We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we stayed at in Japan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto to your Saves list
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   579-16 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture (Shimogyo-ku)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 343 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel we stayed at in Japan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel was easily the best, and the best value, that we stayed at in our 2 weeks in Japan in May 2013. You couldn't get a handier location opposite the JR station and around the corner from a great supermarket where you can buy very cheap, fresh and amazing sushi etc (just ask hotel staff for directions). Our room was enormous compared to any others we had on the trip, overlooked the train station which looks beautiful at night (not noisy though), and was very clean and comfortable. The room had a bath-tub and the staff put out a complimentary basket of individual bath products (face masks, bath salts etc) in the foyer each afternoon 'for the ladies'. Great value and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    218
    78
    13
    4
See reviews for
53
181
80
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Incheon, South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

To put it simply, this hotel has everything I look for when traveling! It's clean, smoke-free, comfortable, has free wi-fi, and the staff are great. I stayed in a small single room for five nights, and had not a single complaint. The staff speak excellent English and are very helpful if you ever need anything. The location is of course amazing as well; literally right across the street from Kyoto Station.

Overall, I had a fabulous trip to Kyoto and this hotel was part of the reason why!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Location is awsome. Just across the street from the main JR station. You can just get off the train, unload your baggages, load your batteries and start sightseeing. (No extra street noise in the room by the way).

Hotel is not very remarkable itself, but a decent, modernly equipped and perfectly clean place. The staff is super friendly, you get good wifi, free coffee and tea etc.

Also, only moderately expensive given the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murwillumbah
Level Contributor
154 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had a 5 day trip from Tokyo to Kyoto, booked through japanican.com. A very smooth operation in all regards - the Bullet train both ways and 4 nights in a twin room at the Hokke Club. A great location just out of the northern entrance of the station - right across from the bus area, The hotel is almost next door to the Kyoto Dome.
The twin rooms are very comfortable and seem a lot bigger than the double rooms. The front desk staff are very friendly - high levels of staffing means you'll never have to wait for anything.

A great base for exploring Kyoto by foot - in the five days we caught only one train and one bus and manged to see most of this amazing city's historic sights. The only slight drawback is that most of the better spots for nightlife are a 20-30 walk uptown; most of the restaurants in the station area are more for a quick meal than a night out.

The package tour with the 4 nights accommodation was not much more than the cost of a return trip from Tokyo to Kyoto. All up, great value

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I booked this hotel for a last-minute vacation with little knowledge of Kyoto. When we arrived, first pleasant surprise was that it was literally across the street from Kyoto Station. Very convenient! The staff was very polite and greeted us warmly. Our room was spotless clean and very cozy.This is really all you need. No frills, but lovely and very clean. The double twin room was very spacious. I specified non-smoking and would recommend doing that.
On our last night, we stayed in a small double room,which was in fact small but also very clean and cozy. Sakashita was so helpful with tourist information and spoke amazing English. Overall, I give this place 5 stars!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location just opposite the railway station as well as the bus station which makes it very easy for travelling. The staff are very polite. The rooms are small but very clean. Only thing is the check in is at 3 pm so be sure you have everything chalked out. We reached there at 10 in the morning, left our luggage at the reception and went sight seeing before we could check in at 3 pm. Buses available to Gion and Higshiyama from the bus station. Lot of eateries around. Highly recommended for convenience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel is located directly in front of the Kyoto JR station, on the north side. It makes access to everything in Kyoto very convenient. There are plenty of restaurants from all price ranges and cuisines within walking distance.
Our room was very small, especially considering the price. There was barely room for a full size bed. There was no closet. In the bathroom, the same faucet supplied water to the sink and the shower (with a diverter valve) so one could use only the shower or the sink at any one time. The wall dividing the rooms is also quite thin, so if the person in the adjoining room turns and hits the wall while sleeping, you can hear it.
On the plus side, there is free Wi-Fi at the hotel.
The staff were attentive but when we went to pick up our luggage the following afternoon, the clerks go busy and forgot about us. They did apologize profusely, though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tower Hotel
Kyoto Tower Hotel
#146 of 343 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto-Hachijoguchi
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Dai-Ni Tower Hotel
Kyoto Dai-Ni Tower Hotel
#187 of 343 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Almont Hotel Kyoto
#19 of 343 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto

Address: 579-16 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hokke Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.