We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommendable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nishiyama Ryokan

Save Saved
You added Nishiyama Ryokan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nishiyama Ryokan
3.5 of 5 Ryokan   |   433 Gokomachi St, Nakagyo-ku,, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 604-0933, Japan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 192 Kyoto B&B and Inns
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommendable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed for three nights in January 2013 and Nishiyama Ryokan was definitely a key element en helping us enjoying a real Japanese cultural experience during our stay. Not to miss: the lobby events. Thanks a lot!

Room Tip: Choose Japanese style rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, オーナー at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
thank you for staying at nishiyama ryokan
see you next time
thank you

nishiyama ryokan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    83
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
43
97
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed here a few years ago as a single traveler, and this time I came back (from Jan. 2-5) with my boyfriend.
We had a lovely, lovely stay here. I loved all the little touches, such as a calligraphy demonstration and instruction for the New Year, tea ceremony every morning and the explanations for traditional decor. They were also kind enough to post my postcards for me.
The rooms seem to have expanded hugely in the years since I've visited. The rooms were very luxurious, and I thought the bathrooms in the rooms were adequately sized. But if you love hot tubs, you should definitely visit their public bath in the basement -- it's SO relaxing! I'd been too scared to try it the last time I stayed but now I'm more comfortable in this setting.
The hotel staff was great. They helped us a lot, calling restaurants to see if they were open, making reservations for us, pointing out places of interest on the map. The hotel is located in a wonderful neighborhood, within walking distance of top-quality restaurants. This is a great place to stay, and such a good value, too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, オーナー at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
thank you for staying at nishiyama ryokan
see you next time
thank you

nishiyama ryokan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at the Nishiyama Ryokan for 3 nights from 27/12/12-30/12/12. We loved this hotel and chose it as we wanted to have a traditional stay in a Ryokan, sleeping on a Tatami Mat. The staff were all so friendly and we loved the cultural evening - it's a must! Ask the girls to show you some great places to eat and drink after too. The hotel is difficult to find at first so be sure to do your research. When you finally work out where you are, it's a great location but bring your walking shoes. Get involved and use the public bath too, it's very relaxing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with your own bathroom to give you options
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, オーナー at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
thank you for staying at nishiyama ryokan.
see you next time

nishiyama ryokan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Spent time with my girlfriend here and we had a lovely time. Staff were thoroughly helpful and room was clean and comfortable. The onsen was really comfortable as well. Location was convenient and easy to get around. Even had a 24 hours Family Mart round the corner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, オーナー at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
thank you for staying st nishiyama ryokan
see you next time
thank you

nishiyama ryokan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

If you don't care about 'onsen(thermal spring)' that much, this ryokan is the best in kyoto.
Nishiyama ryokan has a good location,
Clean & Great Japanese traditional designed room,
And sincere services.

I want to stay this ryokan again.
Even if Ryokan doesn't have onsen(thermal spring) service.
But that doesn't matter at all.
Cause this ryokan has more than that.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, オーナー at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
thank you very much for staying at nishiyama ryokan
see you next time

nishiyama ryokan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My daughter and I were going to stay at three different ryokans while we spent a week for New Years in Kyoto. But once we were in Kyoto, we chose to stay only at the family-owned Nishiyama Ryokan because the we got the best experience for our money. We were enchanted by the affordable multi-course Japanese breakfasts served by the sweetest, kindest women in kimonos.

The public (divided) men's and women's bath downstairs was steamy hot and had a beatiful view of a rock garden outside. Importantly, it is in a great location to train stations for easy sightseeing, and the lobby is like a big living room, with a room off the side with tables for games and checking emails.

We had reserverations at Matsubaya Inn, but it was far away from the Gion district, and it was more like a youth hostel. We also had reservations for our last night at Shiraume Ryokan, right in the middle of the Gion district. It was quite expensive, and since we were there for a week, we chose to save the money and get a few more souvenirs. Since the Gion district was a 5 - 10 minute walk from Nishiyama, we had the best of both worlds.

The family had a calligraphy demonstration over New Years, done on a piece of paper that was 15 feet by 15 feet, and done with a brush as big as a kindergarten child. The New Years breakfasts were stunningly beautiful, and something we'll never forget. The guests and owners played a Japanese game on New Years, which got us all laughing.

Room Tip: My daughter and I chose to stay in a traditional room with futons on the floor. The first room we st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, オーナー at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
thank you very much for staying at nishiyama ryokan.
and
thank you for many photos.
many thanks
see you next time

nishiyama ryokan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

For the price we expected much more of this ryokan. While the service was solid, the rooms and food were lackluster. Our western room was spacious, but the carpets were littered with stains and the walls were scratched up and showing signs of wear. The bathroom was a beige bust, ranking right up there with my Scottish university hall toilet (which was located in a building modled after a Swedish mental institution). Even the zori (sandals worn inside the room) looked sad in this dimly lit dump. We had the traditional breakfast and the kaiseki meals, at substantial extra cost, and both were uninspired and bland. Where we expected carefully plotted, refined dishes, we were instead provided with bento-box-like consolidated courses. The presentation and quality totally sapped the life out of a supposedly vibrant experience.

Seeking disappointment and an empty wallet? Stay at the Nishiyama. My advice--spend some extra cash and spring for a night at the seemingly luxurious Hiiragiya Ryokan, tauntingly located right across the street.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. Find a room in the Hiiragiya Ryokan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nishiyamahotel, オーナー at Nishiyama Ryokan, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
thank you for staying at nishiyama ryokan.
but we are very sorry that your unsatistaction,very sorry.
and we will change and try for your satisfaction.
and we will change and renew western room carpet and so on.
but our guest rooms bath is small,sorry.we can not renew guest rooms bath size becausethere are no space in guestroom.
we have public bath,if you can,we want every guests have public bath.
because this is big.
thank you
see you next time

nishiyama ryokan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nishiyama Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nishiyama Ryokan

Address: 433 Gokomachi St, Nakagyo-ku,, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 604-0933, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nishiyama Ryokan 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NISHIYAMA RYOKAN is small japanese style hotel.more than 2000 visitors from around the world stay with each year.plese enjoy traditional japanese culture at very reasonable rates.thank you in advance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Rakuten and Expedia so you can book your Nishiyama Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nishiyama Ryokan Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nishiyama Ryokan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.