We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice one” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto to your Saves list
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   579-16 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Murwillumbah
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had a 5 day trip from Tokyo to Kyoto, booked through japanican.com. A very smooth operation in all regards - the Bullet train both ways and 4 nights in a twin room at the Hokke Club. A great location just out of the northern entrance of the station - right across from the bus area, The hotel is almost next door to the Kyoto Dome.
The twin rooms are very comfortable and seem a lot bigger than the double rooms. The front desk staff are very friendly - high levels of staffing means you'll never have to wait for anything.

A great base for exploring Kyoto by foot - in the five days we caught only one train and one bus and manged to see most of this amazing city's historic sights. The only slight drawback is that most of the better spots for nightlife are a 20-30 walk uptown; most of the restaurants in the station area are more for a quick meal than a night out.

The package tour with the 4 nights accommodation was not much more than the cost of a return trip from Tokyo to Kyoto. All up, great value

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    205
    73
    12
    3
See reviews for
51
168
75
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I booked this hotel for a last-minute vacation with little knowledge of Kyoto. When we arrived, first pleasant surprise was that it was literally across the street from Kyoto Station. Very convenient! The staff was very polite and greeted us warmly. Our room was spotless clean and very cozy.This is really all you need. No frills, but lovely and very clean. The double twin room was very spacious. I specified non-smoking and would recommend doing that.
On our last night, we stayed in a small double room,which was in fact small but also very clean and cozy. Sakashita was so helpful with tourist information and spoke amazing English. Overall, I give this place 5 stars!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location just opposite the railway station as well as the bus station which makes it very easy for travelling. The staff are very polite. The rooms are small but very clean. Only thing is the check in is at 3 pm so be sure you have everything chalked out. We reached there at 10 in the morning, left our luggage at the reception and went sight seeing before we could check in at 3 pm. Buses available to Gion and Higshiyama from the bus station. Lot of eateries around. Highly recommended for convenience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel is located directly in front of the Kyoto JR station, on the north side. It makes access to everything in Kyoto very convenient. There are plenty of restaurants from all price ranges and cuisines within walking distance.
Our room was very small, especially considering the price. There was barely room for a full size bed. There was no closet. In the bathroom, the same faucet supplied water to the sink and the shower (with a diverter valve) so one could use only the shower or the sink at any one time. The wall dividing the rooms is also quite thin, so if the person in the adjoining room turns and hits the wall while sleeping, you can hear it.
On the plus side, there is free Wi-Fi at the hotel.
The staff were attentive but when we went to pick up our luggage the following afternoon, the clerks go busy and forgot about us. They did apologize profusely, though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Excellent location, great service and helpfully organised our luggage to be sent to our next hotel without a problem. Free wifi plus a computer area which allowed free printing which was useful. Right outside is subway entrance and bus to and from Gion and Higashiyama stops right in front. Highly recommended for where it is.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

of the 3 places i stayed in japan, this was the least memorable or remarkable, but that isn't necessary a bad thing!
the location is JUST out of the metro exit, and an easy 3 minute stroll from the Shinkansen / JR stations. very easy to hop on a bus to virtually anywhere in Kyoto you'd want to tour.
staff were nice, place very clean.
smallish room, which is expected, but there was no window in our room, which made it a bit claustrophobic.
also note - they wouldn't let us check in until 2:45/3pm - we had taken an early morning train in from Tokyo so would have liked to have gotten settled and checked-in straight away. they did of course hold our bags whilst we went out exploring, but just be aware of that time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The main reason I booked this hotel is the location, it's very close to Kyoto JR station and main JR bus terminal. (JR bus for traveling in Kyoto itself and JR train for visiting nearby cities such as Nara or Osaka)
Front desk was very polite (standard for hotel in Japan) I booked for small double room (means smaller than standard double room) the room and bed were small as its name but it was ok for me, if you are not sure you guys can fit in small bed, book standard room instead :p
There are so many shops and restaurants before station, in station, including Isetan department store, oh and Yodobashi store just 1 block away, so you can't be bored if you are around the hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto

Address: 579-16 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Rakuten and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hokke Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.