We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lower on the list of places to see in Kyoto” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arashiyama

Arashiyama
Togetsukyo, Saga, Ukyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 616-8383, Japan
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$78*
and up
Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour
Ranked #8 of 396 Attractions in Kyoto
Type: Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Arashiyama is a small town on the Oi River. Its moon-crossing bridge, Togetsu-kyo, is a beautiful, much-beloved wooden structure. Arishiyama also has Tenryu-ji temple, one of the 14 World Heritage Sites in Kyoto.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
135 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Lower on the list of places to see in Kyoto”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

A bit out of the way. Has some nice views of the river and the bamboo grove is a nice walk. I was disappointed however with the temples; it gets tedious after a while to pay 500 yen each time you want to see one. I’m not questioning their beauty or cultural value but unless one is a student of Shinto-Buddhism, Japanese History, or Architecture they all sort of start to blur together and I was left with the feeling that I was paying over and over to see the same thing.

That’s my personal limitation and I don’t begrudge the fact that it costs money to maintain these spaces and a good way to provide that money is for people to pay for the privilege of visiting. But for the casual temple goer I think it makes the most sense to visit a few highlight temples and then spend time seeing and doing other things around Kyoto.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    963
    646
    138
    23
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Elusive Inner peace”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Arashiyama is six stops away from Kyoto on a local JR stopping train; ask for directions at Kyoto terminus to get to the right platform. The scenic railway terminus is beside JR Arashiyama station. The famous bamboo grove is about 15 minutes walk away through the small town, and is an impressive sight, but it's hard to experience inner peace, or get a decent photo, with the constant, foot, rickshaw and bicycle traffic. Early mornings may be the only quiet time to really appreciate the grove.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Touristy Retreat/Day Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Arashiyama is a pretty little area that has a distinct tourist retreat feel. There's little shops and restaurants along the main street from the river to the bamboo grove. We enjoyed a relaxing walk through the bamboo grove and the quiet, relaxed vibe of the area. It was way too hot to see the monkeys or for a boat ride on the river, but still worth spending a half day in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Place to Go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I love this place, You see posters in almost every store that has "I love Arashiyama" and I agree. Sit by the river enjoying the sites and a beer!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maizuru, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Arashiyama Monkey Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Arashiyama Monkey Park is a hidden gem. There are about 140 monkeys living in this area. You can watch the wild Japanese monkeys in their natural habitat. Those with walking limitations may have a problem with the 20 minute steep hike up to the park.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arashiyama also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Arashiyama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arashiyama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.