We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising experience of Japanese style business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori

Save Saved
You added APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Nishi Aburakoji-cho, Shiokoji Aburakojidori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8234, Japan (Kyoto Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 142 Hotels in Kyoto
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Surprising experience of Japanese style business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We were booked into this hotel by a Japanese travel agent for our 4 day stay in Kyoto, and were at first disappointed - the ambiance of the entrance was an apparently "shady" back street ally with those suspicious characters you see in dark Japanese movies (something we did not experience much of in our otherwise typically clean, safe, efficient tour of Japan that most tourists see), and it seemed to be of lower grade that the other APA hotel you have to pass to get to it from the train station. However, by the end we were won over. Yes it is a "Japanese style" hotel with small (but clean and of course efficient) rooms, and does not cater to foreign tourists so English is limited. But it had the best breakfast buffet (Japanese) of the 7 hotels we stayed at in Japan, and the Onsen on the top floor was terrific with indoor/outdoor and cold pools. As room rate was part of blended package I cannot comment on the value side, but for those looking for an authentic middle range Japanese style hotel, this is highly recommended. Location is good for those traveling in Japan by train.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    188
    104
    20
    6
See reviews for
33
67
103
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I booked this hotel after deciding to take location and cost over other issues. In the end, I got what I bargained for, but suffered the consequences after disregarding warning by fellow travelers about the puny rooms.

Finding the hotel was not that hard. Just walk from the train station to Bic Camera (that huge electronics and household appliance stores) and keep going in the same direction until you hit the end of the road – you’ll come across the other APA hotel along the way, but ignore it and keep going. When the road turns, follow the path north (you’ll see a small noodle shop along the way) until you see handicap path next to some steps leading up. Go up the steps, turn a corner, and you’ll see another set of handicap path + steps leading down (this area looks like public outdoor place behind a huge office building). By the time you get to ground level once again, the back entrance of the hotel right in front of you.

The room I stayed in was clean (white bed sheet is a good sign), and it had all the amenities you expected. The public bath on the top floor has a steam room, indoor bath, and outdoor bath. Just remember to bring a 100-yen coin as a deposit for your locker and your room card (which could be stored in the waterproof bag attached to the locker key). My best experience during my stay was soaking in the outdoor hot bath, enjoying the light drizzle on my face and cold air.

Yet, there’s one thing that became the deal breaker: the SIZE of the room. I've stayed in small rooms in Tokyo hotels, but it’s hard to imagine rooms smaller than THAT! We only have two luggage, and there wasn't enough room to set them out without blocking the door! It’s not hard to imagine the fun time we had trying to reorganize our belongings in such a cramped room on the night before we left…

As for the bathroom… well, it definitely sets a new record for fitting a bathtub, toilet, and sink in a space where I can almost touch the two opposite walls with my arms extended.

The Good:

- Price

- Location (for souvenirs, electronics, and food)

- Huge Public Bath (especially the outdoor one on a cold winter night)

- Clean


The Bad:

- Room Size

- and Room Size

- and Room Size....

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I recently visited Kyoto for the IDF-WPR Medical congress. Kyoto, Japan is a beautiful city with many sights to see and places to visit. Their small hole-in-wall restaurants are surprisingly cheap and serve good food. But this review is about the hotel we stayed at. It was assigned by the congress organizers and was not really the choice of our company sponsors. They shouldn't have been included in the list of choices. Don't get me wrong. There are nice things to say about the hotel. Their amenities (shampoo, body wash, etc) are top-of-the -line name brands. Their toilet has a remote control bidet and shower whose volume of water flow can be controlled. The toilet seat is heated (like most in Japan); they have a hair dryer; aircon and heater because it can get really cold. All nice so far isn't it? But I am not a very tall nor big person but I found the hotel room very small and cramped. I had a travel companion who is a tall lady who said that whenever she would pee, the toilet door needed to be open because her legs wouldn't fit. You open the door from the corridor and voila- take 3 steps and there's the bed. The gap between the bed and the dressing/office table is maybe one foot- not 12 inches but one foot or one shoe... and I am a size 6.5. And there is an internet by LAN but no wifi in the room.

