We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality and beautiful garden!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo to your Saves list
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
3.5 of 5
Ryokan
  |   34 Fukuchi Machi, Sakyo-Ku, Kyoto 606-8435, Kyoto Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #95 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hospitality and beautiful garden!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hospitality and atmosphere at this ryokan made our stay in Kyoto very memorable! I would definitely stay here again with my wife next time we visit Japan! We absolutely loved the garden and koi pond and also the relaxing hot baths. Our only regret is that we only stayed in Kyoto for two nights. Every member of the staff showed us the best in hospitality just like everyone in else in Japan has.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    80
    26
    19
    13
See reviews for
54
108
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed 4 nights with our 3 children in this traditional ryokan and enjoyed it a lot. The traditional rooms are simple but cleaned and with plenty of light. Although there is little English spoken, the staff is making all the efforts to serve you the best. The free bikes were well appreciated as you can discover many parts of the city from there. The hot bath was a treat after long visit days. One night we were disturbed by a dog barking in the neighbooring house and we were then upgraded to a suite for our last night which was amazing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were a group of 4. We arrived early from Osaka and therefore had to leave our bags in the ryokan early in the morning without checking in. The staff was very accommodating. We went sight-seeing all day and was able to return only after dinner. When we arrived, our rooms were ready and we were quite pleased with them.
On our last night, we had wanted to try having dinner at their restaurant, but we had decided too late and it had already closed. On the whole, we were had a pleasant and memorable traditional Japanese experience. We hope to one day go back and stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

For family, spouses, and special friends who can afford it, this is a lovely traditional place to stay, with a beautiful small garden, ofuro (hot bath), and amazing food. (The shabu-shabu is unbelievable, but so is the kaiseke.) The place is a little worn, but then it's something like 350 years old! But is meticulously cared for and seems to be of a different, serene world. We live in Tokyo and have visited 3 times this year -- with friends and just the two of us. The location, just down the street from the beautiful Nanzen-ji and gardens is fantastic. Easy access to the rest of Kyoto as well by catching a cab, bus, or train a short walk away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our short stay in this ryokan was one of the highlights of our honeymoon. Staff was very accommodating that they will really make you feel as if you're home. We would recommend their package with Kaiseki dinner as dining in their restaurant is a totally different experience. Food was superb and the ambiance was fabulous with their Japanese garden... Very romantic setting! Bicycles are also available for their guests at no cost. We actually biked our way to the nearby Nanzen-ji Temple. If you want to experience traditional Japanese hospitality, this place is well-recommended!

Room Tip: Request for a room on the 1st floor with the view of the Japanese garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Highly recommended accommodation if your looking for a quiet stay away out of the hustle and bustle of the city centre. The rooms were beautiful, clean, spacious and the staff were helpful and welcoming. My fiance proposed in the hotel restaurant over a delicious meal of Shabu Shabu and it couldn't have been more perfect. Even though it's out of town just a little bit it's lovely and tranquil and super close to a subway station which can take you anywhere. We loved this Ryokan and will definitely be coming back for our honeymoon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

A perfect place to stay in Kyoto. Staying in a ryokan is a once in a life time experience. Make sure to try the hot bath. Food is more than excelent. Location is very convenient. The hotel provides free bicicles, the perfect way to move around kyoto
Personally, im really looking forward to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo

Address: 34 Fukuchi Machi, Sakyo-Ku, Kyoto 606-8435, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#53 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional japanese style Ryokan/Inn (Gion Higashiyama / Kita Shirakawa / Kurama / Yase / Ohara Get the best out of a RYOKAN Kyoto, once prospering as the nation's capital for over 1,200 years is the city of arts, tradition and history. Kyoto plays a significant role in the identity of Japanese people. Experience this authentic part of Japan in a Ryokan. Why do Japanese people feel most comfortable on Tatami floors? Why do Japanese people from outside Kyoto praise Japanese food in Kyoto? Why is it difficult for Japanese people on vacation to decide whether to stay in a hotel or a Ryokan when they come to Kyoto? Kyoto is the city where Japanese people can reassure their ethnicity and remember the most important things about being Japanese. In a Ryokan, get more out of the basic necessities in life; food, shelter and clothing. An experience different from the common hotel. A Ryokan is an accommodation facility original to the owners taste, influenced by Japanese culture, style and feel. A service that can't be found anywhere else in the world; only here in Japan. Don't miss the opportunity to experience a deeper Japan. How to take a ONSEN style japanese bath room,large bath room. You are only to go inside the bath tub after you washed your body. First, you are to rinse your body with hot water. Washing beforehand helps to keep the water in bath tub clean. The rinsing and washing of your body with hot water also acclimatizes you to the temperature of the bath tub, which can be very hot. It is not advisable to jump into the water like diving in to a swimming pool. Please use discretion. Please do not put the hand towel into the bath tub water. Most people place the towel on their head. And remember do not use any soap or shampoo or other skin cleansers in bath tub either. Open 6:30AM to 10:00AM , 15:00PM to 23:00PM. Dining & WASHOKU japanese cuisine at Kyoto Garden Ryokan,Auberge, Yachiyo/Kyoto Inn,Hotel/Restaurant Restaurant photosThe Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo began as a WASHOKU restaurant and is still respected as an exclusive restaurant serving the traditional Kyoto style of dining. Our restaurant, called Kyoto Garden Restaurant YACHIYO(Dining & Garden Yachiyo) is right next to our ryokan, and serves Japanese culinary art. -Yachiyo`s cuisine is known as "Kyo-kaiseki"and drawson the rich traditions of Kyoto style multiple-course dining. Kyo-kaiseki represents one of the pinnacles in Japanese cuisine, a highly stylized manifestation of the principles of in-season produce and enjoyment of seasonal variation. Ryokan Yachiyo/Auberge/ Inn is a famous (RYOTEI) WASHOKU restaurant in Kyoto.KAISEKI and WAGYU Beef can be chosen through standard course, deluxe course, and luxury course and SUSHI,TEMPRA,SUKIYAKI,SHABUSHABU ,A vegetarian dinner courses . From JR Kyoto Station to Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo By taxi It is about a 25 minute ride (Approx.1800 JPN) by Taxi from the JR Kyoto (email hidden)ease tell the taxi driver to take you toUkyo-ku, Nanzenji Ryokan Yachiyo. By train (Subway Line) It is about 40 minutes by train.From the Kyoto station, take the Kyoto KARASUMA subway line traveling to KOKUSAI (website hidden) the Karasuma Oike Stn, change the train to the Tozai Subway Line traveling to Rokujizo. Get off at Keage Station.If you walk straight, along the Niomon Dori Street for 5 minutes, you will see the Yachiyo Ryokan on the right side. The entrance of the Ryokan is on the approach lane (Sando) that leads to Nanzenji Temple. By bus From JR Kyoto Station, it is about 50 minutes by bus.From the bus terminal A-1 at the JR Kyoto Station Karasuma Exit, take the bus No.5 And get off at the bus stop called Hosshoji-cho. Walk east, then take a right turn. If you walk 5 more minutes, you will find the entrance of the approach lane leading to Nanzenji Temple.Ryokan Yachiyo is just on the right side of the lane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Rakuten, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yachiyo Hotel Kyoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.