We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience, a real ryokan with true respect of traditions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seikoro Inn

Save Saved
You added Seikoro Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Seikoro Inn
4.0 of 5 Ryokan   |   467 Nishi Tachibanacho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 605-0907, Japan (Gion Higashiyama/Kita Shirakawa/Kurama/Yase/Ohara)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 194 Kyoto B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing experience, a real ryokan with true respect of traditions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just had an amazing time with my financee, the staff/family is amazing and helpful, you can feel a true respect of Japanese hospitality, the food is really really good, the honsen very well maintained and location is not bad too.

If you want to discover a real Ryokan experience, just don't hesitate!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    11
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
35
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Seikoro Inn. The experience was amazing in this beautifully appointed and tradition Ryokan. The service was faultless from the moment we arrived 2 hrs before checkin to leave our bags before exploring his amazing city. We traveled with our 11 and 13 year old and we were in a 2 room suite with ensuite,though I chose to use the the female Onsen in the basement which was spotlessly clean and very inviting as did my husband and son in the boys Onsen. We all sleep on futons which were set up while we ate dinner.
It is a must to have the traditional dinner Japanese at the Seikoro Inn which is delicious, the children chose the sukiyaki option which was wonderful as well. Then for breakfast we also chose the Japanese option with the children having the western breakfast.
The morning we went exploring Kyoto and the morning we left, the staff stood at the front entrance and saw us on our way, which was very gracious.
The position of Seikoro Inn is very accessible to the train and only a short stroll to the Gion District
Thank you Seikoro Inn for a wonderful Japanese experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The title of my review says it all, don't really have to say much about this place & the lovely family that runs it. On the expensive side, but fully worth it, the hosts make you feel like you are one of them. We were there for 2 days in mid October, the place was full, there were no more rooms available but the privacy this place provides & the attention that the hosts give you makes one feel that you are the only guests or even better that you are living in the comfort of your own home. Food is great & they do offer you a choice of western or Japanese breakfast. There is a hot spring bath in your room so that's fab. It's also all about the hosts that make this place so special. Thumbs up on this one :).

Room Tip: take a room on the ground floor that has almost like a private Japanese garden as you open your wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

A genuine and very comfortable experience for people wanting something more than an international hotel can offer. Very good food, faultless service and homely facilities. We had a private room with our own bathroom so were not required to use public baths which is not for the faint hearted or very modest. Only negative (minor) point is that the inn is situated close to a busy main road and if the window is open, the noise is loud. Other than that a very recommendable hotel and overall experience differentiated by superb service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed two nights in this traditional inn. We were carefully taken care of, principally by Hiro, but also other members of the staff, who were all extra attentive from the time we left our shoes at the door, until we left for the train station. Our Japanese-style room looked out to a lovely garden from a sitting area with a loveseat, chair and table, while our meals and sleep time took place in the tatami room. Our en suite bath and toilet were clean and modern.
Hiro brought us tea and cookies when we arrived, and arranged for our in-room dinner after we used the public baths (separated by gender.) Dressed in our yakatas, we enjoyed a traditional Japanese meal of many courses, beautifully prepared and served. Hiro made sure to explain the ingredients and recommended tasting order.
The sleeping mats and comforters were perfect. The next morning's breakfast was also served in our room, set up while we again used the peaceful baths. Hiro gave us recommendations for touring the many shrines and temples, and she showed us how to catch a bus to a distant site, with a recommendation for the daily bus pass.
The Seikora is well-located next to the river, just by Gojo-dori--easy to locate and close to many interesting sites. We recommend this beautiful traditional inn for a fantastic experience in Kyoto. Be sure to stay a couple of days (and nights) in Kyoto, as there is so much to see. Don't miss the Kiyomizu Temple, an easy walk from the ryokan,which I thought was the loveliest and most interesting of all the temples and shrines (and there are a lot!) For more contemporary activity, visit the food market.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a view of the garden and are very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Like some other reviewers we just stayed one night here due to our small budget but would highly recommend the experience of a traditional Japanese Inn. The rooms were beautiful and the staff were friendly and attentive. We had our own bathroom but also tried the public bath (for the full experience). You are given tea and Japanese cake in your room when you check in. When we came back from dinner (we didn't have the Kaiseki traditional dinner again due to budget - so cannot review that but I expect it was excellent) our beds were laid out and a pot of tea made. And when we checked out were given a complientary set of traditional Japanese postcards! Overall we felt we were treated like royalty and it was worth every penny we spent.

REMEMBER: Swap your shoes for slippers at the front of house and remove your slippers in your room before walking on the traditional bamboo mat floors! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

The service was outstanding. People were extraordinarily friendly, and the rooms were very comfortable. The Kaiseki dinner is great and I recommend it. The location is semi isolated, but only a 5 min taxi to the main road of shops and restaurants. They have the public bath if you are in to that which I am not, so can't rate it. It is expensive, but I like to write my reviews on a relative basis, and Kyoto is probably one of the most expensive cities, so I can't say the price is out of the ordinary for this area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seikoro Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seikoro Inn

Also Known As:
Seikoro Hotel
Seikoro Hotel Kyoto
Address: 467 Nishi Tachibanacho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 605-0907, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Gion Higashiyama/Kita Shirakawa/Kurama/Yase/Ohara
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seikoro Inn 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Seikoro Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seikoro Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.