We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked a semi-double room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori to your Saves list
APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Nishi Aburakoji-cho, Shiokoji Aburakojidori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8234, Japan (Kyoto Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 331 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Booked a semi-double room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Near the Kyoto Station. That's a plus. Most people will get confuse with the other APA Kyoto ekimae hotel, which is just behind this one.

Has a small ladies onsen. I liked the one outside where you will get to feel the cool breeze. The room is pretty small and I believe most Japanese hotels are like this. The hotel provides nice Shiseido toiletries, body soap, syampoo and conditioner.

There is a nice Ramen shop behind this hotel as you walk towards BIC Camera. It is next to a bicycle rental shop. The place is convenient and the cleanliness is fine. If you opt for the eco-friendly service, you will get a free bottle of water each day. Will come back even though it is small.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    195
    110
    30
    8
See reviews for
36
78
106
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stayed one night at this hotel. I probably would have only wanted to stay a most three days there. It's not a good hotel if you're going to spending say like a week or longer there. Very close to the station, however I did have a hard time finding my way back once when wandering around near the station. The Womens onsen is very small and felt a bit dirty (not the water just the feel of the room). However it was nice to sit in the outside bath with the breeze. The WIFI in the room stopped working at one point and I had to go down to the lobby, they told me it was probably because there were so many people using it, which makes sense but it was still a nuisance. Didn't have a lot of trouble with being able to communicate with the staff, although I did try asking for directions to the Golden Pavilion and they weren't able to help me, even when I had a map with a picture of the Pavilion. Also I was in bed watching TV and kept finding these tiny little bugs (I mean really small). Don't know what they were but besides it being a bit gross there were only a few (like three or four) which I killed and then wasn't bothered. The room was very very small but since it was just me it was fine. I did have a good nights sleep there and had a pretty good view.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We asked for non smoking rooms, and ended up with two smoking rooms instead. This was not good. The rooms were very small and the staff did not speak english. The bathroom was clean and had free soap and shampoo, but that was it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The location of this hotel is great, 2min to the main JR station. The room was clean and comfortable albeit a bit small. Wouldn't recommend the buffet breakfast, was a bit expensive at 1500 yen a head for what was on offer. Plenty of coffee shops and restaurants nearby that could do a more affordable western or japanese breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAPAN
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

At the top floor, there is a big public bath.
You can enjoy several featured bathes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We booked the semi double room and it was so small we hardly had a place to put ourselves. It’s basically a double bed and very little else. Luckily they had space and moved us to the 9th floor (9 to 11 are premier floors) to a double room, (not without charging an extra $20/night) seems that "semi" has a meaning here.... This new room was still very small but bearable, not that we had other options…
The hotel is located 5-7 min walk form the train and bus stations which makes it easy for moving around (most in-city transportation is via bus). BUT is not the only hotel in that vicinity…
For what it offers the hotel was overpriced. We were visiting in a busy week; still $160 per night (including the $20 we paid for the upgrade) seems to me a lot for what they give you…
My recommendation, don’t wait and book well in advance you will find better hotels and deals, if you have to stay there don't go for the "semi" unless you are 30 or younger :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Wife and I stayed 6 nights in this hotel from April 9th. We booked a premier semi double room in January. We were given a room on the 9th floor which was designated as a premier floor (9 to 11 floors). The room was very small and we had to squeeze in the luggage and to organise the placement of clothings etc to provide some space to move around. The bed was adequate for 2 asian sized adults but without much space to toss around. Room cleaning was efficient and toiletries were provided each day. Water pressure for the baths was very strong.
The hotel is located very near the Kyoto train station, being about 10 mins. walk from the central gate of the station. The bus terminal is in front of the railway station. Traveling around city by bus and rail is thus very convenient. Numerous food outlets are located within and around the station area.
There is an onsen on the 11th floor, free for hotel guests and we made use of it to soak ourselves in after the end of each days traveling. It was very relaxing.
We do not have any negative comments on the hotel. It is just a small business-like hotel without any frills.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori

Address: 1 Nishi Aburakoji-cho, Shiokoji Aburakojidori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8234, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 331 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori 3*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel, Hotels.com, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apa Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.