We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The spa at the top floor was fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori to your Saves list
APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Nishi Aburakoji-cho, Shiokoji Aburakojidori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8236, Kyoto Prefecture (Kyoto Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #227 of 344 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The spa at the top floor was fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights between 19th-22nd April 2001. This hotel is very close to the station which was really convenient. The bed was a bit hard, but we don't really mind it and the room was very clean. The highlight or rather the thing that makes this hotel very very worthwhile is the spa located on the topmost floor. For the price that we were paying per night, the spa is indeed a bonus. In lieu of taking a bath in the bathroom in the room (which was tiny, anyway), we took our baths in the spa. The message chair and amenities provided in the spa was fantastic. As always of the APA hotel chain, the staff were very helpful. Service was great.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    217
    130
    45
    14
See reviews for
42
101
118
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Kyoto was very busy as a local temple was celebrating a 750 year anniversary so this was one of the few hotels available. That said it was perfectly suitable. The room was a little small but this is a common theme in Japan, particularly the western style/business hotels. It was clean and well equipped. The staff were very helpful and patient with our lack of Japanese and also stored our luggage after check out allowing a few extra hours in Kyoto. Only a 15 min walk from the train station and free wifi in the lobby.

Room Tip: Free wifi in the lobby and luggage storage
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for a week during April 2010 with a friend.

We had a good sized twin room, it was not huge but big enough for what we needed, the beds were good sized and there was a wardrobe and a desk.

The bathroom was clean too and was similar to a wet room, with a shower over a bath.

The staff were all very nice and were very forgiving when me and my friend forgot to check out on the right day!

The room was always clean and there was nice touches like a origami crane for each bed.

The location of the hotel is great and it was only a few minutes walk away from Kyoto station which was great for getting buses to the sights!

I would recommend this hotel to people and if you have any questions let me know.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

It is the typical business hotel in Japan, the room was extremely small, but it was very clean and the location is good since it is only a 5 minutes walk to the JR station, the price was very good, but I think I would have rather spent more money if I knew the rooms were that tiny.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

The hardest bed in Japan, I might as well have slept on the sidewalk. The room was miniscule, barely larger then the bathroom. This felt more like I was staying in a college dorm room rather then a major city hotel I was paying for.

That said, it has a great location, only 5 minutes from the JR station, coin laundry and several major sights. Oh, and the service was pretty decent.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
57 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Internet included in room
Great Breakfast included – Wide choice of Japanese food in addition to Western food (scrambled eggs, lean bacon, sausages, fries, rolls, coffee, juices, tea)

Rooms are not spacious – very compact but includes all amenities (hair dryer, coffee and tea, frig, flat panel TV

The spa on the 11th Floor has lockers available for 100 Yen. There’s traditional Japanese soaking pool and shower area with stools as well as a standup separate shower stall. There’s also a small outdoor soaking pool. Note that towels not to be taken into the pool area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

Pros
-great location (5 mins from JR Kyoto station good jump off for the sightseeing)
-room average size (our double beat the business hotel...)
-Free WIFi in Lobby! (so rare in Japan)

Cons
-have to navigate a bit to get to this hotel albeit it 5 minutes away from Kyoto Station
-stiff bed w hard pillows
-odd free tv programming... really strange stuff (suppose thats Japan for you)

All in all it was a good stay. Pretty good location located right near the massive Kyoto Station. The lobby had free Wi-Fi which was extremely rare in Japan. The rooms were clean and the double twin we had was spacious. No complaints here. The location was a bit hard to find though as it was behind the other very much nicer looking and more prominent displayed APA hotel. However we walked in, saw a map front and center and were able to find the hotel with relative ease.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori

Address: 1 Nishi Aburakoji-cho, Shiokoji Aburakojidori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8236, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 344 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori 3*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Agoda and Rakuten so you can book your APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apa Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.