But Kyoto is really extraordinary so if you are looking for a place to just sleep in then this is the place for you. If you want to reach all your gadgets from the bed- phone, iPad, alarm- and your glasses with just one stretch of your hand, then you will enjoy this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed there in March with my friend for a Sakura holiday in Kyoto. It is my second time there and I think we made a great choice staying in this hotel! First of all, things in Japan is expensive enough so a good budget hotel is essential. We stayed in a semi-double room with 2 medium sized suitcase. It was tight and we had to skip over our suitcases to get into the room. I guess it is average size for Japanese hotel and it was ok for 2 tiny Asian gals. The room was spotless and had all the essential things including hair drier, mini fridge etc. The best thing abt the hotel is the public bath (onsen) on the top floor!!!! We went there everynight after the long day and relaxed there. We did not use the tiny ensuite bathroom for shower at all. They have many pools with different temperature and a outdoor bath. Also stream room and sauna. It was free of charge for guests and we fully enjoyed it!!! ( for those not familiar with jap culture, it is actually for bathing so u need to take a shower there first before entering the onsen and absolutely no swimsuit allowed) Another good thing about this hotel was the location. It was 5 min walk from Kyoto station and the main bus stop so getting around was not a problem. We had a blast at the underground shopping mall just beneath Kyoto station and the ramen street there was also great!!!

All in all, I think it is a very good budget hotel in Kyoto for holiday or business, but you need to pack light.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Pretty popular business hotel near the Kyoto station.
Getting there - come out of the Kyoto station north exit. You will have the Tall structure of Kyoto Tower facing you. Right in front of you, you will see the bus stand. Look to your left - you will see the Kyoto post building, a Lawson and cafe veloce. Turn by veloce and walk a good 10 minutes. You will then reach a junction, which is the horikawa dori jn. Take a left here - the hotel is just 5 steps from here. 

The room at Apa - in typical Japanese fashion , the rooms are small and compact, maybe the attached bath was a little cramped. The table was a bit narrow and cluttered, so if you are u are unpacking a bit, make sure you check everything before u check out. 

I had forgotten my file with a JR pass when I checked out.. And came back to the hotel only at night to enquire. The staff did their checks and it was given to me the next morning. 

Tip on arriving at Kyoto station - if you are arriving from Tokyo on a JR pass, you wd come via the Hikari Shinkansen. The Shinkansen terminal is on the south part of he station. You have to take the pedestrian walkway on the 2nd fl and cross over to the north exit. 
If you arrive after 8 pm at Kyoto station, a good idea is to eat at the Cube or at Eat Paradise on the 10th/11th fl and then get out of the station. Also Remember - the Kyoto tourist information counter closes at 1900 hrs. 

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithgow, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Dont expect flashiness here. Don't expect a soft bed either. If the only thing I can say as constructive feedback, would be the beds. The beds are very very hard and not comfortable at all. My husband and I had very sore backs from sleeping there. Other than that, the rooms are clean. Facilities are good. The restaurant downstairs is very good too. One thing to know which is handy, the washing machine and dryer are located on the top floor actually in the dressing rooms of the single sex spas. You need your room card to access them.

Room Tip: Club floor has bigger rooms and I suspect softer beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for three nights with five others, all in standard twin rooms. The hotel itself is located about a 3-5 minute walk from Kyoto Station. As we had arrived earlier via the Shinkansen, this location was of great convenience to us. Check-in was friendly and efficient, and most of the staff at the front desk could speak English. The lobby had an unappealing smokey smell, which I assume was from the restaurant.

Our rooms were very small, there was little room for two large suitcases. Having said this the rooms were very clean, and provided a good level of features for a three star hotel. The best aspect was the free in-room internet, something that I would not expect of a 3 star hotel. There were no English-language TV channels, however. Another positive is that there are a vast array of restaurants and shops in the area, being in close proximity to a new Aeon Mall as well as the Kyoto Station (which has a number of great eating places).

We had a slight issue with asking for directions at the front counter, it seems as if staff don't have a good knowledge of the local area. We asked if there was a laundromat nearby, and were instead told about the hotel's laundry services, which are very expensive. We gave up asking in the end and walked about 20 minutes to a coin-operated laundry facility (searched on Google).

If you are looking for a cheap and clean hotel near Kyoto station for a short stay, and don't mind the extra small rooms, then I would recommend this hotel. If you are after something a little more confortable, there are a number of other more up-market hotels surrounding the station.

TIP: If you are lost and can't find the hotel, ask for directions at a JR Information Desk within Kyoto station, they have very friendly staff who can speak English.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori

Address: 1 Nishi Aburakoji-cho, Shiokoji Aburakojidori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8234, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 142 Hotels in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apa Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.