We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for independent travellers / couples” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arklead Gojo Horikawa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Arklead Gojo Horikawa to your Saves list
Arklead Gojo Horikawa
2.5 of 5 Japanese Pension   |   700-1 Kakimotocho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8357, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for independent travellers / couples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during our 4 day visit to Kyoto and were pleasantly surprised! Given the low price we didn't quite knew what to expect. Imagine our surprise to find a new, clean, modern and spacey apartment! The apartment has a small kitchen with a regular sized fridge and a bathroom with separate toilet (a plus!) and even a bath and shower, including mini tv! The bedroom has airco, decent beds (one not quite 2p and one 1p) and even a free to use computer with internet. For a couple like us this was just perfect! Don't expect to meet other people here or any hotel service and this is the place for you as well.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

we picked this guesthouse given its high ranking on booking.com (9.3) and reasonable price (Yen7500/night for studio/2ppl) at Sakura Easter holiday.

The location is not particularly good and far away major scenic spots. However, it has quite a few buses nearby (within 5min walk) to almost all scenic spots. Kyoto station is 15min walk while MTR station is 10min walk. So if you buy daily bus pass or metro pass, the location is OK for you to reach all scenic spots easily.

The guesthouse is located in quiet lane in a neighbourhood but with convenience store nearby.

Room is larger than expected with open kitchen (but only boiling pot available and thus we don't cook at all) and seperate toilet and bathroom. All faciities are well brand new and well maintained. the room is very clean.

WIFI is very strong and fast at house. Towers/toothbrushes/shampoo/conditioner/shower gel are all provided. hair-dryer and fridge is provided also.

We didn't manage to see the landlord at all but it's not a problem. The landlord will give you email in advance with detailed instruction for check-in (key is placed at letter box at front door and pw will be provided to you in advance). Check-out is even simpler, just drop your key at front door box. Landlord can be communicted in english (i called her once before arrival).

No room clean up during your stay and basicly no help you can easily get from landlord during your stay.
So book it if you're independent experienced travellers. But pass it if you need lots of help from guesthouse.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We, a mature couple enjoyed our 7 days stay. The studio room unit were good, place clean and well maintained with WIFI, kitchen, toilet and bath facilties. It was our base to use our JR pass to travel to Himeji, Osaka and Kobe and to Nara.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

... and perhaps the best value guest house in Japan!

If you're looking for something 'traditional' or if you want the 'backpacker experience' then move along - this is not the place for you. If, however, you are travelling as a pair/couple (or as a three), aren't going to accommodation to make friends, look for cleanliness, functionality, and value for money, then this really is worth considering.

The rooms are actually small apartments (lots of people in Japan live in apartments this size or smaller), and comes with rudimentary cooking facilities (hob, microwave, kettle). The shower/bath area is typically what you will find in Japanese apartments. The bedroom is separate and features a small double bed (or a large single depending upon your definition) and a single bed, which are positioned quite close together. There's a PC with free wifi, from which you can also watch Japanese TV if you feel like reducing your intelligence.

The staff are friendly and very low key. As it's effectively self-catering accommodation, they book you in, give you the door key, and send you on your way. That's fine for me as I hate the usual overly fussy service that you commonly encounter in Japan, but I guess for the service focused it will be a negative.

The guest house is located in a residential area, reasonably close to Kyoto Station. It really isn't difficult to find, and we walked to Gion in about 20 minutes for evening entertainment. I guess it all depends upon how lazy you are, but if you really do want to be in the thick of things, then this isn't the place.

The best thing is the price - we paid an unbelievable ¥ 5225! Between two people this is about the lowest I've ever paid on my travels in Japan - and for accommodation that was far superior to some of the grubby guest houses/stinking dorm rooms I've stayed in - and in Kyoto of all places (one of the most expensive cities in Japan).

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The apartment is very new and modern and clean. We had a nice relaxing stay there. The room is big enough for two. And it has a good price. The only thing is that in the kitchen there are no tools or cups and plates. It is about 15 minutes walk from the train station. And quiet a walk to most of the temples, but I would choose this place again if I were in Kyoto.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arklead Gojo Horikawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arklead Gojo Horikawa

Address: 700-1 Kakimotocho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8357, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arklead Gojo Horikawa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Arklead Gojo Horikawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arklead Gojo Horikawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.