We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Homely Japanese style house by the Takase river

Living and Kitchen with modern facilities
Living and Kitchen with modern facilities
Living and Kitchen with modern facilities
Main bed room
Japanese tatami room
Appearance (Good river view from main bed room on 2nd floor)
Wash basin (amenities and towels are provided)
Kyoto
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
santomara...
Luganville, Sanma, Vanuatu
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Kyoto stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The place was very easy to find, and it was very surprised to found the house right next to the Takase creek as I did not do much research on the location when I booked as I was very busy. The house was very new, very clean, very elegant set up, the Futon beds were already made at the upstairs. I was surprised to found a coffee grinder with fresh coffee beans which my husband and I enjoyed to made fresh coffee ourselves every morning. I can see that the house was set up by someone who cared for their guests. Everything was more than perfect. The house was walking distance to Gion, Kiyomizu dera, and even Kyoto station. The map they provided at the house was very useful. K's house staff were also very helpful. I highly recommend for anyone to stay up to 4 people who would like to experience the real Kyoto style. Wished stay longer and will stay there again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: No place to hang bathtowels.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
DMermin
Berkeley, California
1 review
“Wonderful townhouse with lovely view of canal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed in this townhouse for 6 days in Kyoto. It was very beautiful and stylishly decorated. The kitchen was well equipped (minus a microwave) and the shower was excellent. One of the top 10 showers ever. It was situated on a quiet pedestrian street overlooking a canal but was nevertheless very close to public transportation. Beds were comfortable and cozy. Provides slippers for indoor use on tatami mats and umbrellas in case of rain. My family and I loved both the townhouse and the location making Takasegawa a 5-star accommodation. One quibble - the neighbors are very sensitive about noise, complaining even though we weren't very loud. So best for a quiet group.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
SayHeng T
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation at a fantastic price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Family of 4 with 2 young kids stayed there. Very clean, well equipped kitchen and comfortable bedding. Only downside is there were quite a few mosquitos on the road outside the apartment/beside the canal. Inside is fine as there were a bunch of insect repellent of sorts that were setup probably for this reason.
Convenient location to get to by bus; get the bus day pass and all your sightseeing needs are covered.
Probably not suitable for toddlers due to the stairs.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
841Pat
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Good location, typical Japanese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Easy walk to Kyoto station and Gion district. However it was very difficult to find and you must print off the directions given as it was the only way we could communicate with the taxi driver. Nice clean house with everything we wanted for a three night stay. Quiet location but easy to walk to a lot of attractions.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
nav27
singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay, the staff was super helpful.
Bedding was comfortable, kitchen was very well equipped.
We would recommend this place to tourists who want to enjoy the feel of a
Japanese house in very local and friendly locality.
One suggestion for the staff would be to keep a body lotion along with other toiletries.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
eric_miki...
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“All I needed, All I thought of about a Ryokan, Is here and even better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

本当に素晴らしかった!
We went to the ryokan and their friendly representative, Miss Shoko, was there to explain to us on all the facilities and services offered in this ryokan, in perfect English.

When I entered the ryokan, the first feeling that I had was, "WOW, seriously?!". The whole place was so beautiful and clean. All that I had ever thought of a ryokan, is available here. And honestly, they have even more things there are even more things that most homes and hotels do not have.

Good price x Great experience

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The ryokan and its location.
Liked least: Nothing at all.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Malaysia
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
3 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 3 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$141
/
Night
Week
Month
Make Inquiry
Owner
Katsuhiko S
81-75-344-9911
Speaks English
Listed since : Mar 2012
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 1 day ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing