We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the budget traveler, very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rakucho Ryokan

Save Saved
You added Rakucho Ryokan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rakucho Ryokan
67 Higashihangicho, Shimogamo, Sakyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 606-0824, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 192 Kyoto B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“For the budget traveler, very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is not a ryokan, but a budget minshuku. We liked it, and would glady return. We booked for the second floor, but when the staff saw that my wife had a minor disability, they offered to change us to the ground floor. This was well done.

She declined, because with a bathroom and two toilets down there, she wanted a little privacy. There was a sink and a toilet upstairs.

The hospitality made us want to return, if we ever have a chance.

-- Steve

Room Tip: For someone able to climb stairs, the upper floor has more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    26
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
30
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Warm welcoming. The owner is your morning smile and your evening addresses book for good restaurants And places to go out.
The Ryokan is clean, you can have your room cleaned everyday or not.
Bath facilities are good. The bathtub is always ready when you come from a long walking day.
Free Internet access is provided and even a computer at the entrance.
Many flyers about what to do in Kyoto And surrounding areas. Take the one for Geisha show, you'll be offered a discount. Try the shabu shabu restaurant mentioned on the map.
You can even buy bus pass there.
The owner is very honest. We made a mistake in our reservation but he was very helpful and found a solution.
The real Japanese inn ! You'll feel at home quickly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Timika, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you're looking for a more authentic Japanese style place to stay than a generic hotel in Kyoto, look no further. Although a little out of town, this little Rakucho is lovingly kept with it's quaint bamboo mat flooring and futon beds. The location is actually pretty good once you figure out the Kyoto bus system as there's a stop just 2 minutes walk from the house.

The shared shower and bathroom facilities were fine and even though the Rakucho was fully booked when we stayed, there was rarely a queue to use them. The laundry facilities were also very useful and the free, fast wifi in our room was handy for planning each day's excursions.

I would certainly stay here again and will recommend Rakucho Ryokan to anyone wanting a great place to stay in Kyoto.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for the larger room at the end of the ground floor which was, I assume, twice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed at Rakucho on our four day stopover in Kyoto, and loved returning every night to our warm ryokan room. The facilities are basic but well maintained, and the owner is super-friendly and helpful with general tourism advice. She really looked after us and made sure we felt at home for our stay.

There's plenty of nearby eating (the okonomiyaki restaurant five minutes to the east gets a special mention) and it's straightforward to reach public transport and get around - we travelled not only through Kyoto but also to Nara, all easy enough from Rakucho as a base. The only mild downside was the walking distance to the nearest subway station, but the walk was pleasant enough :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed in this ryokan because we were late to book a place in Kyoto and it's was hard to find something else. We stayed in many ryokan in Japan they are often aren't so cheap but if you find a good one it's a real pleasure. This ryokan tends to be more a touristic hotel, thou sleep quality is very good. Location is a bit far from everything esp if you plan to use bus, many buses are not running after 22 so if you are late in gyon area or in bar downtown be ready to pay for taxi. Laundry is very old and it's too many people always and only 1 washing machine. Our room was located very good, in the end - so it was calm, but there are rooms next to laundry or refrigerator or toilets where can be noisy coz many people are walking throw. Be aware that for late chek-out you can be charged. My advise for Kyoto - try to stay in a reasonable hotel closer to train station, there is even very nice capsule hotel female friendlily, ryokan experience is better in a less touristic places.

Room Tip: Try to ask for room in a second floor far from toilets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

This is a nice small ryokan style guest house at a real budget price. It feels a bit more like a quiet backpackers (shared showers, washing mashine available, etc.), but offers a unique Japanese experience at a very affordable price. The owner is friendly and will give you tips and advice on touring around Kyoto. One problem for me was the rather stale air in the room, so if you have asthma or other allergies, I wouldn't recommend staying here. However, if you are not sensitive in that respect, it's a great place to stay. The location is fine (don't be fooled by the remote location on the map as Kyoto is quite spread out, so nowhere is particularly convenient. There is actually a number of buses running nearby and it is fairly close to Kinkakuji and other tourist attractions). Enjoy your stay in lovely Kyoto!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in November.
The staff were fantastic! Our flight arrived in the evening and we didnt arrive until 10pm (Although I did email them of our late arrival we were still later then expected). The staff were fantastic! They were there when we arrived, took our bags to our room and explained everything to us.
The futons were very comfortable, which provided great sleep. I was a bit reluctant before the trip to sleep on a futon as I have never slept on one before, but they were fantastic. Decent size rooms which included wifi. The bathrooms were kept clean.

The ryokan has alot of information and books available for guests about the area and Japan.

Good location, being serviced by buses only a couple of minutes away (Kyoto station, Gion etc) and a subway station about 10 min walk.

Great place to stay if you are in Kyoto! Will stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rakucho Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rakucho Ryokan

Address: 67 Higashihangicho, Shimogamo, Sakyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 606-0824, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rakucho Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rakucho Ryokan Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rakucho Ryokan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.