We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, not a very convenient location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Miyako Kyoto to your Saves list
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Awadaguchi Kachocho, Higashiyama-ku | Sanjo Keage, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 605-0052, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Chicago, IL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good hotel, not a very convenient location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel was great -- good facilities and room. However, all the 5-6 restaurants in the hotel are super expensive and there are very few eating places within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel does provide a shuttle to the city center, but with 2 small kids in tow, not super convenient to be 30 min away from city center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while you were in beautiful city in Kyoto. We are glad to hear that you had wonderful time and like our rooms and facilities. We have a play room for children "MIYABI-KUN KIDS CLUB"and also " Westin Work Out " where has indoor pool ,outdoor( until the 30th of September) pool and gym. O hotel is not in the central ( 3 minutes by subway) but instead, The are many historical sites for exploration around the hotel.
We hope we would welcome your family back when your children grow up, too !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    596
    265
    68
    34
See reviews for
394
516
106
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

First time in Kyoto and have always seen Westin Kyoto's pictures featured for Starwood Japan. Decided to book a traditional Japanese room for a different experience.

I agree with the other guests that visit this establishment. The hotel is looking aged and definitely need refurbishments not only in the rooms but in the common areas to live up to the Westin reputation.

What makes Westin Kyoto a positive experience for me is the staff, there were alot of staff around especially in the lobby and they genuinely tried their best to attend, address and deliver an expected Westin / Starwood experience. People is always what makes the business a difference between a single disappointing stay or a returning guest.

Only feedback apart from what has been mentioned by other recent guests is better shuttle services - Increased frequencies, increased pick-up/drop-off points and there was no information on this service and I only found out by chance coming from another Japanese Starwood hotel.

When I arrived at Kyoto station, I could not locate where the shuttle service was meant to stop. Not sure why Westin Kyoto decide to host a different pick-up point vs. other major hotels (which I only found out where it was when I checked-out and used the service to get to Kyoto station).

Room Tip: Book a traditional Japanese room if you want to experience a traditional Japanese lodging without mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Westin Miyako Kyoto. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the experience of staying Japanese rooms which are equipped with the Heavenly Futon. As you mentioned, a part of our hotel need to be refurbished. We have been working on it by turn. Regarding our complimentary shuttle bus, it is also the issue we have been working on for guests to find the bus stop at Kyoto station easier. We will consider changing the map on our website again. Thank you for your feedback. We hope we would welcome come you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our honeymoon and really enjoyed this hotel! The service was impeccable, and the lactation is great (right next to the subway). We were upgraded to a room with a balcony and fantastic views. We got a complimentary honeymoon cake and access to their deluxe happy hour on the 10th floor. There is a free shuttle to and from the train station. We couldn't find it when we arrived, but we took it back to the station when we departed. Only complaint is that our room smelled faintly of smoke even though it was on a smoke-free floor.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kozue F, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing for The Westin Miyako Kyoto for your honeymoon.
We believe that you had wonderful time in an ancient city, Kyoto.
However, we apologize for the smell of smoke in your room and make you uncomfortable to be relaxed.It was not enough management of the status of the room. We hope we would welcome you back next anniversary to be relaxed more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the hotel. It was all correct. We were properly taken care without any major point to remark. The room was big, speccially for the japanese average. The point is that for a Westin in Kyoto, we expected to be dazzled and we were just ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kozue F, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us for 5 nights while you were in Kyoto. We regret that we could not welcome you as much as you expected or more than that during your stay. We will make our efforts more and our service will be inspired to be your best at Westin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed there with family in July. It was overall a great experience. The room and bathroom are outdated since it is a hotel with history (not the usual Westin), but the bed is comfy. The hotel has a nice Japanese garden that you can talk to. Location is not right in the city center, it was fine for us because we were in a tour group. Staff was helpful. My favourite thing about this Westin is their buffet breakfast. Wide varieties of different breakfast items from Western, Japanese to Chinese, and they are all very excellent. Would come back for the breakfast..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kozue F, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us while you were in an ancient city, Kyoto.We are glad to hear that our Heavenly beds,the international and Japanese buffet and gardens delight you during your stay. We have a couple of beautiful gardens we are proud of.One of them is Kasui-en Garden which was that Jihei Ogawa's first son, Hakuyo,created this often photographed garden in 1960. It emphasizes the use of large rocks in its center, together with running water. The white sand portion is a reproduction of the garden inside Kyoto's own Daigo-Sampo-in Temple. We hope we could welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I stayed here for 3 nights as part of our JTB Sunrise 9-day tour and would have to say it was the worse hotel we stayed in for the entire tour.

I was a little disappointed. Arrived for check-in around 8pm after coming by bullet-train from Tokyo and then doing a half-day tour of Nara.

By that time we were quite tired and hungry. After checking our luggage in we asked the concierge for some information on any nearby eateries. She gave us a map and was quick to dismiss us as she was more concerned about counting monies. Not a very good first impression and unfortunately, that is what lead me to write this review.

You want to make your clients feel welcomed and feel free to ask you some questions about your beautiful city that they have been in for 2 minutes. You don't want them to feel as though they are a nuisance and disrupting your work routine.

Apart from that the check-in staff and the porters were very good which is why I scored service a 3 and not a 1.

The hotel itself seemed it once was the epitome of hotels in kyoto...in the 1970's. If you looked long enough you could see that there was definitely a glamorous element long ago but it does need some refurbishment.

The rooms were of a decent size compared to normal Japenese standards but again was the smallest room out of all the hotels we stayed at whilst in Japan.

There were not enough wall sockets/power points in the rooms also.

Good location if you are planning to visit temples nearby.

If you want to walk around at night and get dinner, find a hotel closer to Gion.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us while you were in an ancient city, Kyoto. We sincerely apologize for the attitude of concierge when you asked information for restaurant. I told them your feedback. We will improve our service and make an effort to welcome guests more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is quiet and relaxing.

Trade-off is the transportation convenience (shuttle bus free to/from KYOTO train station).

There is one subway station within 3 minutes walk but still takes some time to get you to popular spots in Kyoto.

Room Tip: rooms are all fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing The Westin Miyako Kyoto.
There are many historical sites for exploration around the hotel, such as Nazenji Temple and Heian Shrine. To access to the central city, our complimentary shuttle bus drops you off at the central of Kyoto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Miyako Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Address: 1 Awadaguchi Kachocho, Higashiyama-ku | Sanjo Keage, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 605-0052, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#5 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#16 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#30 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Miyako Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western-style 11-story Hotel located amid Japanese gardens, 5 miles from train station & 31 miles from Kansai Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Miyako Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Miyako Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Westin Miyako Kyoto
Westin Kyoto
Kyoto Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Miyako Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.