We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality hotel in Kyoto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kyoto Brighton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kyoto Brighton Hotel to your Saves list
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Shiteicho, Nakadachiuri, Shinmachi-dori, Kamigyo-ku | (West side of Gosho), Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 602-8071, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 332 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent quality hotel in Kyoto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great rooms in this large hotel. Very helpful staff with a good amount who can speak English. Only 2 lifts mean a wait at peak times. Good breakfast & decent open area bar. Very comfortable beds & quiet rooms. Slightly outside the centre but only a 10 minute taxi ride. Right next to the Imperial Palace with a nice park on the doorstep. The outdoor pool was closed in November & the hotel has no spa - the only negative in this stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    147
    31
    5
    7
See reviews for
139
139
24
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is in fact, a great hotel. The four star rating reflects it's location, which is not centrally located. Had I read reviews on TA beforehand, I would have been better prepared for this aspect of the hotel!! The rooms are fabulous, the staff very friendly and the handy shuttle actually works...once you figure it out!! Subway system in Kyoto not as convenient as Tokyo so this makes getting around a bit more of a challenge. All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I visited Kyoto in October and had the great pleasure of staying at the Brghton Hotel. Simply put it was a fantastic experience. The Brighton is a 5-star, very modern hotel located in a Kyoto suburb, 10 minutes walk from the Imperial Palace. Extremely corteous and helpful staff, excellent and very large rooms and bathrooms, two choices of restaurants (one Japanese, the other Western), and a very nice cafe are some of the features of this hotel . Unquestionably a hotel we would stay on again were we to return to Kyoto. As mentioned, the hotel is in a suburb but a free shuttle takes guests to and from the metro (subway) station every 20 minutes, from where Kyoto (main) JR train station can be reached in minutes; and -if like us- you have a JR Rail Pass, you can easily make one-day trips to either Nara, Osaka, Himeji or other places. While some persons may think that the hotel location could be an issue, that was not our case at all... on the contrary, being in a secluded are just added to the charm of the city; and a Seven-Eleven store 1.5 blocks away from the hotel is a good place to get some essentials, as is convenient a casual French restaurant nearby. Some people, not us, may regret that only one English TV channel is available. Kyoto visitors may want to get the daily bus passes which make visiting the many wonderful attactions even more pleasurable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights at the Kyoto Brighton Hotel and it was wonderful. We travelled with a toddler and we needed the extra space, and the hotel did not disappoint!

The room was spacious (even by Australian standards) and beautifully appointed, and the bathroom was luxurious with a great shower and tub!

The hotel staff were incredibly helpful and polite and most spoke English. We didn't eat at the hotel, so I can't comment.

Aside from taxis, we used the shuttle bus a fair bit to get to the train station Karasuma Oike. The bus leaves every 20mins and based on our experience, it is always on time (it cuts both ways - 10secs late and you will miss the bus!). FYI: it costs approx 1,500yen in taxi fare from Kyoto station to the hotel, not too bad if you have luggage.

The hotel doesn't have WiFi in the room but I was able to access the free lobby area WiFi by standing near the room door.

My only gripe about the hotel is its location. Food options are really limited in the area. It is a pain to get to the department stores and Gion area attractions. On the plus side, the hotel is close to the Imperial Palace and Nijo Castle.

Overall I rated the hotel as excellent as we really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

A very well run hotel with excellent service in a quiet residential location near the Imperial Palace park. The shuttle bus to a major subway station and central downtown avenue is handy. zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viborg, Denmark
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel is definitely value for money. Service is excellent, and the rooms are very well-appointed. Shower and toilet facilities are excellent.
Breakfast is too expensive at 23,000 yen. There is a convenient shuttle bus taking you into town every half hour.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The staff make this place. Stayed six nights. Large quiet room. I lost my phone in a taxi. The front desk called ALL the taxi companies trying to locate it. I also recommend some of the neighbourhood restaurants - for breakfast we walked around the corner to a place called Brazil - great cheese on toast and salad served by a man who knows his coffee. For dinner we went to a great place two blocs away. Hotel restaurant is very good as well. Again, recommendations came from the assistant manager.

I liked that the hotel was in a residential area and the Imperial Palace gardens is great for runners (him) or walkers (me). It's all so close anyway - the station was only a 15 min walk. Would recommend riding bikes to all the sites - actually this is the only issue with the hotel. Their bikes are old.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kyoto Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Brighton Hotel

Address: 330 Shiteicho, Nakadachiuri, Shinmachi-dori, Kamigyo-ku | (West side of Gosho), Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 602-8071, Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 332 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kyoto Brighton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning HotelLocated at heart of Kyoto with newly renovated Atrium lobby and bar. The hotel has won 4 Black Pavilion on Michelin's guide in 2012 and is located near Nijo Castle, Nishi-jin and other must see tour spots. Facilities and servicesFree shuttle bus to Karasumaoike is available. Also there are 6 restaurants/bars offering cuisines from traditional Japanese to contemporary Western with chef from International Culinary Olympics Japan team. Spacious Guest roomsRenovated in 2010, all rooms include hotel's original brand Dream Journey Bed, large size bathtub and a cotton waffle bathrobes with night shirts. Flat-screen TV is viewable from both the bed and dining area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Booking.com, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Kyoto Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyoto Brighton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.