We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice For holidays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto to your Saves list
Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karasuma Takatsuji Higashi-iru Shiimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8096, Kyoto Prefecture (Shimogyo-ku)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 343 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good choice For holidays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

This hotel is good choice For holidays. It is Fantastic, Service is very active and friendly. I don't fell a isolation though i was away from home. Cleaned rooms made a pleasant environment for a relief. From the entrance up to the room there was a warm welcome.. I really love to visit again................

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    287
    50
    8
    3
See reviews for
293
188
67
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

we stayed here for a conference. the round-shaped hotel is very clean but is oozes the glory of years ago. unfortunately it is located outside the city center, but with the subway nearby you're everywhere you want within minutes.
All in all ... a good stay

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santander, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Really good location. Close to the train station and not far away from the some touristic places.
If you want Kyoto to move to other locations is perfect !
Close to the train station there is also a bike rental business. The best way to know Kyoto
The staff is really nice and the room quite confortable

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

I would recommend the hotel to any business traveler. Nice spacious room, excellent bathroom with features to remember, good breakfast, friendly staff. The location is not exactely central but still in walking distance to the downtown area. The only downturn of my stay was the check out: while trying to pay my credit cards were not recognised and I noticed that some other European travelers had the same problem. It is worth to pay a day in advance as the check out turned out longer and more compliated than expected.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
236 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

The hotel was close to Shijo Subway Station which is an excellent 'jumping on' place for travel to the sites!
The hotel room was much larger than expected with a wonderful HUGE shower & bathroom complete with all the amenities! (robes, slippers, razors, brushes, combs, etc.!) We were at the end of a hallway and it was VERY quiet for a good night's rest. The staff was really great. I needed to make reservations for a cultural center that offers classes in traditional Japanese crafts. The guide book said no one spoke English at the center so the staff handled all my questions, made the proper reservations, and even printed out a map so I could take the subway!
The lobby has a lovely decor; a wedding even took place on the steps one afternoon.
Their hotel restaurant offered some non-Japanese dishes for those needing a chop-stick break and the staff tried really hard to make sure you had a nice meal.
The only thing I was surprised they didn't have was a safe in the room. However you could use the hotel safe if you so desired. Also the wi-fi was a fizzle but we got it to work in the lobby, even so it was an amazing place to stay - perfect location, great helpful staff, clean and large room! Perfect!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maui
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

We were lucky enough to pick the NPH for our 12 day stay in Kyoto. The staff was helpful and friendly at all hours of the day or night! The room was clean and spacious, the bathroom was large and luxurious. The location of the hotel, near the Nishiki market, Daimaru Depato store, drug store and convenience stores was a real plus. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#21 of 343 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 755 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#19 of 343 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 2,104 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#34 of 343 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#23 of 343 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,467 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto

Address: Karasuma Takatsuji Higashi-iru Shiimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8096, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#16 Business Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel nikko princess kyoto is located in the heart of Kyoto City, close to major subways, private trains and major banks. The city's business and shopping centers are just around the corner, and major sightseeing areas are only a short distance away, including the Nishiki food market, Bukko-ji Temple and other traditional small shops and buildings. Additionally, you can find many historical aspects of Kyoto to enjoy within walking distance of the hotel. Our 216 guest rooms are very comfortable and equipped with all the modern conveniences you could expect. We proudly offer our excellent service and Kyoto's warm hospitality to all of our guests. We welcome you to stay at the hotel nikko princess kyoto and enjoy a wonderful time in Kyoto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Odigeo, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd. and Venere so you can book your Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Princess Kyoto
Kyoto Nikko Princess Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.