We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Almont Hotel Kyoto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Almont Hotel Kyoto to your Saves list
Almont Hotel Kyoto
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26-1 Nishi-iwamotocho, Higashikujo, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8005, Kyoto Prefecture (Southern Kyoto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 347 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable, excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This near new hotel represented excellent value for our first night in Japan. It is very conveniently located only a few blocks from the Kyoto JR train station - exit from the rear of the station.
Although the rooms are a little small, they were spotlessly clean with comfortable double bed. The staff were extremely helpful, with good English skills. Free wi-fi excellent addition. Six hundred yen taxi ride to the Gion area and Kiyomizu temple at the start of one of the recommended walks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We travelled across Japan for 21 days on a budget and quickly learned that the cheapest accommodation options were business hotels. Having stayed in 12 or so such hotels, the Almont was undoubtedly the best value for money. The room itself is normal Japanese hotel sized (ie pretty small) but it was spotlessly clean, with excellent amenities and stylish decor. It feels new and modern. What sets the hotel apart is also its very large lobby and attentive staff; upon walking in this feels like a 4 or 5 star hotel. We also appreciated the little touches such as the plentiful supply of guest umbrellas and being given a face towel at the door when we arrived at the hotel in the rain.
The location could however put some people off. For us, it was great as it is a 5 min walk to Kyoto train station which was our base to go to Nara and various local destinations with our JR pass. The bus to east Kyoto also leaves from there. However if you are looking to stay in picturesque Kyoto or want decent restaurants on your doorstep, then the hotel isn't ideal. We ate at the cheap restaurants within the food court at the station and a Thai restaurant on the main road, but we appreciate that those not on a tight budget may dislike fact that the best restaurants recommended in rough guide or lonely planet are at least 20 mins walk away.
One quick tip is to book on Internet as the rate is much much cheaper than if you turn up in person. Staff also seem very flexible with Internet bookings as I foolishly booked a smoking room by accident and was moved to a non smoking room immediately upon arrival, notwithstanding fact hotel was very busy.
Overall this hotel is a bargain. We stayed here twice and it was by far our favourite hotel. Suspect prices will go up in near future as hotel becomes more established and realises that they are seriously undercharging!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HazamM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydneyy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Location is very good, 5 min walk from the station. Building new, equipped with quality mod cons, lobby spacious and comfy, rooms are small, burst the real treat is the "public bath" which is offering you onsen experience without travelling far into the country. After days of sightseeing and temple hopping very helpful to soothe aching feet and recharge the batteries .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank csibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a brand new hotel and it is nicely laid out with a large (but simple) reception area, with space for a half-dozen internet computers and lots of sofa's and chairs.

The rooms are as clean and well set up as you would expect with a hotel that has just been built. I had a "single" room, which meant that it was as small a room as they had. It was in fact slightly smaller than the other single rooms I have stayed at in Japanese business hotels. The sink in the bathroom protrudes into the bathtub, and there is little space to put your piece of luggage. It does have an English channel (CNN) on the wall-mounted television set, which was nice.

It is a bit of a walk to the Kyoto train station - about 10 minutes. This is quite a hike if you have luggage. The taxi is $7 or so, It's worth it, but an unnecessary extra expense unless you are 25 and don't mind the walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifeafteracctg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I will book this hotel again for sure if I am going to travel to Kyoto in the future.

First I want to share 2 downside of the hotel.
It's around 5 mins from the Kyoto station ONLY if you walk quickly and your exit of the mode of transport is coincidentally the same exit which is closest to the hotel.
I took JR from airport to Kyoto and use buses(which I find most convenient) and that means the hotel is on the other side of the station which took 15mins walk to hotel in total (I walk slowly). Also the walk from station to hotel is a bit quiet so not suggest for single female traveler.

The room are very small indeed, if you have 2 big luggage, you can never open 2 at the same time, but I guess this happens a lot in Japan's hotel, so it's fine for me.

The good things about the hotel:
1. The price are the cheapest with reasonable quality around the Kyoto station.
2. Rooms are small but design in the sense that take cares of your needs.
On the desk you got wifi login name and password. You have the charger of mobiles on the side. Bed are small but is very comfy. This room indeed makes me feel much better than the other hotels (more pricey but spacious) hotels I stayed in the same trip.
3. Hotel people are very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet72ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Overall, I was very impressed with Almont Hotel Kyoto. The room I stayed in (double room) was very spacious and comfortable, the bed was comfy and sleep quality was excellent. There is a public bath on the 2nd floor, it is of good size and has long opening hours (6am-10am, 4pm to 2am) - it is one of the best features of the hotel, make sure you check it out!
The location of the hotel is good, as it is an easy 5 minute walk from Kyoto's train station. The only slight problem is the hotel being on the 'wrong' side of the train station and if you want to walk to the main bus station (next to Kyoto tower) to travel to nearby attritions such as Kiyomizu-dera, Yasaka Shrine etc., it takes at least another 5 minutes (which in my opinion is nothing, but there are hotels which are closer).
The staff I encountered were friendly (as you would expect in most Japanese hotels) and the hotel has a good free Wi-Fi service. I didn't use the restaurant, so I am afraid I can't comment on the food quality/prices.

To conclude: If you are intending to spend a lot of time exploring Kyoto and its surrounding area and want a comfortable base to go back to at night to recharge your battery, this is the hotel for you. It doesn't have luxurious, resort like facilities, but when there are so many things to see in Kyoto and its neighbouring towns/cities, why would anyone want to be stuck in a hotel?

Room Tip: Not sure how big a single room is at Almont, but the double room I stayed in was very spacious, eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

As mentioned by others it's new and rooms are good quality, comfortable and still seem almost brand-new. Staff is VERY friendly and helpful up to the extreme where ever they can! We looked for some difficult to find places and they really did their best to help us. There is the public bath, a relaxing option for those who are into it (which seem many as it's popular). The lobby contains free internet computers and many books on Kyoto for orientation.

Rooms and services like the free wifi, bathroom, coffee/tea etc are kind of standard for hotels in Japan in this class. Which means small but super-efficient rooms. Free wifi and coffee/tea equipment. Bathrobes and slippers, soap/shampoo provided, Japanese style computerized toilet, etc.

This hotel makes a difference in that it's all still very new, high quality, super-ergonomic, comfortable and beautiful. And for a very good price. In this way this hotel is a real bargain and super-comfortable. It's just a very nice and relaxing place to get back to in the evening, tired from a long day discovering the town or wet from rain. To freshen up, rest, shower and sleep. In this way it gives the experience of a high class hotel, even though in fact it's low budget.

This hotel basically sets a standard for how a hotel should be run. It's just really good.

In short, it's a very good option and almost counts as one of the attractions to experience in Kyoto ;-)

What could be improved though is the location. It's 10 minutes walking from the station and can't be seen from the exit. We couldn't find it when we arrived in Kyoto, nobody seemed to know it so we ended up taking a taxi (it's nearby so not expensive). All the attractions of Kyoto including the subway are at the OTHER side of the trainstation meaning a headstart every morning of a 15 minutes walk to start itineraries. Even so, the hotel is that good that we didn't mind this drawback.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace
Sakura Terrace
#32 of 347 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Southern Kyoto
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Sakura Terrace The Gallery
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almont Hotel Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almont Hotel Kyoto

Address: 26-1 Nishi-iwamotocho, Higashikujo, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8005, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 347 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Almont Hotel Kyoto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, EasyToBook, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Almont Hotel Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing