We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel with onsen bath!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori

Best prices from these 12 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori to your Saves list
APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Nishi Aburakoji-cho, Shiokoji Aburakojidori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8234, Japan (Kyoto Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 143 Hotels in Kyoto
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel with onsen bath!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed there in March with my friend for a Sakura holiday in Kyoto. It is my second time there and I think we made a great choice staying in this hotel! First of all, things in Japan is expensive enough so a good budget hotel is essential. We stayed in a semi-double room with 2 medium sized suitcase. It was tight and we had to skip over our suitcases to get into the room. I guess it is average size for Japanese hotel and it was ok for 2 tiny Asian gals. The room was spotless and had all the essential things including hair drier, mini fridge etc. The best thing abt the hotel is the public bath (onsen) on the top floor!!!! We went there everynight after the long day and relaxed there. We did not use the tiny ensuite bathroom for shower at all. They have many pools with different temperature and a outdoor bath. Also stream room and sauna. It was free of charge for guests and we fully enjoyed it!!! ( for those not familiar with jap culture, it is actually for bathing so u need to take a shower there first before entering the onsen and absolutely no swimsuit allowed) Another good thing about this hotel was the location. It was 5 min walk from Kyoto station and the main bus stop so getting around was not a problem. We had a blast at the underground shopping mall just beneath Kyoto station and the ramen street there was also great!!!

All in all, I think it is a very good budget hotel in Kyoto for holiday or business, but you need to pack light.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    190
    104
    20
    6
See reviews for
33
68
103
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Pretty popular business hotel near the Kyoto station.
Getting there - come out of the Kyoto station north exit. You will have the Tall structure of Kyoto Tower facing you. Right in front of you, you will see the bus stand. Look to your left - you will see the Kyoto post building, a Lawson and cafe veloce. Turn by veloce and walk a good 10 minutes. You will then reach a junction, which is the horikawa dori jn. Take a left here - the hotel is just 5 steps from here. 

The room at Apa - in typical Japanese fashion , the rooms are small and compact, maybe the attached bath was a little cramped. The table was a bit narrow and cluttered, so if you are u are unpacking a bit, make sure you check everything before u check out. 

I had forgotten my file with a JR pass when I checked out.. And came back to the hotel only at night to enquire. The staff did their checks and it was given to me the next morning. 

Tip on arriving at Kyoto station - if you are arriving from Tokyo on a JR pass, you wd come via the Hikari Shinkansen. The Shinkansen terminal is on the south part of he station. You have to take the pedestrian walkway on the 2nd fl and cross over to the north exit. 
If you arrive after 8 pm at Kyoto station, a good idea is to eat at the Cube or at Eat Paradise on the 10th/11th fl and then get out of the station. Also Remember - the Kyoto tourist information counter closes at 1900 hrs. 

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithgow, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Dont expect flashiness here. Don't expect a soft bed either. If the only thing I can say as constructive feedback, would be the beds. The beds are very very hard and not comfortable at all. My husband and I had very sore backs from sleeping there. Other than that, the rooms are clean. Facilities are good. The restaurant downstairs is very good too. One thing to know which is handy, the washing machine and dryer are located on the top floor actually in the dressing rooms of the single sex spas. You need your room card to access them.

Room Tip: Club floor has bigger rooms and I suspect softer beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for three nights with five others, all in standard twin rooms. The hotel itself is located about a 3-5 minute walk from Kyoto Station. As we had arrived earlier via the Shinkansen, this location was of great convenience to us. Check-in was friendly and efficient, and most of the staff at the front desk could speak English. The lobby had an unappealing smokey smell, which I assume was from the restaurant.

Our rooms were very small, there was little room for two large suitcases. Having said this the rooms were very clean, and provided a good level of features for a three star hotel. The best aspect was the free in-room internet, something that I would not expect of a 3 star hotel. There were no English-language TV channels, however. Another positive is that there are a vast array of restaurants and shops in the area, being in close proximity to a new Aeon Mall as well as the Kyoto Station (which has a number of great eating places).

We had a slight issue with asking for directions at the front counter, it seems as if staff don't have a good knowledge of the local area. We asked if there was a laundromat nearby, and were instead told about the hotel's laundry services, which are very expensive. We gave up asking in the end and walked about 20 minutes to a coin-operated laundry facility (searched on Google).

If you are looking for a cheap and clean hotel near Kyoto station for a short stay, and don't mind the extra small rooms, then I would recommend this hotel. If you are after something a little more confortable, there are a number of other more up-market hotels surrounding the station.

TIP: If you are lost and can't find the hotel, ask for directions at a JR Information Desk within Kyoto station, they have very friendly staff who can speak English.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 days as part of a roundtrip through Japan. The hotel might not be so easy to find as it is anonymously located in a small side street and the anterior almost looks like an office building. Luckily I got some great walking directions from a friendly taxi driver along the way, so here are some more detailed directions: exit from Kyoto station west gate; walk towards post office; across the street you’ll see Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto; keep walking straight ahead on the left side of the street (you’ll pass Caffe Veloce); walk straight ahead for about 4-5 min. until you see the big grey Omron building on your left hand; you’ll find the hotel in the first following side street.
I checked in really late at 11.45 pm, but the reception desk was still fully manned and the staff was very polite. I was offered a single room on the 7th floor. The room was very basic and extremely small (even for Japanese standards- I stayed in other single rooms in Osaka and near Kansai airport which were quite a bit larger). The room was exceptionally clean though. Unfortunately the bed was really hard; at times I wondered if it would’ve just been comfier to sleep on the floor. The bathroom was also really small, but had a nice Japanese toilet with automatic seat warmer and built in bidet, as well as a tiny bathtub- probably not doable for someone over 5.7- and extra toiletries (big bottles of shampoo, conditioner, body wash razor, comb etc.). There was no safe, so you were advised to store any valuables with at the reception desk, which became a bit tedious after a while. Breakfast was included and there was a lot of variety every day (delicious sausages, nuggets, noodles, meatballs as well as the standard continental and Asian breakfast items).
The location was amazing. There are several 7-elevens, restaurants and cafés (for instance Caffe Veloce which is open 24-7) within walking distance, not to mention the Aeon mall, where you’ll find the large Kohyo supermarket, all kinds of clothing stores (Tommy Hilfiger, the GAP etc.) as well as several restaurants, a foodcourt and a cinema amongst others. In addition the hotel is located within a 15 min. walking distance of the Kyoto aquarium, temple Toji and Nishi-Honganji temple.
The English comprehension of the reception staff is not extremely good, but when I spoke slowly, they understood most requests. There’s wifi in the lobby (which worked when I was staying there) and there’s wired internet in the rooms (which I couldn’t get to work). All in all, this hotel has a lot of nice qualities, but in the end I would prefer the Kyoto tower hotel, where I stayed at the end of my roundtrip, just because it was closer to the station and the bed was a lot comfier.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huelva, Spain
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Located next to Kyoto Station APA Kyoto is an unexpensive hotel with clean but small rooms, nice staff and a great communal area and spa on the last floor.
The rooms are small but well equipped with TV, bathroom, ammenities, fridge, ... What you usually expect from a 3/4 star big hotel.
I wouldn´t mind spending a night in there again but I think there are more interesting options in Kyoto, especially ryokans and tradicional Japanese style houses.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This is your typical business hotel in Japan. In comparison to Mystays inn, the rooms were much smaller here so there's no available space for a cot. This is hotel that's probably good for friends and couples and It's also good for travelling business man who need a place to sleep for the night.

We've gotten a smoking room because it was the peak season and the non-smoking rooms were no longer available. Huge mistake! The smell of smoke was really unbearable! And the air fresheners provided didn't do much to help. Fortunately, we could open the windows wide open so that helped with the ventilation. The size of the room is really very small. Once you put 2 medium size luggage and a notebook messenger luggage bag, you'd barely have any space to walk! The work desk is also fairly cramped with barely enough room to squeeze your notebook on the table!

Now, the bed we've gotten was a double bed, but the size is probably more like a single+. There's hardly any room left to fit either myself or my wife after we've put our son to sleep. It can comfortably fit 1 adult and 1 infant and that's about it. The 2nd adult would have to sleep with his/her feet sticking out of the bed. The mattress is fairly hard IMO and me and my wife both woke up having a sore back.

That aside, if you sightseeing tourist who just needs a room to sleep in, this hotel isn't that bad. It's just 8 mins walk to the main Kyoto train station and bus stops so it's really centrally located. One of the biggest saving graces provided for by this hotel is the huge Onsen and outdoor Onsen they have at the top of the 11th floor. It's free for hotel guest to use and it is such a pleasure to bathe there instead of the pathetic toilet found in our rooms.

Internet is free using their in room cat-5 connection and wi-fi is only free in the lobby. Not recommended for family but probably good for everything else

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori

Address: 1 Nishi Aburakoji-cho, Shiokoji Aburakojidori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8234, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 143 Hotels in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori 3*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apa Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.