We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience of Japanese luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kyoto Brighton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Kyoto Brighton Hotel to your Saves list
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Shiteicho, Nakadachiuri, Shinmachi-dori, Kamigyo-ku | (West side of Gosho), Kyoto 602-8071, Kyoto Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great experience of Japanese luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This wasn't our first choice hotel for our trip to Kyoto but it turned out to be a fantastic choice. Hotel is a lot cosier than some of the photos suggest and it is very very Japanese. English language skills were wanting in areas outside the front desk (restaurants, housekeeping, etc.) but service was excellent and staff were always attentive and willing to help (e.g. front desk staff asking the taxi driver to "please bring these clueless folk to a Starbucks in Gion for breakfast as their kids haven't really gotten into the whole Japanese breakfast thing").

Decor felt a bit 1980s Japan, but with a nice 21st century update. So it's still got that vibe of being a bit opulent in that Japanese eighties bubble way, but it's not so dated at the same time, so you don't feel like you're trapped in some time warp. But it is definitely a bit of a throwback to a more decadent period in Japan - and quite a bit of an experience to observe.

Rooms were very well appointed. Wifi worked. Air-conditioning controls in Japanese (no English help...), room safe had electrical sockets inside so you can charge up your iPhones and iPads. Beds were very comfortable and housekeeping has a list of complimentary "extras" too long to describe (our kids went for the ice pillow options....resulting in wet mattresses the next morning). Bathroom was Japanese style though - with the wet shower area located right next to the bath.

Tried the "Western" restaurant - decent, nothing to shout about and then went for the Teppanyaki option the following night which was superb. Loads of local Japanese clientele spending close to £100+ per head on the dinner course, which was a fantastic intimate experience.

So whilst we wanted to try one of the hipper boutique hotels - this turned out to be a great family option for us (family of 4 with kids 11 and 7). A bit on the pricier side of things, but kids thoroughly enjoyed returning to their oasis after long long walks about in Kyoto.

Last bit on location. Not great but if you're fine hopping into a cab - trips to Gion etc were 1200-1600 yen. Trip back to Kyoto station was just under 2000 yen. Not much to do immediately outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Check for hints of cigarette smoke. Ours was fine but we did catch a whiff of tobacco in the air whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KyotoBrightonHotel, Manager at Kyoto Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear TravellingToothbrush

Thank you for your great feedback. We are so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We apologize for the cigarette smokiness of the hallways. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the quietness of your room and the hotel service you received.
I certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Brighton soon. Thank you again.

Best regards,
Room Sales Manager
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    167
    33
    8
    7
See reviews for
157
153
28
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The door men, concierge, front desk, room service and housekeeping all speak good English, enough to communicate. So no problem there.
The hotel was full due to sakura blossoms. Our saturday rate was higher than sunday and came down for the weekday rates.
The hotel is quite off from the central Shijo-dori shopping area, or the old Gion, or Kyoto Station. Taxi would cost JPY 1500 - 2500 each way. There is a shuttle bus to go to a subway station - one stop north of Shijo-dori.
Buffet breakfast is JPY 2,500 per person and closes at 10am.
There is no wifi in the room, but if you step out of your room overlooking the atrium then you can get the lobby's wifi network.
TV channels are all in Japanese, even CNN which was dubbed.
I couldn't really find any fault. The staff was expectedly polite although I found a couple of the front desk staff unusually abrupt.
There is a 7-11 a block away to buy drinks and snacks. There really aren't any restaurants around the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KyotoBrightonHotel, Manager at Kyoto Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear DDCHK

Thank you for writing your review about our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and kyoto sakura blossoms.We are disappointed to hear that you had an issue with our wifi service. As you noticed you can get the lobby's wifi network and we can offer a wifi router for free of charge. We are sorry that we did not provide these information. We are in the process of upgrading our equipment and installing wifi throughout the hotel this year in order to better serve to our guests. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered, and thank you for bringing these findings to our attention.
We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Room Sales Manager
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

First trip to Kyoto and was arranged to stay in this hotel. Nice ambience with busy coffee house. Staff were friendly showing us where to go with the shuttle bus. The hotel is located far away from the central Kyoto but is within 10 minutes walking distance to Kyoto Imperial Palace. Visiting the Imperial Palace is so easy but filling up a form and submit together with your passport and then you will be asked to join the tour which is 10am and 2pm respectively.

