We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful temple in beautiful grounds & Fantastic part of Kyoto” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kiyomizu-dera Temple

Kiyomizu-dera Temple
1-294 Kiyomizu, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0862, Kyoto Prefecture (Gion Higashiyama / Kita Shirakawa / Kurama / Yase / Ohara)
+81 75-551-1234
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$109*
and up
Kyoto Full-Day Sightseeing Tour including Nijo...
Ranked #6 of 656 things to do in Kyoto
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This most-visited temple in Kyoto was built to honor Kannon, the goddess of mercy. It's beautiful hillside location offers spectacular views of the city and valley below.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful temple in beautiful grounds & Fantastic part of Kyoto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

This is worth a visit. This temple is is a great part of Kyoto and you should walk past it at some stage. Save time to wander around the old streets if you don't come here as part of the walking tour. It's at the top of a hill (above the tourist trap called "teapot lane" selling overpriced wares). The main hall is a massive wooden structure with views of the city. Further inside the grounds are some stones called "love stones" where you walk from one to the other with eyes closed and also some therapeautic waters, that have 3 streams representing health, longevity, and success in studies.

I found this to be a nice temple, but I liked the grounds best and the views of the city and the surrounding hiils. Really nice during blossom season and autumn. It can get very busy though.

The photos I have added are from 3 separate trips to Kyoto (including this one), to show how it looks in different seasons.

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,010
    1,255
    303
    35
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mark it on your routine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

This is a typical Janpan temple. It is located on beatiful site with trees around. Eventhough there were so many tourists at the time we arrived but I can feel the scared asmostphere there. On the way to the temple you can buy many types of Janpanses traditional candy and teas. From here you can walk to Gion, which is famous for geisha.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You should go there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

You should go there, fore me it was not the more most impressive site. But it is in one of the more beautiful areas of the city. And a visit there followed by a walk by the old district via other smaller temples until reaching Gion is one of the must do's in Kyoto.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must for travelers to kyoto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

This is our 4day in Kyoto, and we just came back from the Kiyomizu temple. We took a cab down from Inari which cost 1050yen, a fair deal for the trouble it saved us. Absolutely beautiful, with sights of Kyoto city. You would prob need an hour or two to sit down and enjoy the view.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Wonderful Kiyomizu in Illumination -- and rain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

Visiting Kiyomizu Temple for the second time, we decided to do it in the evening to see the special Illumination. Locals had cautioned us that the place would be too crowded for our enjoyment. In addition, the Autumn foliage was not quite at its peak. So we delayed visiting the Temple until the eve of our departure from Kyoto. It was pouring the whole day but we decided to make a short visit, for the privilege of seeing/photographing such a wonderful place in a different light, so to speak. In the event, we found the effort absolutely worthwhile and not too taxing, despite the rain and the huge turn-out. (The weather probably made for a somewhat smaller crowd jostling for the best viewpoints on the two elevated Stages.) The Temple is open from 6.30 pm to 9 pm, for about 3 weeks during the peak Foliage Season. Admission was 400 Yen.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiyomizu-dera Temple also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Kiyomizu-dera Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiyomizu-dera Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.