We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   579-16 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8216, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 141 hotels in Kyoto
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location just opposite the railway station as well as the bus station which makes it very easy for travelling. The staff are very polite. The rooms are small but very clean. Only thing is the check in is at 3 pm so be sure you have everything chalked out. We reached there at 10 in the morning, left our luggage at the reception and went sight seeing before we could check in at 3 pm. Buses available to Gion and Higshiyama from the bus station. Lot of eateries around. Highly recommended for convenience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    156
    61
    8
    3
See reviews for
37
127
62
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel is located directly in front of the Kyoto JR station, on the north side. It makes access to everything in Kyoto very convenient. There are plenty of restaurants from all price ranges and cuisines within walking distance.
Our room was very small, especially considering the price. There was barely room for a full size bed. There was no closet. In the bathroom, the same faucet supplied water to the sink and the shower (with a diverter valve) so one could use only the shower or the sink at any one time. The wall dividing the rooms is also quite thin, so if the person in the adjoining room turns and hits the wall while sleeping, you can hear it.
On the plus side, there is free Wi-Fi at the hotel.
The staff were attentive but when we went to pick up our luggage the following afternoon, the clerks go busy and forgot about us. They did apologize profusely, though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Excellent location, great service and helpfully organised our luggage to be sent to our next hotel without a problem. Free wifi plus a computer area which allowed free printing which was useful. Right outside is subway entrance and bus to and from Gion and Higashiyama stops right in front. Highly recommended for where it is.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

of the 3 places i stayed in japan, this was the least memorable or remarkable, but that isn't necessary a bad thing!
the location is JUST out of the metro exit, and an easy 3 minute stroll from the Shinkansen / JR stations. very easy to hop on a bus to virtually anywhere in Kyoto you'd want to tour.
staff were nice, place very clean.
smallish room, which is expected, but there was no window in our room, which made it a bit claustrophobic.
also note - they wouldn't let us check in until 2:45/3pm - we had taken an early morning train in from Tokyo so would have liked to have gotten settled and checked-in straight away. they did of course hold our bags whilst we went out exploring, but just be aware of that time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The main reason I booked this hotel is the location, it's very close to Kyoto JR station and main JR bus terminal. (JR bus for traveling in Kyoto itself and JR train for visiting nearby cities such as Nara or Osaka)
Front desk was very polite (standard for hotel in Japan) I booked for small double room (means smaller than standard double room) the room and bed were small as its name but it was ok for me, if you are not sure you guys can fit in small bed, book standard room instead :p
There are so many shops and restaurants before station, in station, including Isetan department store, oh and Yodobashi store just 1 block away, so you can't be bored if you are around the hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Arrived on a late train. Walked out of the main Karasuma Entrance across the forecourt bus terminal at there it was across the road. A Hotel in a hard to beat location if you are using trains and buses and lets face it as a tourist in Kyoto what else are you going to use!

The Pro's - Location. Clean and good value. Staff speak passable English which is good as I speak awful Japanese :-) Good dining options nearby in the eateries in the station underpasses. Folders in the foyer of the the Hotel detail tourist attractions and tips on getting there. They uncomplainingly store your luggage once you check out. Typical capsule style Japanese bathroom - functional and clean.

The Con's - Double Room small - even by Japanese standards. Bed located up against the wall meaning you have to climb over your partner to get out. The pillows are typical Japanese style which means pretty lumpy! Hotel was pretty full and the WiFi really slow. Small opaque window with minimal natural light.

In Summary - Great location and good value. A quality tourist class motel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and is my 4th time to Kyoto. The reasons for choosing this are location and price (10,000 yen for a twin room without breakfast). Extremely cheap!

1. Location
- directly opposite JR Kyoto station (go towards Karasuma exit)
- is only 10-15mins walk from JR station platform and 3mins from bus interchange
- Porta mall exit C is a few steps away from the hotel but please don't exit there with suitcase since there is no elevator but steps. Take the main walkways.
- is the best place to start your sightseeing with access to buses and subway and JR/Kintetsu rail
- get a bus pass for 500yen and you can covered 99% of the sightseeing areas. Subway is more expensive.
- lotsa food and shopping around the area (behind the hotel is a supermarket at B2 of Yodobashi, there are also lotsa electronics, cosmetics, stationeries, etc available). You can grab water, instant noodles, fruits, snacks)
-JR Kyoto has many restaurants, Isetan and other shops for young and trendy ladies)
-Ogawa coffeeshop is just right downstairs for breakfast/coffee/dessert
- there are no historic sites within 500m but if you like you can visit Kyoto Tower which is just 50m away

2. Rooms
- HUGE! At least 30sqm with plenty of room for luggage.
- comfy beds but not so good pillows.
- good sound proofing and extremely clean
- I wish their towels were more fluffy and thicker
-as usual they provide amenities like shampoo, conditioner, toothbrush, razor, combs, cotton buds and sshower gel like other Japanese hotels
- the decor is basic but I can't complain for the price
- I know some reviews mentioned tiny rooms, just make sure you don't choose semi-double room if you like space. Is only a little more for that space which I reckon is totally worth paying!
- free wifi and fast speed
- our room has the view of JR station. This is apparently only for twin and bigger rooms. The other rooms hardly have any windows.

3. Service
- check in is at 3pm and checkout is 10am so is not great for those that arrive early from Osaka/Tokyo however they do keep the luggage for you and Japan is safe so trust them with your bags
-polite and basic English spoken
- self service is expected for moving your own luggage ans helping yourselves to the free maps, sightsee info and free facial masks at the hotel lobby.
- they provide safe keeping of passport since there is no safety box in the room.

Overall this is a highly functional hotel at a good price and accessible location. If you are fine with no frills, this is definitely for you. Do book early as I see that is very popular with tourists. I had to scout for many booking sites before finding an available room using Japanican.com.

Ps: there is a takoyaki van selling delicious octopus balls outside from 9pm. Pls try it being a famous local snack.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto

Address: 579-16 Higashi Shiokojicho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8216, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 141 hotels in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Rakuten, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hokke Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.