We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first time in Kyoto” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Side Hotel

Save Saved
You added Palace Side Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palace Side Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Oukakuencho, Kamigyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 602-8011, Japan (Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 141 hotels in Kyoto
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“first time in Kyoto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

so if you're in japan and want to visit the old Japan, kyoto is the place. it is truly marvelous and beautiful to see. finding a place is difficult because there are traditional places that tempt you. if you dont need the touristy experience of lodging -- make it simple by staying here. The accommodation is almost equivalent to courtyard Marriott. It's few blocks from the main cross section off the subway exit and right across from the imperial palace. It's quiet and not too busy.

the service is wonderful! also, make sure to pick up the bus and subway card that allows you to travel anywhere in kyoto... you can literally see many things in one day and the hotel's location couldn't be better. it's super close to a lot of things and BEST OF ALL again -- convenient from the subway station! the prices were average and didn't break my wallet.

If you're looking for something "experience Japan" kind of thing, prepare to spend a lot more here, but basic lodging, roomy showers, and clean bed and all -- this is it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    95
    29
    6
    1
See reviews for
33
68
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great central location across from the Kyoto Imperial Palace, and only a couple minutes walk to the subway and bus stop, which is crucial for getting around Kyoto. As others have mentioned, the staff was wonderful - very friendly and helpful. My husband and I had a twin room with a sofa. We found the room to be very comfortable. The beds are a bit firm, but I feel that's fairly standard for hotels in Japan. The bathroom was fine - it wasn't anything fancy and it was small, but it did the job. There was a small mini-fridge in the room that could be plugged in and used.

We decided last minute to take the train to Kyoto one of last weekends to see the fall colors, so we knew our hotel options would be limited. We lucked out by getting room at the Palace Side Hotel. I think even with more option we'd stay here again. It's a great value for the money, and a great place to rest and relax in between seeing all the sights Kyoto has to offer.

Room Tip: Not room related, but a tip: We were there for the weekend so we purchased a two-day subway/bus pass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Most hotels have lousy lighting in the room, often making it difficult to read. My room in the Palace Side had the best lighting of any hotel I have ever visited. The room was small, but they managed to squeeze the normal amenities into the small space. I had a small chest of drawers, which other guests told me they lacked, maybe because I had a single room. The temperature control worked well. The shower was adequate for me, and I appreciated the delightful Japanese toilet seat. I also enjoyed the fridge for cooling my sake. There were two small elevators that were fast and responsive. The staff were courteous and responsive, and most spoke good English. I did not, however, enjoy the food in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a chest of drawers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Large room, but absolutely unusable bathroom. I had to shower standing sideways because there wasn't enough room for me to shower otherwise. I used the lobby bathroom as much as possible and contemplated visiting the public bathhouse down the street. The furniture and room needed some attention-- very old and worn. The bathroom was clean, but the carpet was disgusting. Luckily we had some disposable slippers from our previous hotel that we used.

Even though the hotel advertised room temp control, it's not quite correct. Once they flip the switch to heat, you can no longer cool your room. Only heat it. My husband and I were really hot the first couple of days, and then a cold front moved in so we finally got comfortable without having to open the window (which has no screen).

The worst part is that the hotel is located by a hospital and a fire station. Three of the four nights we were there there were no fewer than three emergency vehicles blazing their sirens in the middle of the night. I didn't get much sleep.

The hotel staff was helpful and spoke English well. The Fresco down the street is pretty nice and the laundry facilities were great.

The free Wi-Fi in the lobby worked well, but hotel computers are full of malware. Despite advertisement, there is no in-room safe and having to drop the key off at the front desk is irritating.

I can't recommend this place and won't stay here again. My husband and I were counting down the nights until we left.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Central hotel with very spacious rooms, located next to the garden of Kyoto Imperial Palace, 5 minutes walk from the bus station and Marutamachi metro station. Large foyer with two free internet terminals. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed in the Palace Side Hotel for almost a week to attend a conference, followed by some sightseeing around Kyoto (I had seen most of Kyoto already during my first visit). The room was clean, and although small (for Western standards, for Japanese standards it was probably above average) big enough to be comfortable. The hotel has free internet (wifi only in lobby), a restaurant with decent prized meals and the staff spoke adequate English. You can get a Y 100 discount on the good breakfast buffet if you buy your ticket the day before.

Although the hotel is next to the Imperial Palace, it is not close to most major sights inside Kyoto (which didn't matter to me as I already seen those). There are also not many restaurants on walking distance. However, it is within 5 min. walking of the subway, which was very convenient for me. Close to the subway station is also a 7/11 with an ATM, in case you run out of cash.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Nice modern reception area, with free wifi. Shame the rooms hadn’t been maintained to the same standard: ours was distinctly outdated, and a more than a little tired, in terms of both decor and furnishings.

The location was okay - not far from the subway. We walked to the centre quite happily in the evenings, but it’s not close, and we’re probably more inclined to walk than the average hotel guest. That it’s next to the Imperial Palace isn’t really much use for anything - most of the sights are on the other side of the city.

It was the best option we could find on a public holiday weekend, and there’s probably a reason that it was available. It was fine, but I’m sure in other circumstances you could do better.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palace Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Side Hotel

Address: 380 Oukakuencho, Kamigyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 602-8011, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Kyoto
#22 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palace Side Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Rakuten, Venere and Otel so you can book your Palace Side Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Side Kyoto
Hotel Palace Side

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Side Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.