We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 minutes from kyoto station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori

Save Saved
You added APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Nishi Aburakoji-cho, Shiokoji Aburakojidori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8234, Japan (Kyoto Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 142 hotels in Kyoto
norwich
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“5 minutes from kyoto station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

On our first attempt at trying to find the hotel it took us a little longer, however once we mastered the route it is so close to the train station. As we were exploring kyoto and the surrounding area everyday this was very handy. The rooms are quite small, this is normal for Japanese hotels. So moving round your room with all your stuff was a little bit tricky. Check in was quick and staff seemed helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    186
    103
    19
    6
See reviews for
33
67
102
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel has a great location - 5 min walk from Kyoto station. I stayed there 4 times during my trips, always booking a room with breakfast option. At 70,000 yen per night, not bad at all. The room is small, typical for a business hotel. Window opens. There is a coin operated washer and dryer in the changing room of the communal bath on the top floor. Toiletries include shampoo, conditioner, soap, disposable razor, disposable toothbrush with toothpaste, and hair brush. Slippers are provided with disposable paper inserts. Iron is available upon request. Yukata is also provided. The breakfast is buffet style, with plenty Japanese and Western selections. Staff communicates in English well. The best for me is the big bath on the top floor. There is a large hot bath indoors, a sauna, cold bath, and a smaller hot bath outdoors. Wonderful and empty at 6 a.m., busier in the evenings but I never had an instance where it was too crowded. I always pick this hotel because of the hot bath, and I am always absolutely satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Reasonably-priced. Room is small like most Jap hotel but sufficient and clean. Good public hot bath area, with outdoor bath. Good room service. Good to stay for business trip sleepover, do not expect more than that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I've been in this hotel in August. This hotel was very nice and I've been there two times. I've to say that the first time the room was quite good, while the second time it was small and a little claustrophobic. Just nearby there is the Station (around the corner) and Tourist Information Office and the Kyoto Tower which was a good landmark to spot my hotel from far. The hotel itself was nice, clean and the personnel very kind. I loved the breakfasts there! If I'd come back to Kyoto, I'd take it again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Accessible with an approximately 8 mins walk to Kyoto station. Equipped with an open air bath in the rooftop, it provides real comfort after a day of shopping and even shrine visits, although I must mention the onsen is pretty small and old. Breakfast spread skew more towards the the local preference, mackerels, tofu, miso, etc. Great service from the receptionist!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patra
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Pros
------
10 minute walk from Kyoto Station
Good rates
Free wired internet

Cons
-------
Small rooms
Internet connection a bit come-and-go
Small Lobby
As the rooms were small, maids have to leave linens, towels etc in the corridors. Not a nice thing to see
Room with a view to another room, 5 meters away

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

My room is super small. No wardrobe. Can not say it's comfortable. But it's very closed to Kyoto station. Within 10 minutes by walk. For the first time visitor like me, it's OK because it's very cheap comparing with other hotels in Kyoto. 我的房間非常小。沒有衣櫃。不算舒適。但它很靠近京都車站。10分鐘內的步行路程。像我這樣第一次到京都的遊客,這是可接受的,因為與其他位於京都的酒店比較,它的房價非常便宜。

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori

Address: 1 Nishi Aburakoji-cho, Shiokoji Aburakojidori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8234, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 142 hotels in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apa Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.