We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK place but a bit out of the way for us” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Miyako Kyoto to your Saves list
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Awadaguchi Kachocho, Higashiyama-ku | Sanjo Keage, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 605-0052, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An OK place but a bit out of the way for us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Miyako for 4 nights in October 2012. The hotel was recommended to us by our travel agent and we were a little disappointed by it.

The hotel itself feels quite glamorous based on first impressions of the lobby and check-in areas. It is a very large hotel and is used for weddings, conferences, and plenty of business travellers. There were also numerous restaurants in the hotel too, all very expensive. We were travelling as a couple in Japan on holidays, so in many ways it felt like it didn't cater for us too well.

The room was a non-smoking superior room on the 5th floor. It faced the internal courtyard/garden which was nice. The room itself was average and a bit dated. If we weren't paying so much for the hotel it wouldn't have mattered but we were paying a premium here! We had also just come from a cheaper yet more modern hotel in Tokyo which didn't help.

The main problem we felt was that the hotel was a bit out of the way of many things we wanted to see. We like to walk around and explore and discover things not in guide books and not on everyone else's travel checklists. So it was probably a bit far out of the town centre for our liking. For those who like to be shuttled around or rely heavily on the local trains, the hotel is next to the Keage subway station making a direct trip into the city centre reasonably quick. The hotel also has a shuttle bus to and from the main Kyoto train station. It can drop guests off at set points along its route which is also handy for many.

We didn't have too much interaction with the staff though check-in was smooth and staff in the lobby were polite and attentive when approached.

Overall the Miyako was an OK hotel but from our experience not suited to everyone. Best probably for business travellers or maybe older couples, families or groups travelling together, as it's very much a westerner's hotel too. Younger couples, independent travellers, or those who like to stay closer to the action might want to look elsewhere as there is plenty of choice in beautiful Kyoto.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    596
    265
    68
    34
See reviews for
394
516
106
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Center
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
170 hotel reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Dated 1890, the Miyako Hotel (I mean today's depandance with Japanese Style rooms and zen garden and bird watch park) can transport you in the age of early '900 travellers. You still can get the modern comforts of breakfast, restaurants, spa of the main building (probably a bit dated). Very kind personell at the reception, very efficient Concierge, practical shuttle bus to the station, with 2 intermediate stops in Gion area. Breakfast with all you'd expect. Location is superb, as it lays on the east-hill of Kyoto, in the middle of a north-south path for temples-watching.
Only note for western travellers is to beware of backpain when staying in a ryokan style room: we're not used to low tables, floor-lying bags etc.
Overall, this was my 4th Westin (after Fort Lauderdale, Berlin, Pune) and can say that it had fine flavour of history thanks to the old Miyako house. Probably the rest of the structure may not give the same excellent experience.
Note: the bird watching park and the 2 separate gardens must be visited as soon as you arrive, to introduce you in the atmosphere of the Miyako hotel. Also a shrine is included.

Room Tip: Get a Japanese style room and do experience Kyoto-living!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Fabulous location and views. Courtesy bus to the station and a couple of metros along the way. Walking distance from the Gion district. Nice big rooms. Very helpful concierge staff. We were already pre checked in and were handed key cards and breakfast vouchers on the bus

The food is decent, but over priced. You are better off having breakfast there and eating meals while out in the city

Nothing to complain about

Room Tip: Some rooms are far from the elevator. Try to choose a room with city views and closer to the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you're headed to Kyoto and need to stay at a Starwood hotel, you have two options: either stay here at the Westin, or book at stay in nearby Osaka and take the train in for a day or two. This Westin is certainly not up to chain standards, with dated rooms, mediocre staff, and an absolutely terrible bed.

+ Buffet breakfast is decent
+ Executive floor guests get free drinks and snacks each evening

- Bed is terribly uncomfortable -- not a Sweet Sleep, for sure
- Suites are small and dated
- Concierge wasn't terribly helpful
- There always seemed to be a line at check-in
- Hotel is not centrally located (you need to take a taxi/shuttle/subway to get anywhere of interest)

Room Tip: Junior suites with a capital "J"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Being a SPG Gold had me look for a Starwood hotel in Kyoto, and we were very happy with our stay at this Westin. This is a huge and renovated hotel northwest of central Kyoto. Location is good, but a bit far for my taste, its about 15 minutes to downtown Kyoto by subway (station by the hotel) and a touch far from all the main sites. The hotel shuttle is fantastic though. Check-in was in a flash, and got a very large King room with a great view. Bathroom was large and spotless, with tons of toiletries. Sleep quality was outstanding. Wifi in the lobby was excellent and enough for us. Fitness facilities and pool are good, for a fee, which honestly, I wouldn't dare to charge to hotel guests. Dinner buffet is great, totally worth every cent, if you want to spend about 50 USD per person. Although English sometimes is a but of a problem (stange for a US Chain hotel) staff is extremely nice and willing to help in every way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here in a standard western room (5033) and 2 other nights in Kyoto in a beautiful old ryokan.

The service was excellent which seems to be standard across Japan. The hotel was nice and clean. It was a fairly long walk to the room from the lifts, not a problem for us but could be annoying fr some. The room itself was a standard hotel room with reasonable facilities and a nice but small bathroom. We had wifi in our room free (though maybe because of being spg members). The main frustration with the room was the lighting. In order to read in bed you had to have the main light on which was did not make for a relaxing atmosphere because the bedside lamps were very very dim. It sounds small but it was more annoying than I would have thought!

The location wa good for walking along th old cobbled streets up to kiyomizu temple, a lovely walk, highly recommended. There was a shuttle every 30 mins to the train station which also stopped at a couple of convenient spots for going into the city. Be aware the shuttle doesn't start until 8am so when we wanted to catch a slightly earlier train we had to take a taxi (about 1500 yen).

Overall a pleasant stay in a fairly standard hotel totally western style. Stay here if you want a familiar place to stay but if you really want to get the proper experience of Japan stay in a ryokan - amazing!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I decided to pay the extra for the Japanese room in Westin Kyoto and it's well worth it. you can still get the 5 star services with peace of mind but experience the Roykan style.

room is spacious and almost like home. i am at Yuki 7 which is facing the garden. lovely view and very quite. the japanese room are in the annex and have it's own garden.

the location of he hotel is a bit far from action but compensated but a free shuttle that run every 30 mins. it stops at Gion and JR station.

wifi is free and super fast. overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Miyako Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Address: 1 Awadaguchi Kachocho, Higashiyama-ku | Sanjo Keage, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 605-0052, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#5 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#16 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#30 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Miyako Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western-style 11-story Hotel located amid Japanese gardens, 5 miles from train station & 31 miles from Kansai Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Miyako Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Miyako Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Westin Miyako Kyoto
Westin Kyoto
Kyoto Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Miyako Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.