The hotel provide complimentary shuttle to the subway station which is 2 stations away but located in the central district. Nice effort by the hotel to mitigate their loss in the location.

We stayed here for 3 nights and find all staffs are well mannered and willing to assist you whenever there is a need arises. The guest room size is big in terms of Japan standard and they were doing their renovation when we were there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KyotoBrightonHotel, マネージャー at Kyoto Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear MelvinL

Thank you for your generous comments concerning your stay at our hotel.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of your room.
Hopefully, you were able to enjoy other sightseeing place in the area beside the Nijo castle. There are many classic temples nearby along with the Kyoto Imperial Palace. We are glad to hear you positive comments on our complimentary shuttle bus! We try our best to make our guest's stay comforting and convenient as possible. Next time we invite you to renovated bar lounge. We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Room Sales Manager
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stayed at the Brighton hotel. The rooms were large and modern and the bathroom was fantastic! They thought of every detail and have included amenities I've never seen at a hotel before - my wife enjoyed the "hair turban"!!

The beds were very comfortable, if a bit hard for my taste (but that's common in Japan).

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.

If there was a small drawback, it would be the location. While the hotel runs a shuttle every 20 minutes to the intersection of the 2 subway lines, you'll soon find out that the subway is fairly useless for sightseeing purposes. Indeed you'll either be sightseeing by taxi (if you're loaded) or bus (like us). Best hotels locations in Kyoto are either at Kyoto station, or near one of the major bus route intersections. While the Brighton is not located near one of these, it was a pleasant 10 minute walk to the 2 nearest bus stops, so we didn't really mind. However, others may find this inconvenient.

In sum, we very much enjoyed our stay at the Brighton, and would certainly return when we have a chance to come back to beautiful Kyoto.

Room Tip: As this is a quiet neighborhood, all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KyotoBrightonHotel, マネージャー at Kyoto Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear BigDiveNut

Thank you for your generous comments concerning your stay at our hotel.
We are especially thankful your compliments on staff and the service.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room.
It is a very exciting area with easy access by bus and it is only10 minute walk to
the nearest bus stops.
Next time you visit our hotel, we will have a renovated lobby and lounge
which we hope you will enjoy.
We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Room Sales manager
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

First time in Kyoto. We stated here cos the rooms are newly renovated and very comfortable. They look exactly like the pictures in the hotel website. Very spacious by Japanese standard. The windows can be opened which is great especially if the room is too warm or dry during winter. The breakfast is ok, but a bit pricy. The hotel is a bit far from the station, and there aren't many eateries around. We have a car and therefore not a problem, by the way, parking is free of charge. The internet is free too and reasonably fast, and you can borrow a wifi router for free too. The lobby was being renovated but the noise is minimal. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KyotoBrightonHotel, マネージャー at Kyoto Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Summer_Traveller_hk
Thank you for your generous comments concerning your stay at our hotel.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our new room and the location of our hotel.
Hope your stay in Kyoto overall have been a present one. The scenery changes dramatically between the seasons here in Kyoto so we hope you can come back again!
And next time you can try our renovated Bar Lounge and relax in our sofas while you sip one of our famous cocktails.
We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Room Sales Manager
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My family stayed here over Christmas - truly a 5 star hotel in terms of service, helpfulness, cleanliness and amenities! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they had many fluent English speakers available. It's not right near a station unlike other top hotels but the hotel runs a shuttle bus on the half hour and we found taxis very cheap by Australian standards - about $20 from Kyoto station.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KyotoBrightonHotel, マネージャー at Kyoto Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Reviewfromfiona

Thank you for your generous comments concerning your stay at our hotel. We are especially thankful for the kind words you have on our staff and the service you received from them.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and the location of our hotel.
We actually have a shuttle bus to Karasuma-Oike which we apologize for not being introduced to you. The Shuttle bus to Karasuma-Oike provides an easy access to great shopping and exciting places like Ponto-cho and Gion at no cost.
We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Room Sales Manager
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. It was a splurge (i normally never spend more than 200 usd/night at a hotel) but since it was my birthday, what the heck! But now I can say that almost everything was more than satisfactory and worth the rate. Its just that I have to mark it one star down on the factor of location as a reference for price conscious travelers like me.

