We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great in all regards barring inaccessible wifi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori to your Saves list
APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Nishi Aburakoji-cho, Shiokoji Aburakojidori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8234, Japan (Kyoto Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 142 Hotels in Kyoto
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great in all regards barring inaccessible wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

having already stayed in the other APA hotel in osaka, i figured what to expect from this hotel. rooms here were larger than the one in osaka, albeit barely. hotel had public bath and spa facilities on the top floor which were excellent, rooms clean and well furnished. quite a distance from kyoto station though, its sister hotel, apa hotel kyoto ekimae, which i mistakenly stumbled into at first, is nearer. a major gripe of mine is the inability to access wifi in the lobby, as a result i often had to go to the other APA hotel to use their wifi there. not sure the reason. other than that, excellent experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    190
    104
    20
    6
See reviews for
33
68
104
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I'm sure people are complaining about the size of the room, but hey, it 's really amazing what Japanese can do with small space. The bed was like 70% of the room but I didn't feel that cramped. Decors were tasteful, amenities complete, ofuro in the hotel even.

I had a good night's sleep. That's the important thing.

It was near the station, about 5 minutes away. If you can't find it, just ask the police. Show them the map of the thing. They do know that there are 2 APA hotels near the station.

I've been to Kyoto around 5 times, and this one is very convenient for just resting after a long day, or if you want to stay a bit nearer to the station.

If you want a Japanese experience, then a ryokan might do you better.

Room Tip: Get the room from japanican.com :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Top Contributor
459 reviews 459 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
288 helpful votes 288 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I must admit that it was a small room but the service was good.The room window did open in the double bedded room in which we stayed (premium level 9). The bed was comfortable and the pillows were nicer than usual. The location near to the bus station was great and because of that we able to travel any where easily with the daily bus pass which cost 500 yen (for unlimited daily travel). The other good thing about the hotel was that there was a very large spa and nice sauna on the 11th floor. The breakfast was great as it was self serve and you could eat as much as you like. My wife and I are well over 5 foot and had no trouble.
Also the closeness to the post office was essential for the ATM's which allowed any western card to be used with the cirrus system.

Room Tip: get the premium levels which include a bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Stayed one night in a single room. Absolutely tiny, bed unbelievably hard, window doesn't open so no fresh air. Very clean though and a good location. Great for someone who is 5 feet tall or less.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Conveniently located from the train station. Which was fantastic since we were coming from Osaka and heading to Tokyo. Transit system was pretty easy to figure out as well to get to many of the famous temples.
Rooms were typical Japanese small. Has all you need and Ive stayed a few nights in these standard hotels, so I was use to it.
Didnt mind the beds so much as everyone else pointed out. Again functional, with Internet and good location for a good budget price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

In my tiny room I could hear every word uttered by people passing in the hall, including the cleaning staff early each morning, and frequently even their footsteps. The beds are slightly more comfortable than a slab of concrete might be. The fact that you can walk to Kyoto Station in five minutes goes a long way in making up for that, as does the free internet in the rooms. Make sure you bring plenty of clean clothing because the laundry service is a rip-off (600 yen for one pair of jeans, about $8).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights between 19th-22nd April 2001. This hotel is very close to the station which was really convenient. The bed was a bit hard, but we don't really mind it and the room was very clean. The highlight or rather the thing that makes this hotel very very worthwhile is the spa located on the topmost floor. For the price that we were paying per night, the spa is indeed a bonus. In lieu of taking a bath in the bathroom in the room (which was tiny, anyway), we took our baths in the spa. The message chair and amenities provided in the spa was fantastic. As always of the APA hotel chain, the staff were very helpful. Service was great.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori

Address: 1 Nishi Aburakoji-cho, Shiokoji Aburakojidori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8234, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 142 Hotels in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori 3*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apa Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.