We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ryokan for the Westerner, Steps away from Central Kyoto.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watazen

Save Saved
You added Watazen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Watazen
3.0 of 5 Ryokan   |   413 Izutsuyacho, Rokkaku Sagaru, Yanaginobaba, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 604-8113 , Japan (Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 193 Kyoto B&B and Inns
Worthington, Ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Ryokan for the Westerner, Steps away from Central Kyoto.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is the ryokan that has truly understood the need for a mid- to introduce Japanese culture to Westerners. All staff spoke good English. The rooms, though Japanese style, has the amenities a Westerner would expect to see in a room. The room is also more spacious than usual and since we were here in the middle of winter, heat was also very adequate. There is also Japanese and Western breakfasts offered in the morning. Continental breakfast was offered free during our stay. This ryokan is steps away from the shopping district so it is very convenient also to anywhere else in Kyoto you would consider going. This ryokan truly gets that Westerners may want to experience traditional Japan, but maintain a bit of 'Western' in the amenities offered in a lodging. Good job Watazen!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watazen, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Watazen, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your stay at Watazen.
How was the TATAMI room? Did you wear YUKATA?
We are vely glad that you enjoyed Japanese culture.
There are many places to see in Kyoto not only temples but Shinto shrines.
In spring time, it fill with cherry blossoms. In fall, you can enjoy autumnal leaves across
Kyoto.
We wish we can serve you next time when you travel Kyoto.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    43
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
42
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Brilliant location, delightful service, the best Japanese breakfasts and delicious dinner. As a coeliac, I was so grateful to staff for sourcing gluten free soy sauce and preparing all my food accordingly. Starting the day with a hot onsen style bath blissful.I cannot speak too highly of this ryokan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watazen, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Watazen, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your stay at Watazen Ryokan.
All the staff of Watazen are very happy to hear that you enjoyed Japanease foods.
Most of Japanese dishes are sesoned soy sause. It is not so difficult to get gkuten free one.
Please, visit Kyoto again and try various traditional deshes.
We wish we can serve you next time at Watazen. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hotel is located right in the center of Kyoto city. Walking distance to Nishiki Food Market & Gion. The traditional Japanese hotel room is nice & clean. Hotel staff is nice & friendly. They are so kind to lead us to their recommended car-park which is few streets away from hotel building & fetch us with our luggage to the same car-park on our check-out. The Kaiseki dinner & Shabu Shabu dinner was served at hotel room & tasted great ! The staff will set the bed after dinner. This is our first experience in staying at traditional Japanese ryokan & Watazen Ryokan gave us great experience.

Room Tip: Excellent Kaiseki Dinner served in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watazen, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Watazen, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your say at Watazen Ryokan.
We are very glad to hear you that you really enjoyed Japanese traditional dishes.

We hope we can serve you again in near future.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerima-ku, Tokyo, Japan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

nice location in the city center
from the hotel you can walk to subway and you and access the hotel by bus
good experience for ryokan (japanese hotel style)
dinner here was nice
there are onzen Japanese bath style inside the hotel
the owner of the hotel come to greeting u at you room very worm welcome

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watazen, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Watazen, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your stay at Watazen.
Did you enjoy shopping at Nishiki food market?
We are vely glad that you enjoyed Japanese style dinner in your room.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in near future.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Excellent location, close to market street and shopping. Very helpful and friendly staff. Asked for transport advice from reception staff and they kindly marked sights on a map and explained buses. They recommended a bus day pass (500 yen) which was great value. Can buy at reception. Breakfast is very nice, they even cater for vegetarians. Japanese style room with futons was super comfortable. I would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Hotel staffs are all very helpful and speak good english. The location is wonderful, about 15 min walk from the subway station. Dinner and breakfast were extremly good and delicious!! Love the place would definitly go back!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watazen, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Watazen, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for your stay at Watazen.
We are very glad you enjoyed Japanese dishes.
We hope we can serve you next time when you travel Kyoto again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed for two nights in a Japanese style room. There was 4 of us. Great central position, Staff very courteous and always glad to make our time with them the best it could be. Public bath in the basement. We loved the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watazen, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Watazen, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your stay at watazen.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed Japanease style bath.
We hope we can serve you next time when you travel Kyoto again.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Watazen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watazen

Address: 413 Izutsuyacho, Rokkaku Sagaru, Yanaginobaba, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 604-8113 , Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Watazen 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WATAZEN is a Classical Japanese Inn with modern amenities, located in the center of Kyoto. It has been a familiar inn for many travelers to Kyoto since [Tenpo Gannen](1830). Today, many people enjoy our traditional harmonious atmosphere in central Kyoto. We are confident that our excellent service and cuisine will make your visit to Kyoto a memorable one. Please enjoy Kyoto and relax at WATAZEN. The cost is from 6300JPY - per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Watazen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watazen Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watazen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.