We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay. Will Return to Kyoto and Hana Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kyoto Hana Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kyoto Hana Hotel to your Saves list
Kyoto Hana Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-53-1 Ohashi-Higashi, Sanjo-dori, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0001, Kyoto Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay. Will Return to Kyoto and Hana Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I loved this hotel! Economical, great location, friendly staff, clean and comfy room, free amenities, and modern design. It is right by the Gion neighborhood and the shopping district where most of the nightlife of Kyoto is located. Only minutes away from Sanjo subway station.

The staff could speak basic English and was very friendly and helpful which is simply commonplace in Japan (please tell the hotel staff in Europe and America they need to learn a few things from the Japanese about respecting customers)!

Breakfast is around 500 yen at the time of this writing. I think they provide salad, toast, and juice. I chose not to have breakfast at the hotel since there are so many great restaurants in the area as well as convenience stores on every block that sell snacks and ready to eat meals.

I took a bath every night which is something I don't always do at hotels. I usually take a shower, but the tub here is deep and cleaned well. The front desk also gives you bath salts when you check in for each night you stay at their hotel. Other amenities include a washcloth, headband, hair tie, razor, and toothbrush. This is only common in Japan. I've never been to any other country in the world that provides so many free amenities. It's always nice to have these things provided by the hotel when traveling.

Kyoto is a beautiful city. Hana Hotel made my stay in Kyoto even better. I only came away with fond memories of my vacation there. I'll definitely return soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    47
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
54
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
herndon, va
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

the hana hotel is situated in a wonderful location (with a variety of easy walks and/or subway rides to close by points of interest), the price is very reasonable, the front desk service is kind and upbeat, and amenities are great (free & yummy breakfast as well as one of the best washcloths and showers I've ever used... seriously!). :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is nicely located half way between Kyoto's main train station and the northern part of the city, where some of the tourist attractions are located; there are also two metro stops nearby, one just by the hotel and the other one a 5 minute walk away. The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming, although speaking in English was a bit difficult at times.

The room was very clean and spacious enough (at least by Japan standards). There was a fridge, a water boiler, a safe and other amenities. The bathroom had a spacious bathtub. Buffet breakfast was good, though some more variety would have been nice.

Room Tip: rooms on the sides of the hotel have no view, you're looking straight into the walls of the buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a perfect hotel for anyone staying a couple of days for sightseeing in Kyoto. It's very well located, 3 mins walk to Sanjo subway station, literally a block (10 min walk) to Gion district famous for the geisha houses, two blocks away from a vibrant (albeit very Japanese and some not for gaijin) nightlife area which is then one street over from the main shopping strip.

The Philosophers Walk series of temples is an easy bicycle ride away and there's a hire place just up the road and around the corner. The Golden Temple is a little farther away although I rode the bike no problem. Kyoto and Japan generally is very bicycle friendly.

The hotel itself is quite new and well designed. Yes the rooms are compact but they are immaculate and work very well in spite of the smallish space, bathrooms are excellent and the baths deep and big, perfect for for a soak after a day sightseeing.

I stayed in a single room which had a kind single bed then decided to stay another night and was given a double room. Both were great, the double is actually quite spacious and well set out. The beds are very comfortable, some of the best hotel beds I've slept in.

The hotel doesn't have full hotel amenities but you're not paying for that. In any case there are dozens of restaurants and attractions close by and the city is lovely to walk around. The friendliness and courtesy of the staff is exemplary, nothing was too much trouble.

I spend approximately one third of my life traveling and have experienced dozens of budget and mid-range hotels. I place the Kyoto Hana as one of the best in my travels, easily the best on my recent Japan and Korea holiday. It is truly amazing value for money and if in Kyoto again I won't waste my time trying to find better, for me this was a perfect hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Hana hotel is a modern standard 3 star hotel in Kyoto. It is cheap in comparison to other Kyoto hotels and basic is the standard. The rooms are small but adequate for short stays of a few days. The Internet worked fine and there were good toiletries, towels etc. There were no real facilities as such although there was a breakfast area for those who chose to have breakfast here at additional cost. This really is a budget ensuite bed only, but a very clean and modern one.

The staff were most helpful, polite and courteous. What was the winner for this place is the location. The Gion area and central nightlife areas between Sanjo- dori and Shijo- dori are all within walking distance as is the local metro.

There was no laundry service and I had to hunt around to find one that was not close, something you will need to establish for long stays.

Overall cheap, modern and large enough for short stays and quite clearly better than many others hence book early to get an available room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is not on google maps as of 2013/05, so make sure to print the map on their website (which is only on japanese, try google translate integrated in the google chrome browser). The hotel does not really cater to foreigners, so you can't expect to call them up or go there, and just speak English to them. I sent them a few Emails with questions before coming and they went unanswered because they were in Japanese.
I should say that there is nothing wrong with that, I'm just letting you know so that you don't go with wrong expectations if you don't speak Japanese. I speak a tiny bit, so it was enough to break the ice and the staff there was super helpful and willing to help with anything. Some of them had enough English to understand basic things.

Bed: we got twins, they were roomy and quite comfortable.

Breakfast: mostly Japanese, but with toast, egg, and yoghurt

AC: it worked great, but the controls in the room are in Japanese

Room: It was roomy enough, lots of little amenities

Noise: slightly noise from the street,

Location: It's close to the Gion district and the subway station. That said, this may not be your best central location for Kyoto. We ended up hiring bikes the whole time, and the two nearby places are: Kyo no Raku Chari 京の楽チャリ TEL: 075-761-5828, they are super close but they close at 17:00 although if you are keeping the bike overnight, you only have to worry about closing time the 2nd day.
My recommended place though is Rent a cycle Kyoto Kenbunroku / Address 570-51 Minamigawa Gion-machi Higashiyama-Ku Kyoto +81-(0) 90-7117-0410. Don't be cheap and get the electric bikes, your legs will be very happy you did :)

Internet: It is free, but you need an Email to send your password to, and a way to get to your Email. If your cell phone doesn't have internet already, ask the staff for help getting you a password.

English: Staff super helpful but their English can be quite limited (depends on who is working that day)

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed 3 nights here in May 2013.

No problem locating the hotel. Literally a min walk from Sanjo Keihan subway exit.

Staff were very helpful and friendly. Service with a smile.

Very close to the Gion district and restaurants. We found some little hole in the wall restaurants that only have menus in Japanese. Very very good food.

The room was well designed and practical. Huge bathtub. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were quite hard ... There was a foot massager in the room but we didn't use it.

Internet connection was not great and no English channels available.

Will definitely come back here when in Kyoto again ... hopefully soon ...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kyoto Hana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Hana Hotel

Address: 2-53-1 Ohashi-Higashi, Sanjo-dori, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0001, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyoto Hana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Despegar.com and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Kyoto Hana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyoto Hana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.