We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fox or Vixen? It's Kitsune in Japanese!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fushimi Inari Shrine

Fushimi Inari Shrine
68 Fukakusa Yabunouchicho, Fushimi-ku, Kyoto 612-0882, Kyoto Prefecture
(075)641-7331 
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$1,042*
and up
Private Tour: 4-Day Best of Tokyo and Kyoto...
Ranked #1 of 406 Attractions in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 3,501 Reviews
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This shrine is one of many located throughout Japan that was built to honor Inari, the Shinto god of rice.
Varese, Italy
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Fox or Vixen? It's Kitsune in Japanese!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

You can't say that you were in Kyoto if you didn't visit this place. It's amazing! Go there at dusk and with an approaching storm. I did it and it was magic! Next time, I'd go back there in the daylight!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,419
    936
    133
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Legaspi, Philippines
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Just one of the nice temples to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is my second time to visit Kyoto and in the first time (in July 2010) I didnt get the chance to see this place. When me and my friends visited this shrine we were in awe of how nice the temple is. Different from the usual temples that are all colored BROWN or in antique finish --- this shrine is colored Orange!! Fun to see and fun to take photos too.

I personally would like to recommend that you visit this shrine in the evening when all the lights are lit up. The lights enhances the beauty of the temple and cast a shadow over the beautiful orange color!

Take your pick! Day or night this is is one nice temple to visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beutiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just as stunning as in the pictures - bring your walking shoes because there are 4 kilometres of Torii to walk through (over 1500 of them!)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fascinating and very eerie at night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a wonderful and mystical Shinto shrine dedicated to the fox god Inari. There are a myriad of tori gates to walk through as you climb up the hill. If you do this at night it is a very eerie and beautiful sight. I highly recommend this for any Kyoto visitor.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavite City, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

i like how the torii glows at night. Going up feels like a way to different dimension. Beyond the lift-the-big-circle-rock i suggest not to go any farther at night as it is easy to get lost and find your way in a house with dogs. It happened to me and it was scary.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fushimi Inari Shrine also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Fushimi Inari Shrine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fushimi Inari Shrine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.