We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Kyoto” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kyoto Itoya Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kyoto Itoya Hotel to your Saves list
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   712 Yakushimae-cho, Karasumadori, Matsubaranoboru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8416, Kyoto Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 116 Reviews
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great stay in Kyoto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights and had a really enjoyable time. The location is handy to Subway and Hankyu stations, staff are very friendly and speak a good standard of English. Rooms were small but specification was very good. Great value for money compared to other hotels in Kyoto. I would thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    45
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
51
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My wife & I spent 3 nights at the Itoya Hotel last November during the fall foliage season. Originally looked at a couple of hotels recommended by my cousin (his wife is from Kyoto) but they were all fully booked. So I did some additional searches online for all price ranges and found the Itoya Hotel. Back then they didn't have online booking so my cousin called them for us and arranged things for us. I believe you can book online now with an english website which is a BIG plus. The hotel is quite new, modern & centrally located. Staff are very helpful and always have a big smile. Our room is not too small in Japanese standard and after a few days with suitcases opened we can still walk around the room. Located close to the underground and walking distance to the shopping district. Over all a very pleasant stay and if we go again this hotel is on top of our list. ^^

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Spending 3 nights in Kyoto we liked the location in the centre and not too far from evening restaurant district. We liked the cleanliness of the rooms and the good service, Breakfast room could be nicer that's why we had meals at other places.
Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Of course bedroom are not huge, we are in Japan not in Us... This hotel is a great find! brand new everything is impeccable. Free wifi, well working. My room 406 , situated at the third floor facing the street was very nice and comfortable, a two beds with TV, and fridge, hair drier and very useful amenities in the bathroom. Very clean very nice staff ( English to improve....) and perfectly situated, near the KyotoStation for Shinkansen travelers, in front of a Bus #5 stop. Easy connexion with all the historical sites.
The plus: you can use the fridge to put your drinks- the minus: I was traveling alone and I paid the same rate for a double occupancy.
But value for money anyway. I'll post picture once home....still traveling :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Fair location close-ish to 2 underground stations ( 500m.) as such within 2 or more stops of where you will want to be.Very nice room TV, fridge, bathroom all immaculate, v. helpful staff, cheap bikes for hire ( recommended), I did not try the food.On the negative v. annoying WiFi which drops in and out and single lift which can be very frustrating at busy times no stairs for customer use.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I don't like leaving bad reviews but I struggled to find positives with this hotel.

The rooms are absolutely tiny with nowhere to store your luggage, especially if you are sharing a room with your partner/friend. We felt very cramped during our stay.

The noise levels from the road echo in to the room if you sleep with your window open - we were on the 10th floor.

The customer service isn't bad but it's not great. When we asked for good places to eat we were give extremely vague and useless advice.

The location is not close to anything and you need to do at least 10-15 minutes walking to get anywhere if you don't plan to catch the train.

The best thing is the price and cleanliness, it is a modern hotel and everything is spotless.

Room Tip: If you don't mind being cramped request for a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

A great find in Kyoto. We found the location of the hotel very convenient for downtown and for stations. The hotel itself is very chic and has a charming cafe. Staff are extremely helpful, which was not our experience everywhere in japan. Staff made the extra effort to make our stay special (we were on honeymoon), offering us two glasses of wine on the house. We stayed in a corner room which was spacious and bed very comfortable. The room rates are very reasonable. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kyoto Itoya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Itoya Hotel

Address: 712 Yakushimae-cho, Karasumadori, Matsubaranoboru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8416, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyoto Itoya Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Kyoto Itoya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyoto Itoya Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.