We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we stayed at in Japan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto to your Saves list
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   579-16 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8216, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 332 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best hotel we stayed at in Japan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel was easily the best, and the best value, that we stayed at in our 2 weeks in Japan in May 2013. You couldn't get a handier location opposite the JR station and around the corner from a great supermarket where you can buy very cheap, fresh and amazing sushi etc (just ask hotel staff for directions). Our room was enormous compared to any others we had on the trip, overlooked the train station which looks beautiful at night (not noisy though), and was very clean and comfortable. The room had a bath-tub and the staff put out a complimentary basket of individual bath products (face masks, bath salts etc) in the foyer each afternoon 'for the ladies'. Great value and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    181
    68
    9
    3
See reviews for
44
148
70
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Incheon, South Korea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

To put it simply, this hotel has everything I look for when traveling! It's clean, smoke-free, comfortable, has free wi-fi, and the staff are great. I stayed in a small single room for five nights, and had not a single complaint. The staff speak excellent English and are very helpful if you ever need anything. The location is of course amazing as well; literally right across the street from Kyoto Station.

Overall, I had a fabulous trip to Kyoto and this hotel was part of the reason why!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Location is awsome. Just across the street from the main JR station. You can just get off the train, unload your baggages, load your batteries and start sightseeing. (No extra street noise in the room by the way).

Hotel is not very remarkable itself, but a decent, modernly equipped and perfectly clean place. The staff is super friendly, you get good wifi, free coffee and tea etc.

Also, only moderately expensive given the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murwillumbah
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had a 5 day trip from Tokyo to Kyoto, booked through japanican.com. A very smooth operation in all regards - the Bullet train both ways and 4 nights in a twin room at the Hokke Club. A great location just out of the northern entrance of the station - right across from the bus area, The hotel is almost next door to the Kyoto Dome.
The twin rooms are very comfortable and seem a lot bigger than the double rooms. The front desk staff are very friendly - high levels of staffing means you'll never have to wait for anything.

A great base for exploring Kyoto by foot - in the five days we caught only one train and one bus and manged to see most of this amazing city's historic sights. The only slight drawback is that most of the better spots for nightlife are a 20-30 walk uptown; most of the restaurants in the station area are more for a quick meal than a night out.

The package tour with the 4 nights accommodation was not much more than the cost of a return trip from Tokyo to Kyoto. All up, great value

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I booked this hotel for a last-minute vacation with little knowledge of Kyoto. When we arrived, first pleasant surprise was that it was literally across the street from Kyoto Station. Very convenient! The staff was very polite and greeted us warmly. Our room was spotless clean and very cozy.This is really all you need. No frills, but lovely and very clean. The double twin room was very spacious. I specified non-smoking and would recommend doing that.
On our last night, we stayed in a small double room,which was in fact small but also very clean and cozy. Sakashita was so helpful with tourist information and spoke amazing English. Overall, I give this place 5 stars!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Hokke is right opposite the Kyoto Station. Shopping, eating & transport all there. Just take the underground pass near the hotel to cross over.

Love the kimono, origami paper cranes & green tea bags in the room.

The hotel doesnt serve breakfast but there is a 24 hour eatery near Yodobashi Camera (round the corner). Walk along the side street past McDonald till you reach the second intersection. Its called Sukiya & breakfast sets cost from 300-500¥. Locals eat here.

For lunch or dinner, there is a All You Can Eat Restaurant called Harvest in basement Food Street of Tokyo Station. Only about US$20 pp. A lot of choices for vegetarians (my son). Or Ramen Street on top floor where you can try all of ramens of Japan.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location just opposite the railway station as well as the bus station which makes it very easy for travelling. The staff are very polite. The rooms are small but very clean. Only thing is the check in is at 3 pm so be sure you have everything chalked out. We reached there at 10 in the morning, left our luggage at the reception and went sight seeing before we could check in at 3 pm. Buses available to Gion and Higshiyama from the bus station. Lot of eateries around. Highly recommended for convenience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto

Address: 579-16 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8216, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 332 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Rakuten so you can book your Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hokke Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.