We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything closes at 5:00 PM” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arashiyama

Arashiyama
Togetsukyo, Saga, Ukyo-ku, Kyoto 616-8383, Kyoto Prefecture
Improve this listing
Visit Arashiyama like an insider
Top Rated
$76*
and up
Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour
Ranked #2 of 19 Outdoor Activities in Kyoto
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Arashiyama is a small town on the Oi River. Its moon-crossing bridge, Togetsu-kyo, is a beautiful, much-beloved wooden structure. Arishiyama also has Tenryu-ji temple, one of the 14 World Heritage Sites in Kyoto.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Everything closes at 5:00 PM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I arrived in Kyoto at 3 PM and took a quick trip out here. Essentially it was a mistake. Everything was closed by 5 o'clock, and it was nearly deserted. I only found a few restaurants, and they were pricey.

The bamboo forest was still neat in the evening. All the temples and gardens were shut, so I couldn't see anything. I did take a nice riverside walk towards a zen temple (past where the trail to the monkey park is), which was quite nice. The temple was shut, however, by the time I arrived (just past 5).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,078
    715
    155
    25
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice place, but crowded and you can find better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is one of those rare instances where the photos in the guide book are actually cooler than seeing the real thing. I'm glad that we ended up here on accident due to a stoppage on the rail lines going into Kyoto, since I would have been pretty disappointed if we had made a special trip to see this. I've seen many other small (but roughly equivalent) bamboo forests in shrine and temple areas around Kyoto - such as Ginkaku-ji (silver pavilion) - that can give you a similar feeling with far fewer crowds and an overall more enriching experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Bamboo Forest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

That whole area is really hot in summer, but worth the trip, although the bamboo forest is not extensive. We did not explore deeper to the other temples because it was really too hot. Also visit the Togetsukyo Bridge when you are in the area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Street souvenir shops, music box museum, bamboo forest was nice even in summer, food sold along the streets, etc. Nice place. Worth an afternoon here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

So glad we made our way to this beautiful bamboo grove, the photos you take unfortunately will not be able to capture the magic of this place but definitely go and have a look because it is absolutely gorgeous. We also visited the garden at the top of the path which belonged to a famous silent actor and that was also very nice!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arashiyama also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Arashiyama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arashiyama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.