We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto to your Saves list
Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karasuma Takatsuji Higashi-iru Shiimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8096, Japan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 332 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Terre Haute, Indiana
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Loved the location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Nice hotel with all the amenities including free wi-fi. Each room also had coffee/tea-making facilities as well as a refrigerator. The hotel did have an ice-making machine on the floor, but no iron nor ironing board.

With all the temples and shrines throughout the country, it would be impossible to see them all; however, the Bukkoji Temple is just down the street and is very nice.

The location is close to public transportation and the shopping and dining areas of the city.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    228
    38
    6
    2
See reviews for
244
154
59
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nieuwerkerk, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Very good experience with family. The bathroom is quite unique in design and size.
Location is convenient, there is 24hr supermarket across the street, walking distance to the old temples.
What we find excellent was the well trained staff and their fine tuned approach to the guest.
Not pushing but always ready to offer service and greeting with smiles.
We want to come back to this hotel every year.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at the end of a business trip, and I'd happily go back.

The person checking me in spoke little to no English to speak of, but we muddled through. If I had any particular needs I'd be more concerned but I guess others would then have been available.

The room was neat, not too small and well equipped, with the exception of having virtually no accessible power points for laptop, chargers etc. The wi-fi was free with a good signal, which was well appreciated.

I ate at the 'traditional'Japanese restaurant 'Sagano' and the Teppanyaki one 'Hoen'. In the former, spoken English was again at a premium. Only part of the menu was available in English, which was a shame, but with some pointing I got a nice meal and the service was typically Japanese - wonderful. I was a bit reluctant to go to Hoen as a single, but went and had a great time. Again, the service was exquisite. The menu (at least the one I was shown) was fully bilingual, so I was able to choose with confidence. The chef had enough English to make the Teppanyaki experience good, without it feeling like I was back home.

The Cafe Amber breakfasts were nothing special buffets and probably a bit over-priced at 2,100 yen.

One of the best experiences I had was when I ventured outside for a walk, intending to dodge the rain that was on-and-off that morning. I had gone maybe 20m metres when the doorman RAN after me with a hotel umbrella! Where else would that happen?

The hotel is within easy walking distance of downtown and the Nishiki markets, and maybe 5 minutes walk to the Shijo metro station, which can take you almost anywhere else you need to go. It was a 640 yen taxi fare from Kyoto Station when I arrived on a Sunday and 850 back to the station when I left.

All in all a very enjoyable experience and I'd recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Kyoto.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

After confusion with the taxi driver over whether the hotel was the "Prince" or "Princess" (I'm still not sure which), evrything went smoothly.

Service was excellent. Everyone was helpful and friendly, and most spoke pretty good English. Check-in and out was quick and smooth.

It is a slightly older hotel, but well-maintained and clean. It is in an excellent location. It is a short walk to Shijo Dori (the shopping district) and the Gion District. There are subway stops nearby, but we stuck with taxi. It was about 10 minutes from the train station by taxi.

Rooms are clean and comfortable, but a bit dated. They lack state-of-the-art electronics links. It's been a while since we've been to a hotel that hands out actual room keys as opposed to electronic card access!

We didn't try the restaurants. The lobby restaurant looks good, but there are so many choices nearby we didn't eat in the hotel.

Three Starbucks within a couple of blocks if you're addicted!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The location is great, the service is polite and helpful. BUT the western breakfast is over priced and inedible. Packaged scrambled eggs isn't with the 2,500 yen!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We enjoyed the spa in the room. The bathroom is big enough like to use in the onsen. Staffs in the front desk and concierage are very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

This hotel is good choice For holidays. It is Fantastic, Service is very active and friendly. I don't fell a isolation though i was away from home. Cleaned rooms made a pleasant environment for a relief. From the entrance up to the room there was a warm welcome.. I really love to visit again................

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto

Address: Karasuma Takatsuji Higashi-iru Shiimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8096, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#4 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Rakuten, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Princess Kyoto
Kyoto Nikko Princess Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.