We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GOOD PLACE TO STAY IN KYOTO” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto

Save Saved
You added RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Taimatsucho, Horikawa-Shiokoji, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8237, Japan (Kyoto Station)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #47 of 141 hotels in Kyoto
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A GOOD PLACE TO STAY IN KYOTO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

When you recall your staying in a certain Hotel, and you can't really remember any bad, I mean really bad, thing to tell, that's quite a good start! This hotel is nice, not wonderful, not luxurious, but nice. Staff is polite and well disposed. Rooms are clean and well provided. We were three, and thus the room remained a little tight, because of the extra bed. But for two, I think it's allright. Location is excellent, very close to the station. You must pass under the train bridges in order to get downtown, and that may seem a little scary at night, for it's poorly illuminated, but everybody told us nothing happens there, and we found it likewise. Breakfast is very good, with Japanese and Occidental things. You may have a small waiting in line at the breakfast restaurant, but nothing serious. WiFi in the room is ok. They offer a shuttle bus to and from the train station, which is an excellent choice, even being so close, specially if you are carrying luggage. Yes, it's a hotel to recommend.

Room Tip: Demand a room overlooking the street. But not close to the train bridges, for there may be some nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    279
    125
    29
    14
See reviews for
169
138
56
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

my worst overpaid hotel in japan. do not come near!the reception was the worst we had in beautifull japan!information was not there,we took taxi to train station and found out later the hotel has free of charge hotel bus!noisy rooms though we paid extra for the 10th floor

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Lot of is heard regarding smaller size of rooms in Japan. However at Rihga Royal Hotel Kyoto what we experienced was the most effective usage of the room space ( By area basis also the room size was quite sufficient). The front desk service was excellent. The room service was smart ,attentive an not at all disturbing.The food quality was excellent. The other services such as courier,bakery also were quite attentive and impressive. Overall I will definitely give 85 to 90 marks out of 100 to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel in March 2013. It was not my first choice in Kyoto due to the hotel I had previously stayed at being booked out.

The Rihga Royal Hotel Kyoto is very convenient to Kyoto Station, being about a ten minute walk, or, more conveniently, a complimentary shuttle bus ride away.

The rooms and bathrooms are quite spacious and contain the necessary amenities.

The staff are pleasant and helpful and the one I encountered spoke English.*

The breakfast was on the 1st floor (lobby level) and was very substantial, although somewhat pricey at 2,500 yen.

*There is a bar on the lower gound floor which, I have to say, has as much atmosphere as a dentist's surgery. The waitress who served me had no English at all. Thankfully I have some Japanese, otherwise it may have turned into a shambles when it came time to settle the bill. In my mind, there is no excuse for large hotels in major tourist cities not to employ staff with at least rudimentary English.

I would stay at this hotel again. I enjoyed the room, the facilities and the courtesy of the staff at check-in (who allowed me to check in even though I was half an hour early.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is located within 10 minutes walking distance from Kyoto Station. It has a shuttle bus to transfer its guests between the hotel and station every 15 minutes. I stayed there for a week it was so convenient, you've all the shopping (Isetan, Aeon Mall, Bic Camera, etc
) and restaurants all within your walking distance.

The hotel is right next to the railway line, however, the sound insulation is so good that you can't hear the noise. The bed is very comfortable and toiletries are complete. The hotel gave you both option of Japanese or Western breakfast. Both are good, but I particularly like the omelette, the best I've tried so far, to me, it is even better that the Bills Restaurant in Tokyo.

Room Tip: Any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights after landing here off the bullet train from Tokyo where we stayed with friends. As other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel's shuttle bus to the station is very convenient and dependable. Otherwise, this is a pretty ordinary highrise hotel. It's very clean, nicely decorated, and the room is spacious enough. The robes and slippers were handy, but probably standard in most Japanese hotels. The best thing I liked about it was the fresh flowers (in a small wall-mounted vase) inside each elevator! Maybe 3.5 stars...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights before we drove to Arima. I picked this hotel mainly because it is not far away from Kyoto Station (within 10 mins of leisure walk) and there is enough parking space. Even if you are not driving, the shuttle bus service is still very convenient.

Unexpectedly, the room is very spacious and well equipped with free wifi. Staff members speak quite good English. I think it will still be my choice or at least one of my choices when I go to Kyoto again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto

Address: 1 Taimatsucho, Horikawa-Shiokoji, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8237, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rihga Royal Kyoto
Kyoto Rihga Royal Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.