We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Almont Hotel Kyoto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Almont Hotel Kyoto to your Saves list
Almont Hotel Kyoto
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26-1 Nishi-iwamotocho, Higashikujo, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8005, Kyoto Prefecture (Southern Kyoto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 343 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“comfortable and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our favorite hotel in Japan. Excellent/friendly service, very clean, and convenient location. Though the room is on the small side (compared to western standards), the layout is great and you'll find everything you need, including a bedside charging station, small desk, closets, Wi-Fi, etc. They offer a buffet breakfast (you have to buy tickets at the front desk the day before) with both Japanese and Western options. We thought the breakfast was exceptional, as it featured a wide range of Kyoto cuisine, and would recommend it to others. Though there aren't a lot of restaurants in the immediate vicinity, restaurant options abound in Kyoto station, which is about a 5-10 minute walk. While we didn't use the public bath, the facilities seemed nice and many guests took advantage of this amenity. They also have coin laundry machines, which was a pleasant surprise. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    189
    20
    1
    0
See reviews for
80
172
54
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

wowwww!! amazing hotel, great service,great location, hotel stuff was very very helpfull, at the beginnig i booked one night but after that one night i booked 3 more nights, that's how amazing it was, the hotel have lundry service that was very helpfull and very cheap!
i loved it, had the best time while traveling in japan and i was traveling for 2 wees!
it's very close to a major train station .

recommanded highly!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

ROOM:
This is a bit unexpected as the room (2-beds) was large by Japanese standards - almost as big as one would find in a North American hotel. Shower water pressure is strong, room is clean, and it has little nice touch like a bedside charging cable complete with both micro-USB and iPhone connectors. There's in-room wifi as well.

NEARBY:
There's a Lawson just across the street, open 24hrs, for late-night snacks/water. While there are a few restaurants nearby they close early and I liked the choices better around the station itself.

TRANSPORTATION:
The hotel is a leisurely 10min walk from the south exit of Kyoto station. From there you can hop on crapload of the JR local lines (eg. Nara Line to Nara, Kuroshio Line to Wakayama/Kiitanabe), or Shinkansen to further destinations, or the subway/buses to sights around Kyoto. Note that from the south exit it's another 5min walk before you get to the Shinkansen tracks or 10min to the bus loop/subway on the North side of the station.

In conclusion, this is a new hotel close to Kyoto Station with friendly staff that speaks some English, secure elevator (needs room key) designed with primarily Western-traveler in mind. I would consider this hotel again next time.

Stayed Sep 2013

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This near new hotel represented excellent value for our first night in Japan. It is very conveniently located only a few blocks from the Kyoto JR train station - exit from the rear of the station.
Although the rooms are a little small, they were spotlessly clean with comfortable double bed. The staff were extremely helpful, with good English skills. Free wi-fi excellent addition. Six hundred yen taxi ride to the Gion area and Kiyomizu temple at the start of one of the recommended walks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We travelled across Japan for 21 days on a budget and quickly learned that the cheapest accommodation options were business hotels. Having stayed in 12 or so such hotels, the Almont was undoubtedly the best value for money. The room itself is normal Japanese hotel sized (ie pretty small) but it was spotlessly clean, with excellent amenities and stylish decor. It feels new and modern. What sets the hotel apart is also its very large lobby and attentive staff; upon walking in this feels like a 4 or 5 star hotel. We also appreciated the little touches such as the plentiful supply of guest umbrellas and being given a face towel at the door when we arrived at the hotel in the rain.
The location could however put some people off. For us, it was great as it is a 5 min walk to Kyoto train station which was our base to go to Nara and various local destinations with our JR pass. The bus to east Kyoto also leaves from there. However if you are looking to stay in picturesque Kyoto or want decent restaurants on your doorstep, then the hotel isn't ideal. We ate at the cheap restaurants within the food court at the station and a Thai restaurant on the main road, but we appreciate that those not on a tight budget may dislike fact that the best restaurants recommended in rough guide or lonely planet are at least 20 mins walk away.
One quick tip is to book on Internet as the rate is much much cheaper than if you turn up in person. Staff also seem very flexible with Internet bookings as I foolishly booked a smoking room by accident and was moved to a non smoking room immediately upon arrival, notwithstanding fact hotel was very busy.
Overall this hotel is a bargain. We stayed here twice and it was by far our favourite hotel. Suspect prices will go up in near future as hotel becomes more established and realises that they are seriously undercharging!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydneyy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Location is very good, 5 min walk from the station. Building new, equipped with quality mod cons, lobby spacious and comfy, rooms are small, burst the real treat is the "public bath" which is offering you onsen experience without travelling far into the country. After days of sightseeing and temple hopping very helpful to soothe aching feet and recharge the batteries .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a brand new hotel and it is nicely laid out with a large (but simple) reception area, with space for a half-dozen internet computers and lots of sofa's and chairs.

The rooms are as clean and well set up as you would expect with a hotel that has just been built. I had a "single" room, which meant that it was as small a room as they had. It was in fact slightly smaller than the other single rooms I have stayed at in Japanese business hotels. The sink in the bathroom protrudes into the bathtub, and there is little space to put your piece of luggage. It does have an English channel (CNN) on the wall-mounted television set, which was nice.

It is a bit of a walk to the Kyoto train station - about 10 minutes. This is quite a hike if you have luggage. The taxi is $7 or so, It's worth it, but an unnecessary extra expense unless you are 25 and don't mind the walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#18 of 343 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 2,103 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
#50 of 343 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,545 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace Hotel
Sakura Terrace Hotel
#35 of 343 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almont Hotel Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almont Hotel Kyoto

Address: 26-1 Nishi-iwamotocho, Higashikujo, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8005, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 343 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Almont Hotel Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Rakuten and Venere so you can book your Almont Hotel Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almont Hotel Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.