We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“California poi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lajolla

Lajolla
154-2 Warayacho, Kamigyo-ku, Kyoto 602-8144, Kyoto Prefecture
+81 75-821-4745
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 7,162 Restaurants in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $36
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: WE RECOMMEND YOU TO CALL US OR SEND US AN E-MAIL BEFORE COMING TO THE RESTAURANT.We serve delicious california style mexican food! Only the natural and fresh ingredients. We recommend you to make a reservation.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“California poi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Delicious and super fresh. Had the chips and guac, shrimp burrito, and veggie tacos. Lots of vegetarian options. Great prices. Our waiter was fluent in English, Spanish, and Japanese. Highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    13
    2
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unbelievably delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My fiance and I stopped in based on the Trip Advisor #6 rating only to find the place almost empty, which was shocking.

First and foremost, the food was outstanding. We started with the chips (homemade) and guac, which was so creamy and delicious, and then each tried one of the daily specials. He had the fish, cheese and rice burrito and I had the corn and sausage quesadilla and both were just out of this world. It is probably the best Mexican (or Tex/Mex) that I've ever had - certainly top 5.

As for everything else, the place is very hard to find without GPS and it doesn't look like much on the outside, which is very deceiving. The staff don't speak much English, but the menu has English subtitles. Lastly, the price was ridiculously reasonable. Chips and guac, and two dinner entrees, plus drinks for $30 (3000 yen). Unbelievable. My only regret is that we leave Kyoto tomorrow so I can't go again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Such delicious food and a quirky little place with only 4 tables. We ordered a lot as the menu was so tempting and everything was delicious. Highly recommend

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic taste. One person doing everything in this little restaurant. Lovely food for small money ..like $25 pp everything included. Truly home made, fresh, and nicely combined and arranged.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
“Great tacos and atmosphere in a back alley of Kyoto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Hard to find...but pretty epic. I lived and surfed in La Jolla and regularly eat amazing mexican in San Francisco, and two thumbs up. Cool little spot too... definately worth a stop. They made the chips from scratch when I got there. Tasty!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lajolla also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Lajolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lajolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.