I chose this hotel because the reviews were very encouraging. I also read somewhere it was newly renovated so i expected it to be clean and modern. I was not disappointed in that. I also had the impression that it would be near the public transportation. But looking at it from google maps was a bit misleading.

It has a bit of an 80s look from the facade to the reception area, but it was impressive nonetheless. I felt that we were so out of place being grubby from travel, but the staff were friendly and accommodating and check in was a breeze.

The room was VERY spacious and modern. Everything we needed was there! All that was missing was a change or 2 of clothes and we felt right at home. I usually check the bathroom first and i saw that all the toiletries that i could think of of needing is there.

Coffee and English Tea and Green tea was fully stocked everyday. Since we stayed only just 2 days in Kyoto, we were lacking opportunities to try the traditional green tea ceremony. This hotel just saved us from missing out on whatever DIY authentic green tea ceremony we could muster :oD

When we came back from another exhausting but enjoyable tour on our 2nd night, we were surprised with a little gift box sitting on the study desk (and the room was pristine once again!). I thought it was a birthday gift for me hehehe! Alas, it was not :D It was one of those boxes filled with traditional sweets and pastries as a thank you gift to us from the Management. Very sweet and thoughtful ^_^

The only thing that wasn't so good about this place was the location.

I think it was 3 stations away from Kyoto Station but it feels like 5 or more because we were often very tired from walking the whole day. And then the pick up point for the shuttle to hotel was not so easy to locate. Such was our problem when we first arrived in Kyoto. If it was not for the very friendly and uber-ly helpful locals we would have taken some time to reach the place or we could have taken the taxi *gasp*

It was also difficult to locate also the nearest convenience store (to buy breakfast). There were a selection of restaurants downstairs but I did not see anything that was budget friendly.

One good thing about the location was that it was situated in a residential area. If there was one place where we would like to maybe raise the kids the future, Kyoto was THE place.

Overall, our experience was good.

I would recommend it to seasoned travelers of Kyoto who know their way around and would like to experience first class hospitality and service. But for tourists who are there for their first time, proceed with caution. Do a lot of research and get maps so you can get your way around the place.

Room Tip: If you are using your phone or tablets to surf the internet, it would be advisable to get those mini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KyotoBrightonHotel, 支配人 at Kyoto Brighton Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Ms.tsekai
Thank you so much for staying with us and we are glad to hear your stay was present one.
We are also honored that you have selected our hotel to spend your birthday.
We hope your 2 night stay in Kyoto was memorable, and that we were able to assist you fully during your stay.
Concerning the shuttle bus, thank you for mentioning and we will try to improve the experience for our guests going forward.
We have actually renovated the lobby and the main hall area in Feb this year(2013), so hopefully you can come to see and enjoy the new bar-lounge!
Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Room Sales Manager
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kyoto Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Brighton Hotel

Address: 330 Shiteicho, Nakadachiuri, Shinmachi-dori, Kamigyo-ku | (West side of Gosho), Kyoto 602-8071, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kyoto Brighton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning HotelLocated at heart of Kyoto with newly renovated Atrium lobby and bar. The hotel has won 4 Black Pavilion on Michelin's guide in 2012 and is located near Nijo Castle, Nishi-jin and other must see tour spots. Facilities and servicesFree shuttle bus to Karasumaoike is available. Also there are 6 restaurants/bars offering cuisines from traditional Japanese to contemporary Western with chef from International Culinary Olympics Japan team. Spacious Guest roomsRenovated in 2010, all rooms include hotel's original brand Dream Journey Bed, large size bathtub and a cotton waffle bathrobes with night shirts. Flat-screen TV is viewable from both the bed and dining area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel, Rakuten, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kyoto Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyoto Brighton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.