We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sugicho

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sugicho to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sugicho
3.0 of 5 Ryokan   |   172 Moriyamacho, Oike-agaru, Tominokoji, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 604-0953, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 192 Kyoto B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We arrive in the evening and the night counterstaff has limited English capability but he was very helpful. The directions to the ryokan was vague at best and being in a sidestreet make it dfficult to find. So, you must come up from the right exit and it is really 5 minutes walk. The room is big and clean - love the smell of the tatami. The breakfast (we had both Western and Japanese) and they were great! The public bath was nice too. The receptionist were all very helpful. In the daytime, and once you got your orientation, the location could not be better especially going to Hijo Castle, Ryoanji and the Golden Pavilion. It is also close to Shinpukun and Daimaru.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    27
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
17
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kyoto, Japan
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed 3 nights in this lovely ryokan and it does not disappoint !
Its rather far from Kyoto Station but very close to Imperial palace, Teramachi Street (covered shopping street) and the kyoto International Manga Museum
Rooms are very nice, clean, and you will find hair dryer fridge water boiler and green tea for free.
The staff is also very nice and helpful, available 24/7

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

I stayed at the hotel sugicho in Kyoto for two nights during a trip around japan in July. Before I start my review of the hotel itself I must first comment on the worst aspect of my stay there, which was the location. The hotel guidelines say it is a 5 minute walk from the subway station but there is no mention of which direction to go and the hotel isn't on any of the maps in the subway station. It is also located in an area with hundreds of tiny backallys that all look exactly the same so expect to get lost quite easily. After searching for what seemed like forever I finally admitted defeat and got in a taxi and even the driver had trouble locating it even though it was just minutes away. Now my room a single Japanese style room with en suite was a mixed bag. I did enjoy the experience of staying in a Japanese room and it was very spacious but there was signs of mold on some of the doors and I found two wood-lice sharing the room with me. Because of the location and cleanliness issues I cannot recommend this hotel but if you do end up here it is an Ok place for a brief no frills stay, just make sure the bed bugs don't bite.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

We had to stay at this ryokan hotel for 1 night as the other ryokan we will be shifting to was full for that day. Hotel was not easy to find and the lobby looked dated. When our room door was opened, a musky smell rushed out to greet us and goose pimples started to appear on my arms. Had one of the worst sleepless nights during my trip and we hurried to check out by 7am the following morning.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

It took me quite a while to find this hotel as the directions were a little unclear. The reception staff were polite but not particularly friendly.

My room was a traditional Japanese style room and was clean, spacious and quiet. The actual hotel could probably do with being updated but is fine. The baths are located in the basement - separate male and female and also a bit rundown but again clean.

I probably wouldn't recommend staying at this hotel for a traditional Japanese room experience - try to find a family-run ryokan maybe.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

Hotel Sugicho is not a ryokan, but our room was Japanese style. Everything was clean and very pleasant. (Rooms were nicer than the corridors, which felt a bit dated.) There are shared baths downstairs - not the prettiest, but did the job. Location was quiet and fairly convenient for buses and in a good area, being just at the top of one of the main malls in Kyoto. Staff were lovely, and there is good internet available. We also had dinner in our room - this was a nice experience. Again perhaps not the most amazing of dinners of that style, but certainly interesting. All in all, good value for money. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

I am a vegetarian, so I opted for the "no meal" option, unsure of what I would be able to eat otherwise anyway. But to my great surprise, didn't find a single amenity in the hotel room (ok, toothbrush I can live without, but I have stopped packing towels). Imagine trying to inquire why there are no sundries when staff speaks little to no english. Got charged extra 500 yen for two towels.

The onsen (public bath) wasn't that great either. And neither was the location (be prepared to walk almost 1km from the bus stop).

Now the positives - room indeed was cute (my first experience with japanese style rooms). And the hotel is close to a big market, good for shopping. And it was cheap (compared to Tokyo anyway).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sugicho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sugicho

Address: 172 Moriyamacho, Oike-agaru, Tominokoji, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 604-0953, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sugicho 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A value-for-money Japanese-style inn with private rooms located in the heart of Kyoto. Internet PCs in lobby. Surrounded in a quiet environment, it has a good access to both business district and tourist attraction. Offer seasonal Kyoto-style course dinner upon request. Its original sea bream pot is a popular dish. Sit back and relax in a Japanese room and enjoy the traditional cuisine. All guest rooms are air-conditioned with a TV and a fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Rakuten, HostelWorld, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sugicho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sugicho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.