We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front desk service was nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ark Hotel Kyoto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ark Hotel Kyoto to your Saves list
Ark Hotel Kyoto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Mibu Gayogoshomachi, Nakagyo-ku | Omiya Nishi-iru Shijo St., Kyoto 604-8811, Kyoto Prefecture (Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #155 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Front desk service was nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

While the room was tiny, smoky and hot, fortunately, the weather outside was pleasant and we were able to sleep with the window open in March. One lady at the front desk spoke enough English to get by and was very helpful with giving directions via the bus. As we experienced in Osaka, wifi was limited to none. This was very shocking to us for a very modern country. It is very close to the Kawaramachi area where most of the hustle and bustle is and where we spent most of our time. It's a long walk, but it is walkable, as well as, convenient by bus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    46
    31
    6
    0
See reviews for
24
18
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, HI
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Good service, the staff spoke minimal English (seemed like this was the case all over Kyoto). Beds were cardboard hard. Pillows were nice. Great location-- five minute walk to the trains. McDonalds, grocery stores and a few restaurants all within a walking distance. We had four rooms. Room on the fourth floor was non-smoking, but the hallways smelled of cigarettes. Very disappointing. No wireless except in the lounge. Free internet in the rooms. Kinda reminded me of Motel 6's in the states. Had old-style keys. Just a no-frills hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

For Japan, this hotel is a tad shabby but it is clean (of course!) and centrally located on several central bus lines and well positioned for sight-seeing by bus. The staff doesn't speak English and the internet access is problematic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APO AE
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed here for 4 days. The rooms smelt like a bar, the linens were clean but like paper, and the bathroom was clean and maintained with toiletries. this is no 3 star hotel by any standard it's a far walk to everything to see and train that runs next to hotel is a line that does not connect to anywhere useful. By 7am all breakfast was gone and staff did not refill. Close to grocery and dollar store but not a good location for site seeing.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

The hotel's location is great. It's accessible by subway and train. Several bus lines are also nearby. There's a Mcdonald's, super market, drug store, 嵐電 station, 四條大宮 subway station, even a post office nearby. The room is OK. It's clean buy twin room is kinda small for 3 people. Wired Internet connection is FREE. The airport limousine bus stop is 3 mins walk away (in front of Mcdonald's).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

My husband and I traveled to Japan with our 3 year-old daughter. Finding reasonably priced hotel rooms in Japan large enough to sleep two adults plus the floorspace to put an inflatable toddler mattress was not so easy. Then I saw the review by another family about the Ark Hotel, so I thought I'd give it a try. The rate was quite reasonable, so I was apprehensive about what we'd get. Well, the room was nice. Not the fanciest or most modern room I've ever been in, but it had a double bed, desk and nightstand, small table and two chairs, fridge and TV. It had sufficient floorspace to put a toddler mattress, and most importantly, it was clean. The staff were friendly (that's sort of a given in Japan), although we were surprised at how little English is spoken in Kyoto (that's true for the whole city, not just the hotel).

We had the Japanese breakfast one morning, and while my husband liked it, I preferred the Tully's 2 blocks down the main road. The area is mixed commercial and residential, so there's a real grocery store a few blocks away, and also plenty of restaurants. With a small kid in tow, the grocery store was a lifesaver!

We never bothered with the bus. If you don't have too much luggage, it's about a 15-20 minute walk from the train station to the hotel. Since we sent our luggage ahead (Japan has an overnight luggage delivery service which is *definitely* the way to go if you can - any hotel can arrange it for you), we found the hotel to be a nice walk from the station. On the way back to the train station we took a taxi and it was less than ~$20 (worth it to not haul our luggage around).

I would certainly stay at the Ark Hotel again. They have good specials on their website, and a multi-night stay can cost well under $100 a night, even for a family.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ark Hotel Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ark Hotel Kyoto

Address: 1 Mibu Gayogoshomachi, Nakagyo-ku | Omiya Nishi-iru Shijo St., Kyoto 604-8811, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ark Hotel Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Rakuten and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Ark Hotel Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Ark Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ark Hotel Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.