We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House of Tokugawa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nijo Castle

Nijo Castle
541 Nijojo-cho, Horikawa-nishiiru, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 604-8301, Japan
+81 75-841-0096
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #11 of 369 attractions in Kyoto
Type: Castles
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This world heritage site was the home of Tokugawa leyasu, one of the most powerful men in Japan. The castle was built as a residence and not for defense purposes. However, to protect the shogun from enemies, special creaky floorboards were installed to warn of anyone approaching.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“House of Tokugawa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Must Visit! Can't say you been to Kyoto if you don't see this castle. Worth the entrance fee and history tour

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    529
    115
    17
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A great starting point to understand the history of Japan. We had an excellent guide who really made the visit worthwhile.
Gave you a great insight in to the customs and way of living in medieval Japan
Even a visit on your own with some research would be worthwhile

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Pristine & Picturesque Japanese Castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The castle grounds of this location offer SO many picturesque locations. We spent way more time here than we planned, it was simply so beautiful!!

TIP: 1 - rent bicycles from Kyoto Cycling (2-3 blocks West of train station), whole day is perhaps $15 US p/bike and well worth it. You can easily bike to many locations that you'd otherwise spend walking to. Additionally, if you decide to walk YOU WILL BE CONSTANTLY DODGING OTHER BIKES, so just rent on and make it easy on yourself. 2 - if you, at some point, desire food other than Japanese food, the train station has many options on the ground floor area as well as upper floors (it's huge).

There are so many historical/cultural sites in Kyoto we wish we would have spent a few more days in Kyoto (Kyoto is second only to Rome in World Heritage Sites).

I took all of the pics attached to this review during mid-October (early fall), had we been there a week or two later the fall colors would have been more vibrant.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Old Style Castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

It is a nice diversion to see a traditionally built structures that are not a shrine or a temple. The grounds are expansive with a nice garden. It was across the street from our hotel, so we went there twice.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

It was unbearably hot the day we visited the castle but going inside the actual castle was much cooler. I loved the nightingale floors that 'sing' while you walk on them. It was very interesting! The grounds are beautiful and the moats surrounding it are filled with carp.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nijo Castle also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Nijo Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nijo Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nijo Castle to your Saves list