to take advantage of the executive lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for staying with us while you were in a beautiful city, Kyoto and also thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our gardens, especially Bird watching trail where you can take a stroll and enjoy the splendors of nature and its wildlife throughout all seasons. And also there are many historical sites for exploration around hotel so that it is very enjoyable and relaxing to take a walk in a greenery area outside of hotel. We regret that our dining restaurants did not meet your expectation. We will make an effort on improving our dining. There are not many restaurants around hotel but there are many great restaurants in Kyoto.Our concierge is happy to assist you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We found the staff in the executive lounge excellent and very helpful in planning our sightseeing and restaurant bookings. Given a short timetable we asked them to arrange a driver and Toshi was perfect, with very good English a great sense of humour and very informative. The rooms we stayed in was non smoking western style room and my only fault was we could not turn down the heating so slept with the window slightly open. We would stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for staying with us while you were in an ancient city, Kyoto. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with your family during your stay. However, we apologize that air conditioning was not able to turn down enough for your pleasant sleep. Thank you for your feedback. I will forward your feedback to executive lounge team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Miyako Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Address: 1 Awadaguchi Kachocho, Higashiyama-ku | Sanjo Keage, Kyoto 605-0052, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#10 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#16 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#26 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Miyako Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western-style 11-story Hotel located amid Japanese gardens, 5 miles from train station & 31 miles from Kansai Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Rakuten and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your The Westin Miyako Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Miyako Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Westin Miyako Kyoto
Westin Kyoto
Kyoto Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Miyako Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.