We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“further out of town, but worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arashiyama

Arashiyama
Togetsukyo, Saga, Ukyo-ku, Kyoto 616-8383, Kyoto Prefecture
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$76*
and up
Arashiyama and Sagano Morning Walking Tour
Ranked #8 of 405 Attractions in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,803 Reviews
Type: Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Arashiyama is a small town on the Oi River. Its moon-crossing bridge, Togetsu-kyo, is a beautiful, much-beloved wooden structure. Arishiyama also has Tenryu-ji temple, one of the 14 World Heritage Sites in Kyoto.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“further out of town, but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Another great location, there are some great shops around the bus station, make sure you sample the local sweets. There is a shop next to the train/funicular that sells vegetable sweets, a local delicacy and a must buy.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    983
    655
    139
    23
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Peaceful and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Arashimaya is a pretty section of Kyoto which I found peaceful and relaxing during my visit. The few attractions like the stunning bamboo grove, Tenryu-ji and other temples and shrines makes for good exploring in the area. I liked the traditional Japanese buildings in the area - somewhat atmospheric.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“A day trip during your stay in Kyoto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Arashiyama is only a short trip out of Kyoto but with lots to do there, I suggest you give yourself a day to enjoy it properly.

It is famous for the bamboo forest which is a nice walk from the station and there are also more temples, a monkey park and of course lots of food and shopping options.

It has a bit more of a country side feel.

The best things to do for me where the tourist train and the river rafting. I didn't know about the rafting so we didn't have time to do it but the train is only 25 minutes each way and was worth doing. It's an old steam train type experience and runs along a stunning river so well worth it. If you can only get standing tickets one way that's fine, the view is just as good and its a short trip.

The rafting is along the same river and it really is beautiful and I wish we had time to do it. You can train one way, raft the other, walk bits and mix it up he way you like from what I can tell

I recommend you get tickets from Kyoto station to avoid the queue, you might even be able to get the river rafting tickets as well.

If you have enough time, check this place out.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Must-see place, along the river and with an impressive bamboo grove. Totally recommend the hike to the monkey park, for kids above all, but not only. The view from up there is amazing.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Bamboo path was the best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We got to Arashiyama early and got to walk through the bamboo path and the park without many people. There are some neat parks and temples around this area. The bamboo path was definitely worth a visit!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arashiyama also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Arashiyama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arashiyama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.