We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matsubaya Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Matsubaya Inn to your Saves list
Matsubaya Inn
3.0 of 5
Ryokan
  |   Higashinotoin Nishi-iru, Kamijuzuyacho-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8150, Japan (Kyoto Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 332 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here for only 1 night in Dec 2012. We had a garden view room on the 1st floor. We really enjoyed our experience here. Staff made us feel very welcome and it was interesting to stay in a ryokan. We had breakfast there as well the food selection was standard we had the eggs and toast but it was yummy. I would highly suggest staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    101
    26
    3
    4
See reviews for
45
170
48
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were very impressed with the staff at Matsubaya Ryokan - they were super helpful at all times, and the tour at the start was really useful as it was our first ryokan stay. They also gave us a great run down of the important sites and the public transport options. It helped make us feel at home, and almost as if we were staying in someone's home. There is a fair amount of room within the western style rooms, a rarity in Japan. Eating breakfast around a large communal table is a nice touch, and gives you a chance to catch up with other travellers. Personally, we weren't huge fans of sleeping on the tatami mats and futon, and I had to request an extra futon for the second night. As someone with a bad back, it was also tough having the legless chairs to sit on (where the base is on the floor), but this is more a general comment about ryokans as this was a well appointed room. We've come to expect a really high degree of cleanliness in Japan, and were a bit disappointed to find hair on the floor and in the bathrooom (that wasn't ours). Overall, though, we enjoyed the experience of staying in a ryokan, and the location was brilliant.

Room Tip: Select a garden room on the ground floor, or a room with a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was the second Ryokan we stayed at on our holiday in Japan. It was in a very good location only about 10 minutes walk from Kyoto Station. We were disappointed as we chose this due to all the wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor. We felt that we could have been staying in a 'block of flats'. Yes we had a nice room with tatami mats, yes it had the usual furnishings of a typical japanese room, yes it had an ensuite which was nice but apart from that we were just one room on a floor with about 7 other rooms. Staff were very friendly and accommodating and made our stay as comfortable as possible but I dont believe you are getting the 'real' ryokan experience here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We chose the Matsubaya Inn to be our first experience of a ryokan and we weren't disappointed.
Situated 10mins away from the station and close to a bus stop, it's convenient for exploring Kyoto and beyond. The Gion area is a 25min walk away but you can easily catch buses or taxis.

We were greeted by friendly staff who spoke good English and went through all the facilities thoroughly and gave us advice on places to visit.
We had a six tatami mat room which felt spacious compared to our previous Japanese stays. There was a separate area to stow your luggage. We had an ensuite which was a tiny fitted unit that was ok for us but may not be ideal for people with a large frame. The water was always hot and toilet was an ordinary one (ie no tricks). Toiletries are provided. (There is no public bath).
We had no problems accessing the wi-fi in our room.
Our only quibble was that the wall to the room next door was thin and we could hear conversations.

The yukuta and green tea and biscuits added to the authenticity of our ryokan experience. They kindly give a gift when you leave which is a nice touch.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was one of our favourite hotels on our tour of Japan. We paid a bit extra for a garden room but it was definitely worth it. A lovely clean, comfortable, traditional ryokan close to the train station and lots of bus stops that get you to all the key sites (you can buy a day bus ticket from the hotel which is really good value). Staff are incredibly friendly. We were presented with a little gift of chopsticks as we left. Only slight complaint was the intermittant wi-fi access but this was a very minor blip in the grand scheme of things. Really lovely stay - would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

It's a nice and sweet experience in the red leaf season Kyoto with Matsubaya Inn. We stayed in Matsubaya Inn for 2 days for the beautiful autumn color in Kyoto. The inn is located about 10 minutes walk to the Kyoto station. With the access map on the website, it's easy to find it.

The inn is located with many interesting stores selling zen and furnitures. The nearest convenient store Lawson and restaurant is located several blocks away. If you come to the hotel from the Kyoto station, you can see some restaurants and convenient store on the corner of the big street. The hotel also have vendor machine offering some soft drinks and beer.

The room is clean and comfortable with Japanese style tatami. The room is equipped with air conditioner so it will not be too cold in the winter time. To keep the hotel clean, you need to take off the shoes before going to the room. The hotel staff are very nice and friendly and they all speak nice English. They offer map, bus day ticket, bus map and other advice which makes the trip much easier.

There are free wifi in the room, laundry is possible with small charge. Japanese style breakfast need reservation one day before (seems good but we don't have time to try...). The hotel can keep your luggage for free before / after you check-in / out.

If we have opportunity to come back in the next year's Sakura season, we'll choose Matsubaya inn again. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay in Kyoto, go here. Why? Because the owners and staff are the most wonderful people, and staying with them is worth going to Kyoto. They speak English, and are ready to give you all of the advice and recommendations you could want about the city, They also were kind enough to expedite to Tokyo an item that I had forgotten in the room, which was immensely appreciated! The best restaurant I ate at in Japan was one recommended by the owner. It served the most exquisite Kyo-ryori you could ask for. I'll let you ask the owner for the name and location, since you should be going to this ryokan!

The Ryokan is situated a short walk away from Kyoto station, which makes it an ideal base to visit the Kansai area. The room we stayed in was a 6 tatami, which was more than large enough to accommodate 2 adults and our luggage. (The room has a large closet in the hallway where you can store your luggage, so don't worry about it taking space in your 6 tatami!) The ryokan has wi-fi but it did not reach our room, but there is a nice lounge area near the computer and router so you can send off your emails and do your research comfortably. The breakfast was also very good, though I did not try the Japanese breakfast here and I regret that I didn't! (they also have western breakfast options).

When we go back to Kyoto, we will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: Don't be worried about taking a 6 tatami room on the 2nd floor. They are clean and comfortable a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Matsubaya Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matsubaya Inn

Address: Higashinotoin Nishi-iru, Kamijuzuyacho-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8150, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Matsubaya Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Matsubaya Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matsubaya Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matsubaya Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.